We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our All-Time Favorite”
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our All-Time Favorite”
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Wow! Where to begin? Azur is simply amazing. The location is incredible, the rooms are spectacular and the staff/service is even better! Maria does a great job of cooking great breakfasts for you and arranging any activities you want to do. She gave great recommendations on everything. The night staff is wonderful too - they canapes were amazing all four nights we were there and then they will drive you to dinner afterwards and pick you up (quite convinient!). One night, we felt like staying.....they will go get your dinner from whichever restaurant you want and bring it back and set it up in your room for you. Amazing! The room was so nice you may, in fact, never want to leave although Queenstown is a cool place. The heated floors were to-die-for and the views were so great. You cannot help but feel relaxed at Azur. This is the nicest place we have stayed and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Service, location - everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RCRGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
228
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

What a place. If you like luxury without all the snooty-ness stay here. This place was amazing. The lodge itself was amazing. The people bent over backwards to make our honeymoon extra speacial. They will get dinner for you and set it up, bring you DVD's, or just make appetizers and wine and bring it over to your villa....The main lodge is amazing and so are the villa's. Only thing I would avoid is doing the Jet Boat Dart River canoing...the restaurants were ok (Wai wasn't that good that they recommended). Overall the greatest place my wife and I have stayed, and we've been all over from South Africa, Europe, Asia, etc. If you plan on staying here, they do negotiate prices if you contact them directly....

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BKbroiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Azur is not a hotel – it seems more like someone’s hobby. The feel you get is that it is not out to take money off you but to make you feel like a guest in a country house. They make it easy to forget that the rack rate is US $1200 a night.

Azur has a maximum of 18 guests. They are housed in a collection of nine separate “huts” ,each containing one double bedroom bath etc.. All extremely private and built into the top of a hill side overlooking Lake Wakatipu. There is also a small clubhouse with lounge and small dining room at the top of the complex. This is used for the communal breakfast , tea and pre dinner drinks.

The lake , surrounded by mountains, is beautiful and the views from the hut’s large windows and balconies are unbelievable on a fine day. The peace is unending

The hut , at 90 square metres ,is as large as most two bedroomed apartments in central London. .It is beautifully designed .The lounge area has a fireplace, two three seat sofas, a dining table with chairs for two, as well as a super king size bed. In the bathroom, which has space and lights enough for a small disco party, there is a large jucuzzi bath overlooking the lake, separate shower and wc , two hand basins and enough scented oils and soaps to push your luggage weight well over the limit.. In the hall area is a small kitchen are with fridge and coffee maker etc.

No expense has been spared anywhere. Everything is top quality. The sheets are three hundred thread count Egyptian cotton and you could happily spend all day wrapped up in the bath towels .

You pay one price, which is heavy, -and then everything is included. Breakfast with made to measure eggs, , afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks and canapés, the mini bar in your room and transport to and from downtown is all gratis and for nothing..

The staff are young friendly and know their Queenstown.

So is it all really worth the price?

The huts are built on a hillside. If you are in the bottom row, it’s a good tough climb to the clubhouse and parking at the top. Even if you are in the top row, the walk up will still get your heart beating well. But the staff will come down and pick you up in the golf buggy if you so desire.

There is no restaurant but you can order from a local restaurant. This we tried one night and I would advise against if you see food as anything else but filler. The facilities are nil; no pool, no spa, no gym and all the rest. The security is laughable. The front gates to the complex don’t close and no keys are given to your hut, unless you specifically ask ..I don’t think there is any one on night duty either.

The huts are splendidly isolated . No one can see into the room or the balcony. Ideal for loners. Yet all the meals and drinks are taken communally –exactly what loners would hate.

The view is great- providing the weather is good.

It is a 10 minute car drive from Queenstown with no shops restaurants or anything within easy walking distance.

Stay in town if you must but beware all the downtown hotels make their living from the coach tour masses.

If what you want is peace ,quiet , serenity and style; stay at Azur.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank roger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Comparison: We looked into five luxury hotels in Queenstown: Spire, Eichardt’s Private, Sofitel, Blanket Bay, and Azur. We narrowed down to Azur for the below reasons: Spire and Sofitel doesn’t have good unobstructed lake view and you can’t go to Queenstown and miss the lake view. Eichardt’s Private is on the waterfront, not private or relaxing as the area is full of tourists. Blanket Bay is too remote, located in Glenorchy, a sleepy town that has nothing to offer and is about an hour from Queenstown.

Azur is our favorite hotels in New Zealand (compared to Grasmere, Solitaire, and Mollies). The picturesque lake with a mountain backdrop was splendid. The staffs were the most dedicated and competent we’ve came across in the world. They would do anything to make you a pleasant stay. My family on a later flight was re-routed to Invercargill, Gavin, the manager, and the Japanese staff (whose name I don’t know how to spell), made multiple calls to keep me updated and let me make numerous international phone calls for free. Maria, the breakfast/pastry chef, cooked porridge, something she never made, for my family for breakfast. Hotel provided complementary transportation, a very nice touch that made the secluded location not so remote. On the night you don’t want to go out for dinner, they would help you order take-out food, bring it to the villa, set up beautifully in the outdoor terrace and provide you with wine, all are complementary. Azur doesn’t nickel and dime you. Mini-bar in the room and all alcohol and spirit in the public bar area are free.

Another interesting note, the staffs are very diverse and well-traveled. Gavin was from England, Maria (the chef) was from Indonesia but was trained in France or Switzerland, Jennifer just finished a 7-weeks around-the-world tour, and the staff in charge of the evening shift was from Japan.

Room: Beautiful and spacious, around 900sqf. View is awe-inspiring. Even though all villas are the same, my favorite villas are #5 and #9, on the eastern edge that have the least unobstructed view. Room has heated floor and heated towel rack.

Location: Five minutes drive to the town area. But the complementary transport eliminated the need for taxi or a car.

Conclusion: Many thanks to all the staffs to make our stay a memorable one. We will return in a heartbeat.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank MindWideOpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

We were lucky enough to stay at Azur for the frst week of our Honeymoon. Words cannot express the fabulous time we had at Azur. Everything from the view, the rooms to the wondeful team at Azur was perfect.

Azur is a 10 minute drive from Queestown and the team at Azur is happy
to take you whereever needed. The Rooms are amazing. The Villa we were
in had an unobstructed view of the lake and complete privacy. The beds
were just want we needed and the baths, shower and tubs was like being
at the spa. More importantly the experience Azur provides is priceless. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything need to have a great trip. Gavin went out of his to help us plan our daily excursions and Maria welcomed us every morning and was always there to answer any questions.

We would recommend Azur to anyone visiting Queenstown...it is worth it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScottsdaleMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fullerton,ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

We spent three nights with the amazingly discreet and very attentive staff of the Azur. In every possible way they exceeded our expectations. Everything about the Azur was special. The amazing views, dedicated staff, beautifully appointed rooms and the remarkable bathtubs! Let me again mention the extraordinarily amazing view because the privacy of each villa is situated for optimum oggling of the breathtaking scenery. We have been to Queenstown and New Zealand many times and this is our favorite place that we have ever stayed! We will definately return.

  • Liked — Outstanding service
  • Disliked — Not one thing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clevergirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

We were at Azur for three nights, and we wished we could have stayed for much longer. It was unbelievable!!!! The villas are amazing! The views are incredible. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we were happy at all times. You will remember your stay at Azur for the rest of your life!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank THarpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Property: Azur
Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a more perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring a main lodge and nine identical 90sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing