We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are all true”
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I spend between 75 and 100 days a year away from home, and I've stayed in some great hotels around the World. There is no experience that that I have had which matches staying in Azur.

Even though I chose Azur after reading the reviews, the experience still exceeded my expectations. Of course with views like we had from our verandah, Azur has a lot going for it, even before you consider the personal service from Gavin and Tania [ not forgetting Maria's cooking!] It isn't easy to strike a balance between being accessible without being intrusive, helpful without being obsequious.

But I feel that Azur's relaxed and friendly style really did make us feel as if their schedule revolved around us, rather than us having to fit in with routines that had more to do with their rosters than our priorities. I know this doesn't happen by chance, and it takes a lot of professionalism to achieve this. So the charm of Azur is not just the lovely villas, not even the unbelievable location or the peerless views.

It is all of the above, matched with world-class service and attention to detail that made us relax from the first evening, and thoroughly enjoy our all-too-brief stay at Azur.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onemoremoondance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 327 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

We decided to go on our honeymoon to Queenstown and looked for the best pace possible to stay. The Azur villa offered us absolute luxury in the most beautiful setting one could imagine.
Waking up to uninterrupted views of lake Wakatipu and the magnificent mountains was the perfect way to start the day. Azur feels like you in a secret hide away, yet you only a few minutes from the hub of Queenstown.
The accommodation is Faultless with super king beds, wonderful linen, spa bath, double basins, fire place, dining room, lounge etc, etc - it has it all. Each room with views as good as the next.

What made the trip extra special were the managers Gavin and Tanya who were simply amazing. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble whether it was in villa dining, being collected from town at 11pm or sharing their wealth of local knowledge of things to do and see. They really made our honeymoon special by going even more than the extra mile. Whether it be Tanya lending us her camera as we left ours at home, or Gavin loaning us his personal backpack to hike including his binoculars, mini camera tripod and Swiss army knife in the pack – they were fantastic.

I can HIGHYLY recommend Azur in every respect – my only regret is we did not stay longer.

Grant and Hannah

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny100976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

My spouse and I spent four luxurious days in Queenstown at Azur, and there wasn't a thing we would change! The villas are beautiful, well-appointed, and one would be hard-pressed to find a location with a more spectacular view and total privacy! The bed was heavenly with many soft pillows and a goose-down duvet. The bathroom was immaculately clean,with fragrant aromatherapy oils, heated floor tiles and towel rack, and the best hotel shower ever with a rainshower head. The products were amazing as well. We were able to use our ipod in the stereo and watch classic MGM films! The service was peerless, with rides to town on demand, fabulous breakfast with freshly-baked croissants and wild NZ salmon, canapes in the afternoon with delicious NZ wine, and the charming Elvis (Gavin's petit pooch!). Such a friendly staff! They arranged day trips for us, and all we had to do was enjoy our time in Queenstown. We will return with friends and family!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CutterLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Had 5 nights at Azur with weather as perfect as the property.
Basically nearly everything has already been said about Azur.
5+star from the airport pickup to the hugs as you leave....it really is that sort of place.
You get the feeling of being welcomed into someones' home.
Lovely rooms ,free bar fridge,beautiful bathrooms, his and hers' vanities, large separate shower with great pressure,separate toilet,out of this world views,spotless and blissfully quiet and peaceful.
Great breakfasts,wonderful cake and afternoon,wine and canapes pre-dinner-all for free.
Then there is the service...flawless and seamless delivered across all staff with genuine warmth and totally consistency and always with a smile and "you welcome".
Breakfast hours are rather flexible- till the last guest leaves.
You will be dropped anywhere in town and picked up within 5 minutes thus avoiding a parking problem.
The restaurant suggestions were great-Bella Cuicina,Wai,Solera Vino and Botswana were all very very good.
One night we had a meal in the villa.One of the staff duck into Queenstown and collect the meal for you and set up the table in the villa.... candles and all.. lovely..
Is it worth it?.If you value peace and quiet, cleanliness,genuine warmth,great hospitality,quiet luxury and fantastic views as we do then its priceless.
The only downside is that every travel experience from now on will be measured against Azur and we may experience some disappointments.
If you can possibly afford it GO.
A once in a lifetime experience for us
To Gavin ,Tania, Maria,Sharon,Sophie,Anna and Keiko a big thank you.And hi to Elvis.
Warmest regards.... David and Judith

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

If you want an unforgetable experience with low key luxury, the most incredible seamless service and the most spectacular scenery from every window then this is your place.
From the moment you arrive at the Airport your Azur experience begins. Every aspect of our stay was exceptional. Lazing in the bathtub with windows wide open to some of the most majestic scenery one could imagine. Breakfast prepared with such style and elegance to one's special request by Maria and Keiko. Wonderful afternoon teas with freshly baked tarts, to nightly canapes and fine wines. A car is unnecessary as Gavin, Tanya ,Sharon and Anna were always ready to whisk us off to wherever we wanted to go. This remarkable team arranged all our excursions and activities flawlessly. All that is left to say is we plan to visit Azur again and again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoustonTexasUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Azur and again this is one place where we would like to stay longer. Gavin collected us from the airport and gave us a tour of Queenstown before taking us to Azur. We loved everything about the place, perfect location, best breakfasts we had in New Zealand, and the free shuttle service made for a very relaxing break. Gavin, Tania and Maria run the place very efficiently and nothing was too much trouble. When we returned to collect our luggage the day after we checked out; (had a night out at Milford Sound) we where again treated to their wonderful hospitality and coffee or two! We look forward to returning again soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Ever wanted the luxury of a 5 star room with the personal service of a B&B? That's exactly what you'll get at the Azur. Every part of this stay exceeded our expectations. The room is incredible. The views are spectacular. We stayed in villa 4 which was nice and private, but I imagine that all of them are very private. We just didn't have anyone on our right side, just the gorgeous views. The room is so clean, comfortable, with every amenity you can and can't imagine! Floor heaters, de-misters on the bathroom mirrors, soft ground lighting you can switch on from your bed in case you need to get up in the middle of the night for a bathroom run but don't want to blind yourself turning all the lights on. Drinks and snacks in the room and minibar are all complementary. A previous reviewer was right -- they don't nickel and dime you here.
When we first arrived, we were sat in a living room of what was a house before. It was just beautiful, so modern. We were introduced to Maria who makes the most incredible cookies and banana nut bread. In fact, as we were given the tour and we passed the kitchen, I smelled the bread and they quickly offered to have it warmed and sent up to our room after we had our dinner! And they did just that, yum!
Breakfast was awesome -- we sat in their very modern dining room where breakfast was laid out. Then Maria came and asked if you'd like anything cooked -- anything you want! You just name it. I asked for scrambled eggs and chocolate chip pancakes. The best part is that they don't have an 'end time' for breakfast -- they let you come and go as you please and they know exactly when all of their guests have eaten or not (there are only a few villas here!). The fact that they have so few rooms really allows them to be extra extra attentive to all their guests.
Yes, this place is expensive but this is one of the few, if any, places that I would say is 110% worth it. You won't find a place like this anywhere -- I feel truly lucky to have been able to stay here. You will NOT be disapointed. If you are coming all the way to Queenstown for your vacation, make the most of what it has to offer and stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ChefUzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
263 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $937 - $1,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring the main lodge and nine identical 79sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing