We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Tussock Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tussock Cottage
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at Tussock Cottage on numerous occasions and we love it. Cosy in winter (with underfloor heating) and cool in a hot Central Otago summer, this is the perfect year round holiday home. The straw bale construction and the added touches of home grown honey and eggs (in season) along with home baked cookies, cool water and milk in the fridge make our stay special. The location is perfect for us, with beautiful Lake Hayes just a stones throw away, we recommend the lake walkway which takes about 2 hours. Lee and Japp couldn't be better hosts, there when you need them but also giving guests plenty of privacy. The cottage has a kitchenette but is also a short drive from the fabulous Amisfield Winery and Restaurant. What we particularly appreciate though is being able to bring our whippet who as an 'inside' dog is also welcomed by Lee, Japp and their friendly black lab.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennya805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 32 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We booked two nights into the Tussock Cottage and could have happily stayed longer. The cottage setting is excellent, tucked away from traffic and noise with peaceful country outlook. The cottage is mud brick and therefore was very cosy in spite of the cool weather. It is nicely furnished with plenty of space for two.

The bed was comfortable with good linens. Reading lights are a plus, and not always provided outside of hotels. The bathroom is spacious and well set up with a large walk in shower and plenty of toiletries. The wardrobe has room for all your bags.

The lounge/dining/kitchen is also good, plenty of room to spread yourself out. We enjoyed the eggs that were provided, nice and fresh. They were only provided the first night of our stay, which did confuse us as we thought they were included every day. Also, the website says home baking but that is not bread or anything to have with breakfast so we popped into Arrowtown to buy bread for the morning.

It is nice and peaceful on the property, but the hosts are worth chatting to. Jaap was very friendly and looked after us very well. We will be back!

Room Tip: There are eggs provided, and milk, coffee and tea. Don't forget to bring bread, butter and anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have just come back from 3 weeks stay in Tussock Cottage & quite simply it was a superb rental, having everything we could need. Lee and Japp could not have been more kind and helpful throughout our stay & my wife and I would like to wish them all the very best for the future.

Tussock cottage is situated on the edge of beautiful lake Hayes & our hosts provided a kayak and mountain bikes to cross and travel round the lake ( about 6 miles round). When we did not want to visit the restaurants of nearby Arrowtown, we had barbecues and cooked in at Tussock Cottage. It was a great base for our holiday.

Many thanks.

Peter & Jan (Clements)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCLEMENTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Lee and Jaap were the perfect hosts here for a wonderful two day stay in very comfortable and spacious accommodation - nothing was too much trouble and they were a mine of information on local attractions as well as ideas for the next stage of our holiday in New Zealand. Nearby Lake Hayes is picture postcard, and Arrowtown only 5 minutes by car if you do not fancy self catering. We loved the setting, the wildlife, the chickens (and the eggs they produced). Nearby there are lots of good restaurants and wineries, and Arrowtown is an interesting town to stroll round. Also check out Lee's fantastic driftwood sculptures and other works of art around the garden. We wish we could have stayed longer, but we have already resolved to return for a much longer stay!

Room Tip: Cottage is self contained, and includes separate sitting/kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This turned out to be an ideal setting for a vacation stay. The location was fantastic. This unique straw bale cottage was in a very quiet setting, just a 5 min. walk to Lake Hayes, a 20 min drive to Queenstown (nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown) and about a 15 min. drive to Arrowtown. The cottage contained a bedroom with a very comfortable queen size bed, sofa, tv, decent size bathroom with shower (no tub), large combination living area with sofa,coffee table, tv, stereo equip. and small fully equipped kitchen. I found the cottage to be very well equipped and also appreciated the eggs, milk and wonderful cookies that were provided by Lee and Jaap. Both Lee and Jaap were very welcoming and helpful in providing recommendations for the area. The cottage feels very private even though it is next door to the main house as it is separated by a large hedge. The wifi was somewhat spotty. I had better luck with it if I was sitting outside.
There is a small patio area outside the cottage, unfortunately we were unable to use it as it had spider webs and was quite dirty. Despite that, I would still highly recommend Tussock cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpolisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone who loves nature. It is an idylic situation with a wonderful walk round the lake. Lee and Jaap are great hosts and we were really looked after. The accommodation was comfortable and clean with everything you need. We just wished we could have stayed longer.
Thanks very much Lee with love from Ross, Janet and Heather (from Scotland)
Sorry its taken me so long to get round to writing this! We are busy running a similar business and its taken a broken ankle for me to catch up!!
Hope to see you again Lee and Jaap. You are doing a fantastic job.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
Thank jennyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Enjoyed a fantastic week, excellent spot with the lake right on your doorstep. Lovely cottage- better than the website pictures. Great hosts with thoughtful extras (enjoyed the free range eggs & shortbread). Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainsAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,281 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
9 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
8.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Cottage

Address: 48 Rutherford Road | Lake Hayes RD1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $1 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tussock Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tussock Cottage is located at beautiful Lake Hayes, close to both Arrowtown and Queenstown. The setting is private and tranquil and offers stunning lake and mountain views. The cottage is self contained with a queen size bedroom and a separate large living area with dining and cooking facilities. The lake is great for fishing, kayaking and swimming . Golf courses, skifields, wineries,restaurants , great shopping, it's all on your doorstep when staying at Tussock Cottage! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing