We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flash!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pricey but very nice with very helpful staff and service. The little touches with the welcome chocolates, daily water and the coffee machine were appreciated. A couple of wee glitches with the TV remote and fridge were fixed promptly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Neil-Cromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Bonjour Neil-Cromwell,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our turn down service is a lovely delight at the end of each day, we are pleased that it was memorable and that the ‘wee glitches’ were promptly resolved by our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

stayed at sofitel queenstown in sept 12 and was highly impressed with everything.first class rooms and service and first class restauranst and bars.actually raised the bar for other sofitel properties and since staying at queenstown sofitel i have chosen the sofitel nadi in fiji and the sofitel wentwoth in sydney to stay in and neither of those hotels could hold a candle to sofitel queenstown and its service etc....first class sofitel queenstown,wish the other sofitel hotels i mentioned could learn from you guys

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Bonjour Mike C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are touched by your comments and are thrilled to be your favourite Sofitel Hotel and equality delighted to have you as a loyal Sofitel guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at Sofitel during my first winter/ ski trip and it was the best decision for accomodation. Located on Duke st it is right opposite where the ski buses leave for Coronet peak & Remarkables and within walking distance from the rest of Queenstown. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly & welcoming. The French greetings/salutations are part of the hotel's culture so don't get put off - the staff are really friendly and are not being pretentious at all! The rooms are comfy, the in-room coffee machine was fantastic & the bathroom very spacious & a fantastic hot shower after a day out on the snow! Will be going back to Sofitel for the next ski visit to Quuenstown. :))

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Pple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour Travelling_Pple,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful winter escape. Our central location is a great advantage for catching the ski buses which depart from The Station, located opposite the hotel. For your next ski visit we highly recommend a treatment in LeSpa to help you relax after a day up on the slopes.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As with all the previous comments-this hotel hit the mark! Right from the start the service was impeccable-the staff were very courteous and friendly-obviously trained well. Nothing was a bother to them. The room itself was great-beautifully furnished-lovely bathroom and the extra touches of the coffee machine and TV in the bathroom were lovely. The room we had was Room 516 which faced towards the Remarkables. I think if you were on the side of the building it may have been a little noisy at night as there are some bars opposite. But being at the front had no problems.The location is very central to everything-within walking distance to some fantastic restaurants-eg Botswana Butchery and the hamburger joint Fergburgar and bakery Fergbaker were just around the corner. We didnt eat at the hotel restaurant so cant comment about that although it did look nice.
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 516-on 5th floor -view of the remarkables-and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuAucklandNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour JuAucklandNewZealand,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our central location means that the town is at your doorstep & we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy some of Queenstown’s fantastic restaurants.

Thank you also for your lovely comments about our Ambassadors. We pride ourselves on providing impeccable service & it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful Queenstown experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. Very courteous and friendly staff. Good concierge. Breakfast here is very good. Rooms are spacious and clean with a fantastic view. Located in the heart of the town..
The receptionists and staff take such good care of all your needs and make your trip extremely comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitikaAryaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour RitikaAryaJain,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are thrilled that you received memorable service from our Ambassadors and that you had a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel three times now but this last visit was quite frankly exceptional. The room and cleanliness is exactly what you would expect of a 5 star hotel and despite the central location it was very quiet (the exception being...St Patricks day night but that was one incident and only lasted a matter of minutes!). ALL of our interactions with staff were outstanding, nothing was a problem and their eagerness to assist in every service area of the hotel was incredible. Simply one of the best hotel experiences I've enjoyed worldwide.

The inhouse Spa is well worth a visit but is fairly popular so book well in advance!! Be it after a satisfying tramp on one of the Great Walks or after a day skiing, the Spa offers one of the best massages I've ever experienced.

Although not part of the hotel, the restaurant, Jervoise Steak House on the hotels second floor is well worth a visit. Extensive menu (not just steak!!), great food, great service and is one of Simon Gault's fabulous restaurants. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank blondini65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour blondini65,

Thank you for taking the time t share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & your time in Queenstown.

We are pleased that you had a lovely treatment at our LeSpa & that you received outstanding service from all our Ambassadors.

Jervois Steak House is a fantastic restaurant and we are pleased that you had a wonderful dining experience.

Thank you once again & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was in Queenstown to attend Gibbston Valley Harvest Festival and had an excellent stay at the Sofitel.

The hotel position (central) is perfectly situated for shopping, site seeing and within easy walking to the number of excellent restaurants Queenstown offers

As I do a lot of International Travel I was aware that each Sofitel Hotel offers a genuine experience of French luxury and the best of local culture. Whether in the heart of a major city such as Paris or in wonderful New Zealand. Queenstown was no exception. Public areas downstairs showcased a mix of French/European/South Island influence with its recycled French shutters, chandeliers, antique French chairs, parquet floors made from I believe recycled French Barrels , New Zealand art, designer wallpaper and gracing a beautiful Steinway Piano.

My room was delightful & extremely generous in size (Room 516). I have never experienced a more comfortable bed, , the bathroom large with excellent shower and a double spa bath, TV and the toiletries were of the highest quality namely L Occtaine . For those who like coffee there is a wonderful espresso machine with fresh coffee and milk .
I highly recommend the morning buffet breakfast at the Hotels Left Bank which was of excellent value and choice of food outstanding. I particularly enjoyed the array of fresh juices, the chef created a wonderful mix of carrrot, apple and ginger. Delicious!! It is oone of the nicest breakfasts I've ever had. Everything you can imagine was available. Service was excellent and the staff very friendly.
All services were provided with charm, politeness and with a smile which goes a long way. Upon checking out I was offered a complimentary takeaway coffee. A very nice touch and well appreciated .

My only disappointment was not having time to experience one of the treatments at the spa. However I did go down in the private lift (saves you going through reception in your fluffy white robes) to have a peep and was overwhelmed with the ambience and beauty.

I cannot think of a single thing which needs changing or improving. I highly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in staying there on a return trip.

Therese

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour Therese B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us & we are truly delighted that you enjoyed every moment of your stay.

It is a shame that you did not have time to experience our LeSpa at Sofitel. We highly recommend making time for a treatment on your next visit to Queenstown.

Thank you once again for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $221 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing