We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
33
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed minute walk hayes arrowtown winter lake
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 33 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We booked two nights into the Tussock Cottage and could have happily stayed longer. The cottage setting is excellent, tucked away from traffic and noise with peaceful country outlook. The cottage is mud brick and therefore was very cosy in spite of the cool weather. It is nicely furnished with plenty of space for two.

The bed was comfortable with good linens. Reading lights are a plus, and not always provided outside of hotels. The bathroom is spacious and well set up with a large walk in shower and plenty of toiletries. The wardrobe has room for all your bags.

The lounge/dining/kitchen is also good, plenty of room to spread yourself out. We enjoyed the eggs that were provided, nice and fresh. They were only provided the first night of our stay, which did confuse us as we thought they were included every day. Also, the website says home baking but that is not bread or anything to have with breakfast so we popped into Arrowtown to buy bread for the morning.

It is nice and peaceful on the property, but the hosts are worth chatting to. Jaap was very friendly and looked after us very well. We will be back!

Room tip: There are eggs provided, and milk, coffee and tea. Don't forget to bring bread, butter and anything else you want for breakfast as it's a wee way into the shops.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have just come back from 3 weeks stay in Tussock Cottage & quite simply it was a superb rental, having everything we could need. Lee and Japp could not have been more kind and helpful throughout our stay & my wife and I would like to wish them all the very best for the future.

Tussock cottage is situated on the edge of beautiful lake Hayes & our hosts provided a kayak and mountain bikes to cross and travel round the lake ( about 6 miles round). When we did not want to visit the restaurants of nearby Arrowtown, we had barbecues and cooked in at Tussock Cottage. It was a great base for our holiday.

Many thanks.

Peter & Jan (Clements)

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCLEMENTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Lee and Jaap were the perfect hosts here for a wonderful two day stay in very comfortable and spacious accommodation - nothing was too much trouble and they were a mine of information on local attractions as well as ideas for the next stage of our holiday in New Zealand. Nearby Lake Hayes is picture postcard, and Arrowtown only 5 minutes by car if you do not fancy self catering. We loved the setting, the wildlife, the chickens (and the eggs they produced). Nearby there are lots of good restaurants and wineries, and Arrowtown is an interesting town to stroll round. Also check out Lee's fantastic driftwood sculptures and other works of art around the garden. We wish we could have stayed longer, but we have already resolved to return for a much longer stay!

Room tip: Cottage is self contained, and includes separate sitting/kitchen area.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This turned out to be an ideal setting for a vacation stay. The location was fantastic. This unique straw bale cottage was in a very quiet setting, just a 5 min. walk to Lake Hayes, a 20 min drive to Queenstown (nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown) and about a 15 min. drive to Arrowtown. The cottage contained a bedroom with a very comfortable queen size bed, sofa, tv, decent size bathroom with shower (no tub), large combination living area with sofa,coffee table, tv, stereo equip. and small fully equipped kitchen. I found the cottage to be very well equipped and also appreciated the eggs, milk and wonderful cookies that were provided by Lee and Jaap. Both Lee and Jaap were very welcoming and helpful in providing recommendations for the area. The cottage feels very private even though it is next door to the main house as it is separated by a large hedge. The wifi was somewhat spotty. I had better luck with it if I was sitting outside.
There is a small patio area outside the cottage, unfortunately we were unable to use it as it had spider webs and was quite dirty. Despite that, I would still highly recommend Tussock cottage.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpolisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone who loves nature. It is an idylic situation with a wonderful walk round the lake. Lee and Jaap are great hosts and we were really looked after. The accommodation was comfortable and clean with everything you need. We just wished we could have stayed longer.
Thanks very much Lee with love from Ross, Janet and Heather (from Scotland)
Sorry its taken me so long to get round to writing this! We are busy running a similar business and its taken a broken ankle for me to catch up!!
Hope to see you again Lee and Jaap. You are doing a fantastic job.

Date of stay: February 2009
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jennyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews