We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

For our 30th Wedding Anniversary. A wonderful week spent in Queenstown at the Sofitel Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They went out of their way to make our stay with them enjoyable. The room was excellent, well furnished, and serviced promptly. The food and drinks were of a high standard. All in all we felt right at home. An added touch is the spa linked to the hotel. There is a dedicated lift to the spa so that guests may use the facility clothed in bathrobe and slippers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanNigelGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour JanNigelGrant,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a Magnifique 30th Wedding Anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    272
    97
    28
    15
See reviews for
216
905
57
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent hotel. Staff truly 5 star from Will the concierge to the barmen and receptionists, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Location is 5 mins walk from cable car and harbour and just off one of the main streets. Had a great corner room with coffee maker (with proper milk, not the UHT stuff), spa bath and large sitting space.....and this was just a standard room. Bar and restaurant prices reasonable for a hotel. Spa had a small gym, no pool but didn't have time for any of that anyway. No free WIFI but there was a computer in the business centre which could be used.

Queenstown is a lovely place, lots of good restaurants - Winnies, Flame, Waterfront and Speights to name a few - didn't have a bad meal anywhere. Did a Southern Discoveries cruise on the lake which was excellent, also took a trip to Milford Sound with Glenorchy Air - highly recommended - a great day out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour GarethRhysMorgan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and your time in Queenstown.

We loom forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our first time in Queenstown, what a fabulous place, so picturesque and beautiful and staying at the Sofitel was just the perfect place, as everything was at our doorstep.
The management & staff were extremely professional , polite and always made you feel that you were very special. Our room was luxurious and the bed was very comfortable with a pillowtop mattress and a choice of pillows to suit our needs. The breakfast was well catered for in The Left Bank Cafe and we enjoyed our evening nightcap at the Nue Lounge.
I would definitely return to the Sofitel Queenstown, a very warm and friendly hotel.
Nick & Irene - Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneM1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour IreneM1948,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Queenstown and your saty with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in several Sofitel's throughout India and Southeast Asia in recent years and I have to say that the Queenstown Sofitel is the best property of this bunch - it will be an absolute great part of any trip you have planned to this area of New Zealand.

The hotel is nestled just a block outside of the primary ring that makes up the border of downtown Queenstown - which means that everything you likely will want is within walking distance. I do not know if the hotel is new, recently renovated, or just well maintained, but the hotel itself was in great condition, immaculate, and very warm/welcoming.

The staff, as one would expect, was extremely helpful with items both large and small and they are always ready to assist you with either your plans for the day or plans for dinner. Overall, the staff knew a lot about the area, which was not always the case in other spots in the transient worker oriented town.

There is an on-site cafe for breakfast, coffee and such, but it seemed to be a bit overpriced even for the inflated Queenstown food pricing. A quick survey of the breakfast buffet didn't make me want to spend the money on what appeared to be very modest offerings. I can't fully judge this, but this was my impression.

Parking is by valet and cost us $20 NZD per day, with unlimited access to your car (no fees for retrieving it each time).

Overall, the Sofitel should be on your consideration list if you are looking for a more upscale offering in the Queenstown area. The rooms, views, and staff will not disappoint!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour TwoOhTravelers,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Sofitel Queenstown hotel & spa, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Our ambassadors and central location are a true asset to the hotel. It was a pleasure to assist you during your stay and we are proud that our ambassadors reflected our core Sofitel values to such a high level.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We (wife & I + two daughters aged 4.5 & 3) stayed at the Queenstown Sofitel for three nights at the end of a 12 day trip around the South Island and found it perfect for us. We wanted some luxury in the middle of Queenstown, with enough space for the four of us, but nothing too fussy.

The Sofitel more than delivered - a great location with plenty of nearby free parking; a large room with 2x double beds; and enough luxury and nice touches to keep us happy (such as being greeted on our return from a busy and tiring day by someone who I assume was the manager who arranged for complimentary refreshments to be sent to our room - hot chocolates for the girls and cokes for us, although we were offered beer if we had wanted them).

Staff have all been very polite, plentiful and helpful, and apart from the lack of any real view (not that we were expecting one) our experience couldn't have been much better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandersnatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Bonjour Bandersnatchers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experince. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for your lovely comments about our Ambassadors, we are pleased that they delivered the luxury experience that you were after.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future - we will have the hot chocolates ready for you.

Kindest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Property: Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing