We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Very luxurious room with spa tub and nice views.The cafe offered nice lunch options; the breakfast buffet was extensive although a bit pricey. The concierges were very mixed. Weonsuk Lee was extremely helpful (thank you) but an older concierge was downright rude to us and the companies we had booked with. It was so bad that when he was the only one there, we went to the Kiwi Discovery centre and booked things ourselves rather than deal with him. Parking is available (valet) but pricey.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CPGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Bonjour KiwiRoadrunner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & also for bringing to our attention the challenge you were faced with.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Sofitel provided a great location in Queenstown. The room was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful in regards to any of our needs. They helped with directions, restaurant recommendations etc.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Bonjour Gordon P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

He was everywhere: in the lobby making sure guests departed efficiently; coordinating with staff at Reception; then -- there he is -- helping clear breakfast dishes in the restaurant. I asked his name. "Vincent," he said with a smile. I see from other posts that this is the hotel's General Manager, Vincent Macquet. Such presence and exemplary leadership are rare these days. Most hotel managers command while sitting in their offices. Vincent is front and center, taking charge and doing so with s certain elegance and soft-spoken style. The quality of the staff must surely be a product of this impressive professional hotelier. The only question is what Sofitel Corporate should be doing to retain his services in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambleside89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Bonjour ambleside89,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled that you had a relaxing stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by all of our Ambassadors & myself!

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Cordialement,
Vincent Macquet

General Manager
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent 5 days at the Sofitel and it was wonderful. The staff was excellent and booked excursions for us. The breakfast was delightful. Proper coffees, buffet, and menu. The chef even brought out daily specials cooked to perfection. (I looked forward to breakfast each day). We upgraded to an upper floor and it included breakfast. Room 514 had gorgeous views with a couple of doors that opened outside toward the city. Separate bedroom, and living room / dining room made for the feel of a small apartment. Top notch amenities and convenient to all the attractions in Queenstown. We enjoyed wine in the winebar (located on the first floor) each night. We even used the business center to view GoPro videos from our paragliding trip. Wasn't inexpensive but it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor. Room 514 is a larger room too.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Bonjour Wendy B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, the service provided by our Ambassadors & the 'vino' moments in our lounge!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

416 was a very comfortable room and fantastic bathroom. The staff was extremely professional and courteous. Loved being able to walk everywhere. I agree the breakfast was average. Bathroom floors were heated. Tap water is as good as bottled.

Room Tip: We brought a bluetooth speaker and used it as a sound machine with iPhone app. Slept fantastic. If y...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbedrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Bonjour Ibedrington,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel facilities and the service provided by our Ambassadors. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you & your family back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Smart hotel in great town centre location. Rather typical up market hotel,but certainly no complaints and very friendly helpful staff. Rooms very nice with all the luxuries you should expect for the price.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Bonjour Pippa P,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Conveniently located across from the Ultimate Hike office and easy walk to the town and around. Staffs were professional and courteous. Our room was well appointed and nice, modern yet very welcoming with a balcony. I liked the toiletries, Lanvin, and the bathroom is large. We stayed here after our hiking trip and the hot bath was so so nice. Overall, our multiple night stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palau05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Bonjour Palau05,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future...perhaps when you come next to the Magical South for another hike!

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $222 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing