We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lord of The Rings Tours
from $200.38
More Info
from $113.93
More Info
from $200.38
More Info
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
157
13
10
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
157
13
10
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middle earth lotr fans tour guide filming locations full day tour wings new zealand amazing tour take photos tolkien sword films hobbit knowledge information sceneries glenorchy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great day out. Shane knows his stuff and Kyle is hilarious! The photos with swords, axes and the rest were fun and the stories about NZ wildlife and nature were a great bonus

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank duncanlay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari08195982722, Director of Sales at Lord of The Rings Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for writing, we try to add as much value to our tours as possible and we are glad you were able to learn a bit about the NZ history, culture and wildlife too. We think it is important that all our tours are a good combination of stories behind the magic of film making and the surroundings areas that inspired these phenomenal films.

Hope to see you back in this epic location again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am glad that my mother and I chose to come on this trip, because not only was our tour quite Shane very knowledgeable about Lord of the Rings he was also in love with the land. Our trainee guide Kyle, was one of the funniest blokes I’ve ever met, who always made us laugh and also knew a few extra secrets! Overall, it was an amazing trip! Saw many beautiful filming spots, and I almost got a slice of Paradise! (Shane )

I would definitely recommend this LOTR trip to anyone who loves the amazing films made adapted by Peter Jackson and his team!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank PatWilson06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari08195982722, Director of Sales at Lord of The Rings Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review, we had a great time taking you into Paradise and hope someday you are able to have that little slice haha.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey here and hope to see you back again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Very fun and interesting. Shane did a very good job of making things easy and comfortable for everyone, especially considering we had brought one infant and another had brought.theirs.

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MichaelM10100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari08195982722, Director of Sales at Lord of The Rings Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad it was an enjoyable day for the whole family. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Finally, after 41 years since discovered Lord of The Rings, and 20 years of watching The Fellowship of The Ring for the first of many times, I visited marvelous locations around magic Queenstown where some of the LOR trilogy was filmed. Thanks to Shane and Kyle, our guides whose spent more than seven hours showing to us, seven tourists from different parts of the world, important moments of the trilogy, I spend first sunny day of this January on New Zealand walking through the fairy tale. Shane and Kyle were answering promptly on any of our questions, they shared with us many interesting details of movie making. I passed long way to reach New Zealand and really cannot be sure that will be able to come back here once again, but would really like to. These torquise blue lakes, high mountains with glaciers, huge space and strong sense of quiet freedom plus all the magic that Peter Jackson imported by choosing this corner of the world to visualize the best fairy tale ever, make New Zealand a lonesome jewel of the Pacific Ocean. Shane and Kyle, thank you guys for being so devoted tourist guides!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank ABplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari08195982722, Director of Sales at Lord of The Rings Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are glad the tour and NZ lived up to the expectations of a long time fan. We hope the rest of your time here in Middle-earth was as memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Glad I did this tour instead of solo as I might not have found some of the sites alone, despite having the guidebook. Also useful to have the props and pictures, and you get to play with swords. Pro tip- the price difference between this one and the nomads tour of the same price as a jet boat in skippers canyon (which is the only difference that I could find between the two tours, except now you also get a jet boat experience)

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lelava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari08195982722, Director of Sales at Lord of The Rings Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you were able to see the value in our tour and made great use of our $15,000 official LOTR replica props. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your adventure in Middle-earth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews