We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL - GREAT WEEKEND IN QUEENSTOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was in Queenstown to attend Gibbston Valley Harvest Festival and had an excellent stay at the Sofitel.

The hotel position (central) is perfectly situated for shopping, site seeing and within easy walking to the number of excellent restaurants Queenstown offers

As I do a lot of International Travel I was aware that each Sofitel Hotel offers a genuine experience of French luxury and the best of local culture. Whether in the heart of a major city such as Paris or in wonderful New Zealand. Queenstown was no exception. Public areas downstairs showcased a mix of French/European/South Island influence with its recycled French shutters, chandeliers, antique French chairs, parquet floors made from I believe recycled French Barrels , New Zealand art, designer wallpaper and gracing a beautiful Steinway Piano.

My room was delightful & extremely generous in size (Room 516). I have never experienced a more comfortable bed, , the bathroom large with excellent shower and a double spa bath, TV and the toiletries were of the highest quality namely L Occtaine . For those who like coffee there is a wonderful espresso machine with fresh coffee and milk .
I highly recommend the morning buffet breakfast at the Hotels Left Bank which was of excellent value and choice of food outstanding. I particularly enjoyed the array of fresh juices, the chef created a wonderful mix of carrrot, apple and ginger. Delicious!! It is oone of the nicest breakfasts I've ever had. Everything you can imagine was available. Service was excellent and the staff very friendly.
All services were provided with charm, politeness and with a smile which goes a long way. Upon checking out I was offered a complimentary takeaway coffee. A very nice touch and well appreciated .

My only disappointment was not having time to experience one of the treatments at the spa. However I did go down in the private lift (saves you going through reception in your fluffy white robes) to have a peep and was overwhelmed with the ambience and beauty.

I cannot think of a single thing which needs changing or improving. I highly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in staying there on a return trip.

Therese

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour Therese B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us & we are truly delighted that you enjoyed every moment of your stay.

It is a shame that you did not have time to experience our LeSpa at Sofitel. We highly recommend making time for a treatment on your next visit to Queenstown.

Thank you once again for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a very mixed experience due primarily to the reception. Our 2 night stay was split because we had reservations on an overnight boat in Doubtful Sound. Our plan was to check into the Sofitel on Thursday, check out but leave most of our luggage on Friday, then return on Saturday. Our stay was further complicated because the first night we required 2 rooms and the second night only one since one person was flying out early.
Check in on day 1 was pretty smooth. We told the receptionist about our change in plans and we asked if we could move into a Jr Suite on the second night and she assured us there would be no problem. Our party was very pleased with the accommodations and the rooms were large and comfortable. However on our return for the second night we had an entirely different experience. We arrived back at the Sofitel around noon, but decided check in with hopes our room was ready. As I expected, it was not ready, but they did tell me it would probably be ready within the hour. So my family left me to wait at the hotel while they dropped off our friend at the airport. I killed time in the Business Center, but when my 30 minute internet time limit was up I decided to go check on my room. In the reception area for I found THE ONLY receptionist chatting with guests who were checking out in a few minutes. It would have been impossible for her not to see me standing there waiting for help, but she continued to ignore me. Finally, without so much as an apology she asks if she can help me, she checks again on my room and informs me that the room is clean but our luggage still needs to be delivered. So I ask if I can go up to the room without luggage and she says no. Confused, I ask her why and she says actually the room still needs to be inspected, but that should happen within the NEXT hour. I explain that I had already been waiting an hour and she dismisses me with a curt shrug of the shoulders. Rude! Half an hour later I am finally escorted up to my room by one of the bellman. It is a beautiful large Jr suite and I am quite happy until I find that the sofa does not pull out and they need to charge $74 to bring up a rollaway bed. Are you kidding me? We paid for 2 rooms 2 nights ago, a Jr suite this night and "hotel policy" requires an additional charge for a rollaway bed when they knew we had a 3rd person in our room? Unfortunately our complaint fell on deaf ears due to the fact that the woman who very rudely checked me in was also the manager. We paid top dollar for rooms and were nickel and dimed with every step. We will NOT be choosing Sofitel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkinLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Bonjour WalkinLori,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

We really appreciate your honest feedback, which allows us to improve our service to our guests. We would appreciate discussing your experience further with you, please contact me on vincent.macquet@sofitelqueenstown.com as I would like talk to you to allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and service.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Every staff member from the wait staff in the breakfast restaurant, to the concierges, to the front desk men and women were delightful, helpful, friendly and professional. The General Manager seemed as if he never went home. He went out of his way to get to know the guests and one day sent up wine and fruit to our room when we came back from an active day tired. The cocktail lounge was peaceful and the bartenders entertaining. The breakfasts were sumptuous, freshly squeezed assortment of juices and many freshly baked goods and wonderful crepes. The room was beautifully appointed with a very large bath and glass enclosed shower. There was a large closet and ample draw and shelf space. Anything and everything we requested exceeded our expectations. The only drawback was that this property did not have a direct lake view but I would highly recommend this note.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floors with a partial lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour drcaneel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you received such memorable service from all our Ambassadors & that you enjoyed our Left Bank Cafe & Nue Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and enthusiastic in greeting and bidding farewell. The room was also marvelous, comfortable, clean and everything worked perfectly. Great location right in the centre of the bustle of Queenstown but also very quiet. Unhesitating recommendation.

Room Tip: Facing the town is best I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour Smithworldtraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you found our central location beneficial to your needs & that the service you received was

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location right in the centre of town and the best service I have experienced at a Sofitel. We have stayed at four other Sofitel properties and this eclipses the rest in terms of staff and service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received memorable service provided by our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found the hotel to be very handy to the centre of Queenstown. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We had a one bedroom apartment that we couldn't fault. We definitely recommend Sofitel Queenstown.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niftys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour Niftys,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa experience.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our central location beneficial to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here in October as part of a driving holiday of New Zealand. This hotel surpassed the others. The staff are the friendliest I've met, and hotel is so beautiful in itself!
The room was beautiful, with a great view of the Remarkables, and Queenstown itself. I particularly loved the bathtub! It has such a warm and welcoming atmosphere, which is greatly needed after coming back from a long day of scaring the life out of yourself bungee jumping or canyon swinging! I'd also recommend the spa, very calming atmosphere :) I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mllelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour mllelola,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

The double spa bath in our rooms are a fantastic feature and are certainly inviting after an adventurous day in QUeenstown.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $194 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing