We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and professional and looked after our every need. Rooms were well presented and immaculate, just right for a romantic getaway. Great location, it's just off the main street so it doesn't get too noisy at night and you don't need a car. Everything from restaurants to tourist activities are just a footstep away. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: View on the southside is of the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Bonjour Glenn M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bez490
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've stayed in many famous 5-star hotels in the world (Oriental Bangkok, Four Seasons Sultanamet Istanbul, Hotel de Paris in Monaco, Splendido in Portofino), but none had the service touches or in-your-face eagerness to please that this hotel has. The location, right in the center of town was very convenient to tourist services, shopping, the waterfront and restaurants.

Check in and porter service was accurate, prompt and professional. We were asked whether we would like tea and coffee brought to our room (there is a gratis coffee expresso maker and tea in the room, but this was a nice touch anyway).

The room was highly gadget-oriented, and I would recommend asking the porter to give an overview on how to operate the room since it is (at least for me) quite complex. For instance, a cable box is required for TV service and located in the dresser with the door open...if you close the cabinet door to the cable box (which most people would do) you are not able to control TV volume, although you can still change channels.

The bathroom had both a shower and bathtub, with a TV over the bathtub, towel warmer and other luxury touches. I especially appreciated the built in LED night lights. There was an annoying lack of shelf space to put out our family's toiletry items.

Bryan, the chief concierge did a wonderful job bending over backwards and going the extra mile to ensure we had a car rental within 30 minutes of a request (!!), tour reservations and wonderful restaurant recommendations. Amazingly, Bryan also does his share to provide porter and room service!! Just a charming and efficient professional that cares about ensuring we had a good time.

The breakfast buffet had a limited but extremely high-quality selection of food including fresh squeezed juices and bakery goods including fresh honeycomb/honey for your rolls. It would have been nice if there had been more fresh fruit you can help yourself too; fresh fruit consisted of a pre-made martini glass of only 5 pieces of fruit. Also, when I went down very early one morning the bakery bread I sliced a piece from was obviously day-old and had not been appropriately stored and checked (the end slice I carved was dry and hard). As the rest of the hotel, service was impeccable and friendly.

The largest negative was housekeeping and the condition of the room, as there were a lot of problems with repairs needed. The drapery rod was falling down. The thermostat was not working correctly and we had to open the window to cool it down (we had it set at 18C!!) The mini-bar drawer would not stay closed. The bureau could not be closed. The safe was hard to open. The hot water thermostat in the shower would turn by itself and not stay put and it would become scaldingly hot unless constantly turned back to cooler temperatures. I had asked for a repair to this last item, and it took a couple of requests to get this so it was usable (it actually never worked completely right).

We were in a "mountain view" room on the 4th floor (room 409?), and I would strongly suggest avoiding these as they are at street level in the back of the hotel (the hotel rambles down a hill) and there is less privacy or views. Considering we were at the hotel for four nights, I would have assumed getting a better view, but I did not ask to be moved.

Despite the room repair issues, this is a classy hotel and resort with over-the-top service, and we would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Bonjour ScottN,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future....to the Magical South!

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights spent in Queenstown in the Sofitel hotel. The hotel was brilliant, from easy check in, to professional check out.

The hotel is well positioned in the heart of Queenstown and so makes for easy access to this beautiful town.

The room was very comfortable and as we were traveling with our daughter we asked for a room with 2 double beds, even with the two beds there was more than adequate space.

The bathroom is also spacious and has a spa for those tired bodies after a day on the ski slopes.
We cannot wait to return to Queenstown and the Sofitel would be our choice again.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay perfect, until be return 'au revoir'

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayWaspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Bonjour RayWaspe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Sofitel is a lovely, French hotel right in the heart of Queenstown. It's the perfect location to walk to any of the cafes, shopping or adventure excursions that leave from Queenstown. You do not need a car if you stay here. And, the customer service is impeccable. Friendly, helpful staff treat you like royalty (especially love the espresso machine in the room). Only used the steam room at the spa because we ran out of time but it was wonderful after a long day. Also, Jervois steakhouse is a new restaurant attached to the hotel and it was also terrific! You won't be sorry if you stay here. Bathtubs even have a built in tv!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Bonjour Cathy H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your room facilities & amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about the Sofitel, Queenstown. I have visited 4-5 times over the last couple of years and every experience has been magnificent. The service is really spectacular and incredibly friendly, competent and well, perfect.

Great location right in town - walking distance to everything.
Rooms are wonderful and large - heated floors in the bathroom is a nice touch in the winter months. Very comfortable bed. Coffee machine is nice - very large bath (with a TV on the wall) and great rain shower.

If you're tossing and turning between booking this hotel or not, book it. I don't care who you are - you will not be disappointed. Trust me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that faces the town/lake - these rooms are generally quieter than the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GodlikeRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Bonjour GodlikeRoy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent (& not the first!) Sofitel experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities, comfort and services of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $187 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing