We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our 3 night stay was fabulous. Our room was everything and more than we had expected. The added touches of the chair and footrest with the throw was that added bit of luxury rarely seen along with the magnificent bathroom with TV and heated floors. The bed was really comfortable and your pillow menu ensured we had everything to our liking for a perfect night's sleep. We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary Hammam Turkish steam room, this was something new for both of us and something we would both indulge in again. The staff were amazing and totally profession while being very approachable. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely come back and stay at some stage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Bonjour Linda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Magical South!

We are thrilled that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

A wonderful slice of France in Queenstown. The staff were friendly and helpful especially in the bar, concierge and at breakfast. The room was beautiful, the view amazing and breakfast was magnifique!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AWS_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Bonjour AWS_NZ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed our magnifique breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed November 2, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Beautifully appointed rooms with a quant TV set recessed in the bathroom wall above the tub! We loved this place as soon as we walked in and were greeted by some very passionate staff. Always felt welcome and friendly. It does get a bit noisy at night so I would recommend a higher floor unit to avoid this. Would return.

Room Tip: Higher floor unit to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Bonjour Travelbug406,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Sofitel is a unique experience always and the Queenstown one does not disappoint in any way; from the furnishings to the service to the little things like a coffee machine which makes cappucino to the little tv screens at the bath, Sofitel always charms the discerning traveler. Honestly I was disappointed by Queenstown but extremely impressed by the Sofitel. I traveled here in March 2009.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karanbir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Bonjour Karanbir B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are thrilled that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities in your room – the double spa bath with TV is always welcoming after a long day of activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very comfortable room with classy decor. The hotel staff were excellent. They couldn't have done more. Every staff member was polite, attentive and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location for town. We walked everywhere. Even when it rained. Only disappointment was the lack of lake view when it was so close.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Bonjour K C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nicely appointed and friendly staff. The central location means that street noise late at night can be an issue. There was a fair bit of that on the night we stayed and it meant a slightly compromised sleep. Worse, was the fact that the rooms were over heated and impossible to adjust down sufficiently, though I imagine this won't be a problem for most. The reception debit one's credit card for $100 over and above the pre-paid amount on your arrival (to cover any additional room charges) and 5 days after my stay this has not been reversed. Bloody irritating!.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Bonjour Karl T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $222 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing