We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic decor, friendly staff and noisy renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights. Having arrived from the wilderness of the Fiordland national park, the french chic of this hotel took a little while getting used to. Hearing "bonjour" as a greeting around the corridor and on the phone was slightly comical. One might imagine them having staff training sessions based on "bonjour". Despite this, there was a sense of genuine staff commitment to service. The porter was warm and helpful. The waitstaff at left bank cafe were friendly and efficient.
We were allocated a level three room with very little view. The room itself was beautifully decorated. The corner single sofa next to the balcony was very inviting with ottoman and faux fur blanket. There were some negatives. There was a small spike arising from the carpet close to the bathroom that my husband stepped on. There were limited tv channel selections with cnn rather than bbc news. Wifi was not free and came with restrictive data limits. 300mb for $30 was rather expensive. 20 minute youtube video would be easily 200mb. During our stay, there was renovation noise mostly hammering right above our room throughout the working hours including the saturday. Slightly unfortunate that the working hour seemed to start at 7am.

Breakfast was very nice with a great selection. The french patisserie selections were delightful, fresh and light. The left bank cafe had a nice ambience which was supported by its staff. We did not have dinner in the hotel, but we did order room service dessert which was promptly delivered, well priced and delicious.

We stayed on an "experience more" package which included $50 spending credit daily. There seemed to be some confusion as to whether a 2 night stay counts as 3 days or 2 days. Whilst the initial enquiry at the reception returned with 3 days, it was deemed otherwise at check-out. Would be good if the staff were all clear on the definition of the packages offered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie_travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Sophie_travel01

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Queenstown. The Fiordland National Park is one of many majestic treasures of the region.

We appreciate your comments posted about your recent stay with us. There certainly were many highlights of your stay which we have shared with our team. In view of the noise experienced; regrettably this was unforeseen mandatory work, and took place on the 2nd level of the building.

We are sure that the region has enticed you to return; and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Sofitel.

With kindest regards,

Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a great place to stay -- the service was superb right from the time we walked in the door to when we left. Great Location and good hospitality.Rooms were quite and the beds very comfortable, ports were very freindly and could not do enough for us -- 2 couples from Chriostchurch and 2 couples from Germany.

Room Tip: they were all good
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ENWORBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Bonjour ENWORBD

Thank you for posting feedback about your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate your visit in Queenstown over Labour Weekend, which certainly saw many celebrations for the region.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Queenstown.

Warmest regards,

Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Like a previous reviewer I haven't stayed at this hotel. I often come here for brunch though. This place is as you would expect of a hotel of this calibre. The food is outstanding. The coffee is perfect. The service is top-notch. What I didn't expect was the prices. The top class freshly cooked food is very well priced. The lunch menu is mostly under $20 which at a 5 star hotel is very odd but welcoming. Can't fault it and we will definitely keep coming back.
Have to mention a manager I saw calming down a toddler having a tantrum while the parents were doing the "ignore him" method. The manager jumped in and somehow calmed the child down where most staff would simply shake their heads and run for cover. Top marks to that man!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLQTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Bonjour RLQTL

Our wonderful new menu inspired by the typical French bistro, is certainly receiving wonderful reviews and therefore thank you too for taking the time to share your comments on your recent experience at Left Bank Café.

Charming and inviting, it is indeed a perfect venue be it for a family gathering, friends, couples, or business meetings. Please look out for our special Christmas Carvery Lunches coming soon…and be sure to join our database by emailing us on leftbankcafe@sofitelqueenstown.com - it is a great way to remain connected with all the news and upcoming events from Left Bank Café.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Warmest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the moment that we checked in we were made to feel special at Sofitel. Nothing was too much bother for the staff, it was wonderful stay from start to finish. We spent nine nights in this beautiful part of the world and the Sofitel exceeded all our expectations. We have stayed at Sofitel properties throughout the world and honestly Queenstown was the best experience that we have had with the Accor group. The small boutique Hotel had a real family friendly feel about it. Many thanks to all the staff and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thunderbirdsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Bonjour Thunderbirdsgo

We are delighted to read your comment posted recently about your stay with us.

We enjoyed being your choice of hotel for your extended break. The region indeed is magical and a wonderful source for many lifelong memories. As a brand, we believe that at the heart of luxury, there is human relation, and it is certainly the passion of our ambassadors and their commitment to our guests that allow us to create exceptional experiences.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon again.

Warmest regards,

Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have stayed in many 5-star hotels around the world, and this is undoubtedly the best. While offering all that you would expect from a large 5-star hotel, it retains the intimate feel of a boutique lodge. From the initial 'Bonjour' from the concierge when he took our luggage, to the efficient and friendly reception staff - all treated us as valued guests.
The location was ideal in the centre of Queenstown. Our room was spacious with modern, warm decor. The television over the double spa-bath was a special treat.
We look forward to returning. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Bonjour Jo K,

Greetings from all the team at Sofitel!
It was a sincere pleasure to host your visit recently with us. Thank you for sharing your experience of the hotel and our service. As a team, we are fully committed to delivering a very personalized and boutique experience for all our guests and delighted to read your comments, which we have shared with all our ambassadors.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Sofitel. Please be in touch when you next plan a visit to Queenstown. With summer approaching and the long warm days, allow us to give you many reasons to return in the not-too-distant future.
Warmest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Thanks to all those at Sofitel that made our stay such a wonderful experience. The service from breakfast to after dinner cocktails was exceptional. Combine this with great room, facilities and location this is the must stay place in Queenstown. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Bonjour ROC0
Thank you for your lovely feedback and comment regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly enjoyed hosting your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Our wonderful new Food & Beverage attendant, Sebastien, has introduced a new and very sumptuous range of cocktails and martinis, and we are therefore delighted you managed to sample a couple during your stay; yet another reason to return very soon again.

Warmest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was the friendly service that made the Sofitel Queenstown experience for me from the Porters and reception staff to the restaurant staff right up to the General Manager who was very visual and approachable. The location of this hotel also cannot be beaten. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike Z, Director of Sales at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Bonjour SydneyTraveller777
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We appreciate the time taken to review our hotel and service and thank you for recommending us accordingly.
Our team of ambassadors, leading from the very top, truly delivers guest service with passion, and please rest assured we have shared your wonderful comments with all the team. Given that you are Sydney-based, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Only a 2.5 hour direct flight certainly makes Queenstown the ideal destination for a relaxing short break away.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and wishing you a wonderful summer season ahead.
Warmest regards,
Tanya Dennis
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $218 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa. Inspired by the charms of Paris with the warm hospitality inherent to Queenstown, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique elegance and local avant-garde design. Centrally located in the heart of Queenstown, it offers 82 luxuriously appointed bedrooms and suites, featuring Left Bank Café open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 1789 Wine & Jazz Lounge and Jervois Steak House. Situated in the heart of Queenstown's dining and entertainment precinct, Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa is the perfect base to explore central Queenstown on foot before heading further afield to local ski resorts and adventure attractions. Just 15 minutes from the airport, you can take a stroll down to the shores of Lake Wakatipu, or up to Queenstown's scenic vantage point and adventure attraction Skyline Luge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing