We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT DREAMS ARE MADE OF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WHAT DREAMS ARE MADE OF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

What an absolutely amazing place to stay! As a couple with very high expectations, we were completely blown away by every aspect of Azur.

The service is impeccable, the scenery is divine and the bed is what dreams are made of. Breakfast at midday, cakes for afternoon tea and delightful canapes just make the views even more magical.

Our stay for seven nights was the highlight of our honeymoon, surpassing phase one which was spent in a villa in Thailand. Azur is truly original and totally without pretension.

Max is an amazing host who will do anything to accommodate his guests. He didn't even blink at our request to pick up burgers and deliver them straight to our villa - he even surprised us with hokey-pokey ice cream for dessert!

Tanya is quite possibly the most delightful host that we have ever encountered and will bend over backwards to make you feel relaxed, indulged and a million miles from reality.

Their advice on restaurants, wine and massages was spot on and ensured that every day was pure indulgence.

We can't wait to stay at Azur for our first anniversary. It was such an amazing hotel that it now holds a special place in our luxury-travel hearts.

  • Liked — Original luxury without pretension
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
226
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Staying at Azur is a luxurious experience. The villas are modern and architectural. Service is impeccable -- both warm and accommodating. Breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapes were all delightful. The setting is unbelievable, overlooking the lake from atop. A truly memorable experience!

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — No internet access from the villa
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoycePeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

Having stayed at upscale hotels around the world, I have to say that Azur Lodge is amongst the best! Great location and very nice bungalows with one of the best views in the world. Gavin and team made every part of stay very enjoyable. From picking us up at the airport, to recommending all of our excursion-they were fantastic. If you are looking for upscale privacy don't even think about staying anywhere else in Queenstown!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

The only thing that equals the beauty of Queenstown is a stay at Azur. From the moment you arrive you feel like you are at home with close family attending to your every need. The rooms are incredibly appointed with every luxury possible, from the heated floors to the rain shower. When we woke up on our first morning we opened the blind to find a pristine lake with towering snow capped mountains above. Sitting on the deck with a morning coffee felt like being in heaven. The staff are prepared to cater to every need, homemade breakfast to order, excursions, restaurant reservations, amazing local wines or even private in room dining. While there is always someone to pamper you, the property is remarkably quiet and private. The only danger that lurks is "Elvis" the GM's small terrier whom sometimes seeks a lick. After 3 weeks travelling we finished up our time with 5 days at Azur. We could not have picked a more perfect spot to end our amazing vacation. They say you get what you pay for, in Azurs's case the memories and the stay are worth every penny.

  • Liked — Luxury villa style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank waterskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

We had read the reviews and were expecting to be impressed, but standing in your villa, surveying the rooms and then the stunning views of the mountains and lake, you really have to say to yourself, "this is amazing."

I can only repeat what has been said in so many other reviews. Staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast, cooked by Maria, was delicious. Pre-dinner canapes and wine were excellent. The steep hill leading to most of the villas is manageable, but ,as others have said, they will take by you golf cart if you desire. Add to everything the friendly transport to and from town and there is nothing to improve!

The comfortable rooms have a huge bed, nice sofa with fireplace nearby, large flat screen TV that can be viewed from either the bed or the living area. The bathroom has heated floors for those cool mornings. Complimentary drinks and snacks (except for the liquor.)

Dinner recommendations were great and we were happy to not have to worry about parking or driving back after a few drinks. We were given an Azur business card and just gave the card to our server to call for our ride.

We got our booking on a website, so didn't pay the rack rate, but it was still very pricey. Have to say it was worth it big time.

  • Liked — The views and the staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank makeatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

My partner and I celebrated our 10th anniversary with a weekend in Queenstown staying at Azur. As it was a special event we wanted somewhere special and luxurious and we were not disappointed.

I discovered Azur on TripAdvisor and the glowing reviews set very high expectations. Not having been to this part of NZ before and only seeing pictures of Azur in Summer did make me a little nervous, but I called before booking to ask a few questions. This was the first of the wonderful interactions and service that we received from Gavin and his team. From the pictures I'm posting you'll see that Azur is just as beautiful in Winter.

The staff at Azur are genuinely hospitable and really know how to make you feel welcome, and their recommendations for dining and activities were spot on. The canapes and breakfast served in the lodge were also excellent and we were able to have these in our villa as well.

We stayed in Villa 1 which was the closest to the main lodge. There were two benefits from this. Firstly it was especially good for getting out for meals considering the freezing temperatures outside for getting up (but it was warm and toasty inside). Secondly we were told it was the only villa to support internet access as the wi-fi from the lodge reached it (and we can't survive when disconnected).

I hope this won't be our only stay at Azur, and we won't wait for another special occasion to stay there ... although I recommend it as the PERFECT special occasion accommodation.

  • Liked — Stylish, luxurious and great service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank enjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Having just stayed at Huka Lodge in Taupo the few nights before, Azur faced some pretty stiff competition to impress us. But impress us it did. The views are breathtaking and the accommodation has everything that you need, but it is the friendliness of the staff and their can do attitude that makes Azur stand out. In fact, it is almost more like staying with a family than at a hotel (but with none of the intrusion a family might pose to a honeymooning couple!). Being able to ask to be dropped off and picked up in town at any time was almost like being a teenager again with Mum and Dad on constant standby. The food was superb (excellent canapes and a great breakfast menu of "whatever you ask for!). Elvis the friendly dog added the crowning touch. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Property: Azur
Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a more perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring a main lodge and nine identical 90sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith and Despegar.com so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing