We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option - but not near lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nice modern property. Hip stylish decor. Friendly staff. Great breakfast - lots of options. Rooms are decent and bathroom is modern and spotless. It is in a great location - steps from main street of town. We went on the Milford Hike and our balcony over-looked the Ultimate Hikes tour company where were had to meet for the start of the hike and info meeting. Super convenient. They were very happy to store our luggage during the hike - no issue! Only downside is that given the location, it can be noisy, especially if you keep you balcony doors open. Queenstown can get rowdy at night, esp. on weekends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Bonjour Moonray1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I went to lunch at the Left Bank Cafe beginning of January during our last stay in Queenstown. We were very impressed! The food was delicious and the service impeccable. The menu offers a variety of options showcasing the amazing produce found in this part of New Zealand. A great little spot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Bonjour Gia24,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Left Bank Cafe at the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Well it's time again for the family catch up.And Queenstown is our destination choice .As usual check out and locate a spa resort.
And we hit the jackpot with Le spa.it was 5 star service all the way.
Each room is well appointed and also has a area to change in.
Wonderful service .
Worth coming back for.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Bonjour Michelle L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Le Spa experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your treatments and the service provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to the best Spa in Town!

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here for a conference in October - I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and what it has to offer. From the moment you enter this boutique hotel you are greeted by the lovely staff, concierge and General Manager. The rooms are amazing the sunken bath/spa with mineral salts left for you in the evening to enjoy to the wonderful view and cleanliness. This hotel really is a GEM! The breakfasts in the left bank are very nice. The Spa is amazing try the Hamam (i hope i spelt that right). They have a hairdresser which I utilised and they really are good and stylng. The General Manager is extremely knowledgeable in the area and recommended the most fantastic restaurants and experiences. The General Manager and all of his staff really ensured our guests had a memoral experience - Thank You Sofitel for all that you did for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijou_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Bonjour Bijou_8,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank edgeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I found that this hotel very much lives up to the Sofitel reputation for style, quality and service.

The staff are genuinely obliging and well trained and it is quite obvious that the property is very well run. The deluxe rooms are spacious and stylish, with loads of quality extras, such as the lcdTV in the bathroom. Very chic decor and outstanding location (for convenience).

I had read reviews that heralded this as the best hotel in Queenstown and I found nothing to make me disbelieve this. I have stayed at many Sofitel properties around the world, and this rates with the best of them.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Bonjour peter r,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We hated our room the first night (next to elevator and facing the sidewalk) but Ella gave us a better room for the second night which made all the difference. Staff was FANTASTIC. Expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cailebotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Bonjour Cailebotte,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience.
We are sincerely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $222 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing