We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoil yourself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spoil yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Sometimes you just have to do it - spoil yourself that is. On a recent visit to Queenstown, my travelling companion and I stayed at the Sofitel and enjoyed every decadent minute. We were travelling by motorcycles. I'm always a little shy about pulling up outside some fancy place on my bike but there was no problem here. At the check in desk we were given a glass of wine (how good is that!) while we waited to get our room. Then the very friendly and efficient staff took us to an adjacent garage where our bikes could be safely parked.
The rooms are fabulous, clean and up to date. The Wi-Fi is a bit expensive and should be included in the room price but that's the only negative I had. We eat at the Jervois Steak House that is adjacent to the hotel and had a fantastic meal. You only go around once. Spoil yourself at the Sofitel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymro1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Bonjour cymro1949,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you had a decadent experience with us and we hope to welcome you back soon to 'spoil yourself at Sofitel'

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    269
    96
    28
    15
See reviews for
215
896
57
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel in Queenstown for one night. The hotel is lovely. We stayed on the executive floor and had free WiFi which worked perfectly. Breakfast was delicious. The location is superb. It's walking distance to everything. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The bathroom is very modern, large, and has a TV overlooking the bathtub. There's also a great coffee maker in the room that makes great espresso or cappuccino. Staying at the Sofitel gives you the chance to experience Queenstown and that is what we did.

Room Tip: We liked the executive floor because of the amenities it offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazinghorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Bonjour Amazinghorizons,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to really experience Queenstown.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had just a one night stay before going on an Ultimate Adventures Hike on the Milford track. We had a car to drop off, luggage to store and more questions than we ever have for a hotel staff. Talk about "exceeding expectations.." They thought of how to stream-line everything we needed, and then said, "We'll do it for you." They were exceptional in every way. Oh yes, the property and rooms were beautiful, and had the best breakfast of anyplace we stayed during our three week vacation. Super place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Bonjour Lesli G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Ambassadors exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Redecorated three years ago ,with modern design.located in the center near the lake, restaurants and the ice cream . Very willing and trained staf that serve you in the most professional way.stayed 4 nights and were very pleased. Just improve the WiFi which is from the 20st century. Apropo technology, the GSM (cellular, Mobil) in NZ is poor quality and like in third world country. The same goes to the Internet services. We , the tourists, want normal efficient communications and not the old Royal Mail with horses.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Bonjour Ran G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

New Zealand is curently upgrading the Internet services which will result in a faster service for our guests, thank you very much for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Sofitel is located within walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, the gondola, meeting points for excursions leaving from Queenstown, etc. The staff is very friendly, helpful and gave us good suggestions on the best way to experience some of the day trips we had planned, which saved us money. The rooms are clean and nice, the bed very comfortable. We stayed two nights, left for two nights, then returned for two nights. We were able to leave everything we didn't need to take with us when we left for the two nights at the hotel and when we returned the staff had the luggage we had left in our new room before we arrived. Breakfast in the lobby is nice but pricey, especially when there are very good places within minutes of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel as well as stay there again if returning to Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillianchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Bonjour jillianchris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed are central location and that our Ambassadors were knowledgable and helpful.

we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Everything is in walking distance from this hotel! We never had to take our car out for 3 days. The staff is extremely helpful and ever ready to help out! Water every night with chocolates is a great perk! Expensive internet & parking though which were downsides. Nice big king sized rooms though. We loved it, definitely a luxury hotel experience and would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with a view of the city (room 415) and had no issues with noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psquare2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Bonjour Psquare2020,

Thank you for taking the time to share your luxury Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our central location.

We are pleased that you received helpful and friendly service from our Ambassadors and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing