We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Club Resort(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$165
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
$158
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$110
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$156
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$172
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$151
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$360
$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Whistler Holiday Apartments(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$137
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,598 results
Traveler rating
1,142
303
105
30
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,142
303
105
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleft bankprestige suitecoffee machineluxury roomturn down servicesteam roomseparate showerbeautiful hotelin townpillow menuperfect locationnew zealandper daybreakfast was includedour honeymoonsouth islandlake view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
967 - 972 of 1,598 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have just spent three nights and sad to leave. Friendly and courteous staff were informative and well meaning without being obtrusive. The room scored top marks for facilities and comfort. Perfect location with everything at your doorstep or within 2 minutes walk. Could easily have scored 5 stars but for the hotel wifi policy which provides only a small free data allowance; a small inconvenience considering the overall quality of this superior hotel in all other areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Bonjour Colin C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

Colin, I am delighted to also advise you that as of the 1st of October, we are now a free wifi hotel. Our in-house guests are allocated 300 MB per room per day.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent three nights here while skiing in Queenstown. The rooms are lovely, the staff incredibly attentive and helpful and the food good. The bed was awesome; comfy and crispy. The room adequate size and very quiet. The bathroom is exceptional with a great bath and TV! The thing which topped this hotel for me was the staff though; they were all without fault incredibly helpful and thoughtful. We ate breakfast in the Left Bank twice, each time the food was good and the extra treats offered a real delight. The only thing I'd critisise are the coffee (if you love coffee I suspect there are better options in Queenstown) and the Wifi, I beleive that free Wifi should be part of your room rate in this day and age and the Sofitel charges an arm and a leg for this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Bonjour nsnz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in your room, our central location, our MAGINIFIQUE breakfast and the helpful & friendly service provided by our Ambassadors

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose the Sofitel in Queenstown based on experiences at other Sofitel properties we have stayed in. The checkin was very smooth and the staff very friendly with a French flair (even though the Concierge was Irish!) The room is lovely with the best bath ever, nice and deep and a TV at one end to watch while soaking off the ski aches and pains. Decor lovely, bed super comfortable all good.

We booked early and got a great rate on a Superior King - up high so views were good and we werent troubled by noise at all.

Gym was small and OK, free weights which is good but no spa or sauna unless you make an appointment at the actual Spa which was a bit of a disapointment.

One big disappointment was room service ffod - I know, why would you order room service in Queenstown with all the wonderful restaurant options - we just felt like a night in and the menu looked good - very French traditional - unfortunately the food was very, very average. Dont do it - go out! No flavour and none of the expected French flair and taste.

Wifi policy - as per previous reviewer - ridiculous but we worked around it mostly as were out every day and only used it for a bit at night.

Ohhh special mention to the Irish barman in the wine bar - lovely guy, made great cocktails and was fun to chat with!

Location is obviously a winner right across from the Station where the buses head up the mountain - makes it very easy in the mornings!

Room Tip: Try and get a room ffacing the lake - the higher the better - less noise and great view from the balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wongbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked the Sofitel based on it's location. Wow, the location was even better than I thought. Easy access to all of Queenstown, buses to Ski resorts leave from directly across the road. There were also multiple options for ski hire across the road.
The hotel itself is lovely. Our room was a decent size with a comfy bed and beautifully decorated. The breakfast room (The Left Bank) served "petit dejeuner" through to full buffet and a la carte. We also finished off one of our days with some great cocktails in the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Bonjour FourSkiers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Queenstown is truly at your doorstep with our central location and having the ski centre location across the road is a fantastic benefit.

We hope to welcome you back next winter.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews