We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and Ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hippo lodge has a great view over Queenstown but as other reviews have mentioned this means a bit of a steep climb up from the bottom and then a number of stairs to the dorms.
The hostel itself was okay nothing fantastic to rave about and it appears that there are quite a few long term residents in the hostel.

We stayed in the top section of the hostel but the dorm we had was at the bottom which meant it was rather noisy at night with people walking, talking and thumping on the floor which was our roof.

Guy at check in was friendly but he did seem to try and push selling of attractions through him to get free internet.

Showers and toilets were okay but there wasn't very many of them and for the amount of people I thought there would have been a few more.
The kitchen area was not that big and so at times it was rather busy with everyone preparing meals.

We picked the Hippo as it was one of the more reasonably priced and there was also parking availabe.
For what we paid it was ok but I would maybe check out some other places next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 116 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

The friendly staff gave me some great tips for places to eat and check out around town. The location was good (if you don't mind a bit of a steep walk) and the view was great. Decent price and the room was nice. So, despite the fire alarm going off a couple of times at inopportune times (read very early in the morning), I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexisMorand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I first stopped in looking for a hostel around town and came right back to this one. Stayed 2 nights in a dorm and we had the place almost to ourselves! Great views, very spacious dorm rooms, great kitchen/lounge area. Riley was really welcoming and helpful which made our stay that much better! Only downside is that it was always so cold in the lounge and kitchen area...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I loved this backpackers in Queenstown. The climb was worth every step for the absolutely fantastic views. On check in the guy on reception was really helpful and had a lots of ideas on stuff to do. Hippo offers you 50MB free WIFI with EVERY activity. I wasn't quite sure what a MB was but it works out at about half an hour standard web surfing. I had a room in the top house and could see the lake from my window. My bed was kind of built into the wall which I liked as it was like a private hide-away. The room was kept clean for my three days there (apart from the scruffy fella across from me spilling his bag over half the floor). Bathrooms were sparkling. Lounge had the most FANTASTIC view over the lake and the snow capped mountains from huge windows. I sat drinking tea and watching the gondola climbing and descending Bob's Peak from the sofa! There was a friendly cat who kept appearing and nuzzling me which was really nice as I love cats. On my last day the girl on reception was bubbly and helped me book my paraglide. She'd obviously done it before and alleviated my fears. All in all really nice and pleasant staff. Lovely rooms. AMAZING views!!! Thanks Hippo. See you next time....

Room Tip: Top House :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Okay price and large private room but shower had long black hair all over it when we arrived. Really grossed us out. Complete kitchenette in our room saved us a ton of money on food.

But the guy at the reception was totally trying to sell us on stupid activities, promising us if we booked with them they could give us that 'cheap internet' ($2 for 20MG). If you do the math, it's exactly the price of the standard $5 for 50MG without booking anything. We're not that easily fooled guy. We asked what we could do around Queenstown that was free or cheap and he immediately suggested this expensive jet boat tour in winter, and really wouldn't stop talking about it. Sorry guy, $170 per person for a 15 minute jet boat ride in freezing weather isn't free or remotely interesting to us. Stop trying to pressure people so you can get a commission on our booking. This was just this one guy, the other people who worked there seemed cool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Customer931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makutamonster, Manager at Hippo Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hi There,

Thank you for leaving a review about us. There is always room for improvement and we take your opinions and experiences seriously.

First off, I am really sorry about the black hair in the shower. We pride ourselves at Hippo Lodge at being a clean hostel. We like to take on Cleaners who have pride in their work and pay attention to detail. We've been really lucky as we have some really great staff here, but sometimes we all make mistakes. I have spoken with the staff in the hopes that this doesn't happen again.

In regards to booking activities and "cheap internet", I think there might be a small misunderstanding. Our wireless internet is a standard rate of 10c per megabyte ex: 20 mb = $2 and 50 mb = $5, etc. However, if you book an activity with us, we offer guests either $2 off per activity booking or $2 (20 mb) of FREE wifi per booking. I have spoken with my Duty Manager to be more clear when explaining this to guests. I don't want guests to think we are trying to fool anyone.

Lastly, just a small thing, unfortunately Queenstown is quite an expensive place and the 15 minute Shotover Jet boat ride at $129 is one of the cheaper activities to do here. True, it is not "cheap", but compared to a $299 jet boat ride or a $260 Bungy Jump, it is.

Thank you again for your honesty. We want our guests to be happy and are hoping that your recommendations will improve the next guests' experiences.

Warmest Regards,
Shana M
Hippo Lodge
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was a bit of a hill to climb to Hippo, but worth every step. Very cozy little backpacker place with friendly staff, good lounge, clean kitchen and nice balcony for a dinner or have a drink. And nice hostel dog hanging around too! Unbeatable view over the but only few minutes walk to centre. Hippo was all good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomiFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at the Hippo Lodge for 2 weeks. For me it was the ideal place...very affordable with an excellent location, clean, great view, comfortable, and really friendly helpful staff. Thanks for a great stay!
-Dan V. USA

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
#13 of 93 in Queenstown
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
#80 of 93 in Queenstown
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Butterfli Lodge
Butterfli Lodge
#42 of 93 in Queenstown
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#26 of 93 in Queenstown
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Lodge Backpackers

Address: 4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $22 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on Queenstown hill our elevated site offers stunning lake and mountain views over Queenstown- and just minutes away from town, bars and food! Our backpacker hostel caters for travellers looking for a relaxing experience. We are the warmest, cosiest and friendliest hostel around. Comfy beds are made up with fresh linen in centrally heated rooms to keep you toasty. Facilities include an outside barbeque area, 24hr internet, cheap wireless (FREE wifi voucher upon checkin), dvds, and coin-op laundry. Tramping? Use our secure storage area for your excess stuff. Winter sports? Use our locked drying room for your gear and our centrally heated rooms to warm your toes after a day off piste! Enjoy making new friends over a hot cup of free tea or coffee. We are family friendly! We are Queenstown's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hippo Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing