We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of our favorite backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

The steep walk is worth the view, location and amenities! We booked in for two nights and enjoyed a well equipped kitchenette, clean room/bathroom & convenient laundry facilities. It was like having our own appartment! Extra charm: great common areas, friendly staff (gave me more change for my laundry after the office closed) and visits from Moss the backpacker cat (outside the rooms of course!) Would recommend and stay again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    33
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
41
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Hippo Lodge for 2 nights in December. The room and bathroom was standard but nice and clean, the kitchen was nice. There was a lovely view over Queenstown from the dinning area/sofas!

Like most places in Queenstown, it was up a big hill! However the location was actually really good as it was only a 5 min walk into town.Everything in Queenstown is pretty close together so no need to drive at all, which was nice.

The staff were very nice and chatty and gave good information about the area and activities. However be warned, it is not a nice 30 min walk up that hill like we were told. We decided to walk up rather than take the lift and it took us nearly an hour and I was wearing flip flops, which were not really suitable.

Hippo lodge had a nice location and was reasonably priced so as long as you are not too worried about having a really nice room and bathroom then I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flicky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The service we received was excellent: in addition to offering us a kind welcome and useful tips, they were also very flexible and helpful when the airlines lost our luggage. They lent us a jacket for two days, extended our stay and were flexible about checkout times. When our luggage did arrive, they were there to accept it and put it in our room for us, so we didn't have to sit around waiting for it. They also agreed to store our luggage for several days while we were gone on one of the Great Walks. We were in one of their nicer rooms and feel that it was better than some of fancier places we stayed in elsewhere, and certainly a better value. It's only a short walk to town and to a large grocery store (away from town), plus it has a beautiful view of the city. The walk up the hill from town looks scarier than it is.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theroamingzimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed at Hippo for a week. Although the steep walk takes a day or two to get used to, it's not actually too bad. If you're looking for a party hostel this is not the one for you. You would be better off staying at one of the many hostels in the centre of town.

The hostel is split into 3 self contained houses. I stayed in the bottom house and white house while I was there. The best views are from the top house, but views from the white house are pretty good too.

I stayed in an 8 bed and a 6 bed dorm. The beds were fine. The white house was a lot more comfortable than the bottom house. Nicer bathrooms and dining and lounge areas.

It's around a 5 minute walk down to town. The Fresh Choice supermarket is also a 5 minute walk from the hostel.

Staff were friendly and went out of their way to make sure everything was good. I actually found booking activities with them a good bit cheaper than booking them in town. They can also sell you vouchers for time on their wifi hotspot.

Kitchens were well equipped and very clean as were the bathrooms. I would stay here again if I went back to Queenstown

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view in the top house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed here for about a week in Queenstown and had a great time. From the moment I first got there the staff was really nice and helpful, suggesting a bunch of cool restaurants, bars, etc. They also seemed really knowledgeable about all sorts of activities, hikes, and roads in the area.

They let me put up my tent outside for a reduced rate which was really nice, and I still had the door code for access to all the facilities. The place is older but seems well maintained. Everything worked well, there were ample bathrooms, and the kitchen was well stocked. What I really liked about the place was the feel - everyone would stop and chat on their way in and people got to know each other. It attracted a really interesting and diverse crowd who never seemed to get too rowdy at the hostel.

It is up a big hill, but it's short and the place is only about a 2 minute walk from shotover street, the center of town. The hill becomes a huge advantage once you get up it though - it has an absolutely stunning view of the whole town, lake, and mountains. Definitely worth the hike up. I would totally stay here again if I go back to Queenstown.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jspiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Perfect! just five minutes walk away from the centre, with the best view of Queenstown! The staff are lovely & the people staying there are really friendly.
The only downside is the mount everest of a hill you have to climb before you get there, with a backpack its not an enjoyable walk! but coming back down is picture perfect :)
Well done Hippo!
xxxx

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa9722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I was entirely pleased with the solo room I stayed in at hippo, especially considering the communal kitchen area and the large lounge with a nice view.

This hostel is very quite and clean, much more so than the centrally-located hostels much be. The only drawback of this place is that it is a good 15 minute walk into town, perched on a STEEP hillside. It's fine if you have a car (and there seems to be plenty of street parking) but if I were to go to Queenstown again without a car, I'd stay at the Novotel right on the water. Yeah, it's more expensive, but the most convenient joint in town.

If you aren't going to Queenstown to do all of the activities and are more than 20 years old and a big partier, you might prefer Wanaka.

Generally speaking, I would advise to be very careful where you stay in New Zealand if you travel around without a car -- you might find yourself in a difficult situation, especially if you have a heavy bag/suitcase!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
#74 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
#11 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#2 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Butterfli Lodge
Butterfli Lodge
#49 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#30 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Lodge Backpackers

Property: Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Address: 4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on Queenstown hill our elevated site offers stunning lake and mountain views over Queenstown- and just minutes away from town, bars and food! Our backpacker hostel caters for travellers looking for a relaxing experience. We are the warmest, cosiest and friendliest hostel around. Comfy beds are made up with fresh linen in centrally heated rooms to keep you toasty. Facilities include an outside barbeque area, 24hr internet, cheap wireless (FREE wifi voucher upon checkin), dvds, and coin-op laundry. Tramping? Use our secure storage area for your excess stuff. Winter sports? Use our locked drying room for your gear and our centrally heated rooms to warm your toes after a day off piste! Enjoy making new friends over a hot cup of free tea or coffee. We are family friendly! We are Queenstown's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hippo Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing