We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel in Queenstown”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this beautiful and classy property. The room was luxurious and all the amenites were what you would expect from the best. We often travel around the world but never feel like giving any feedback but in this instance we really had to. The Service in this hotel is the best we have encountered. The restaurant service was impeccable and the SPA was simply sensational. We loved the city and this hotel and will definetly return with more of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Bonjour Mark G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel décor & facilities and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    283
    99
    30
    15
See reviews for
228
933
60
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riversdale Southland.
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I were disapointed with our stay as my children, gave me 2 nights in this expensive hotel for my 60th Birthday. I was so excited and felt like Victoria Beckham.
However we were taken to our room, but nothing was explained about how anything worked.
First the TV remote was not the one for the TV and we needed to ring reception to have someone come and explain it. The women who did this said it should have been explained to us. We had a pleasant enourgh night, and of course the next day we enjoyed Queenstown very much going for a bike ride. However on our return our room was still not made up. eg. bed, new towels. dishes done. Going out for the everning we came back at about 12.45 and still bed not made etc. The next day on leaving my husband asked about the reason for this and was told we must have had our DO NOT DISTURB BUTTON ON. Now I ask you, when you have never stayed in this quality of hotel, how are you surposed to know about some button on the wall that has never been explained to you.
My
Regards, Wanda Kirk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandakirk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is so "Up itself" that it is not true. The room needs a university degree just to stay there. Then you need a second degree to use the bathroom. Do not try to take a shower without your glasses on or you will end up scalded. The staff are friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge, but the hotel is out of place in Queenstown. The area is casual and lively, everything that the Sofitel is not. Stop trying to be so French in such a typical New Zealand town. Say Kia Ora not Bonjour.

Room Tip: Avoid anything overlooking the street, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The views surrounding this hotel are just awe-inspiring and there are activities for the entire family. If you are into the great outdoors and enjoy being pampered, the Sofitel Queenstown where you should take your next holiday! There are too many activites to mention in the area however I will name a few. The must see and do (especially if you have children) is to take the 101 year old TSS Earnslaw steam ship (hotel in walking distanceto the ship) and cruise to the remote Walter Peak ranch. The scenic Walter Peak ranch is where you can watch a sheep sheering demo, pet the farm animals, have a farm tour, herding demo, enjoy a BBQ, cycling tour or ride hourses. The hotel is walking distance to the luge, gondola ride up the mountain, or take day trips to ski, skydive, white water rafting, etc.. The hotel is also walking distance to a casino, loads of restaurants and shopping. Coming to Queenstown, New Zealand is one you will want to put on your bucket list, while you enjoy a stay at the luxurious Sofitel. Great customer service, clean elegant rooms, ample toiletries, fine restaurants, provided half hour of free wifi, stocked bar and comfy beds. What I also appreciate is being able to check into our room, even though we arrive early. The Queenstown Sofitel staff allowed us weary travelers to do that (since the room was ready).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Bonjour Shawn M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our central location.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just had the absolute pleasure of spending 5 nights at this wonderful hotel.

From the moment you step into the hotel you feel completely welcome and this is a credit to the wonderful staff throughout the hotel. The staff make you feel as though you are staying in a small luxury b & b not a hotel.
We stayed on the 6th floor and had lovely views of the cable car and the surrounding mountains. The room was fantastic, on the large size with a gorgeous bathroom, illy coffee machine, bose stereo that the tv runs through, ipod doc, all the mod cons you need. The rooms were so quiet we never heard anyone or anything in the corridor.
Our rate gave us wifi daily which was great, breakfast downstairs at the beautifully appointed cafe and was simply delicious, espresso style coffee, eggs cooked to order, all the usual hot choices, yoghurts, smoothies, smoked salmon, you name it, they had it! By the 2nd day the staff in the cafe knew our coffee choice and the way we liked our eggs, exceptional service.

The location is second to none just a 2 minute walk to the heart of the town, making it really easy to walk to all the fantastic restaurants Queenstown has to offer.

We loved the hotel and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: if you can spring for the executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Bonjour tbonex1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel facilities and the service you received from our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing