We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping with the Lord of the Rings...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sleeping with the Lord of the Rings...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

In February, 2013, my wife and i stayed at Azur Lodge. We swear by Andrew Harper travel, on any continent, and when they suggested Azur Lodge, we said, fine, book it.

I remember watching the Super Bowl, having breakfast in our suite on a high floor overlooking Hong Kong. For years i thought the MO was the best ever. Full stop. Azur Lodge beats it...but then there is no comparison. Different? Yes, but both 5 stars for incomparable facilities and service. Yes, in the spectacular views.

We walked into Queenstown for dinner (couple miles). But, on way back, called them from the hiking trail and said, please come pick us up. they picked us up 5 minutes later. That was four nights in a row.

Queenstown is the jumping off point for Lord of the Rings scenic tours. We took one of the tours and recommend it highly. But, all one really needs to do is look out the floor to ceiling walls of glass, or sit on the deck outside, and the Remarkables (a row of incredible mountains) are right in one's face. They are a major feature of LOTR. Right there at Azur.

There are only 9 exactly alike villas. Hasten to this place.

Room Tip: all nine villas are exactly alike and have the same views of the mountains and lake.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
227
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

As a former travel agent and somebody who has travelled extensively, I can say that Azur Lodge is one of the finest hotels in the world.
The view from our free standing unit was breath taking; the service top notch and
friendly; the baked goods by Maria memorable.
The complimentary drop off and pick up in Queenstown only 10 minutes away is a wonderful
service.
It is difficult to understand why many other deluxe hotels in New Zealand charge twice
as much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burtrossrealty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Not having been to Queenstown before, we could not have envisioned the frenetic, tourist oriented town it is. Certainly remarkable scenery, true to the name of the nearby mountains, and the beauty is absolutely jaw dropping. But the city/adventure scene can be a little much. Likewise, in town accommodation options are not so great, unless that's what you are looking for.

Happily, Azur is a short 3 km from the heart of downtown, a doable walk home along a beautiful waterfront trail, followed by an incline, but you may not want to leave. The facilities, the rooms, the architecture, the amenities are absolutely superb, at the highest level we experienced anywhere on our trip (here or elsewhere).

Each of nine rooms are uniquely secluded, situated with living, sleeping, separate bath closet areas etc. Short walk up to the main lodge where an à la cart, whatever you would like breakfast is here, in addition evening drinks and canapés. Do take advantage of the I room dining option one night.

My wife and I have sometimes found that places of exceptional architectural appeal can want for the human touch. Not so at the Azur. Here, the personal service and the what can we do for you attitude prevailed morning noon and night, accommodating every request with a smile. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SLCtraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 2.5 weeks in South Island New Zealand and stayed at various lodges and retreats. Azur Lodge is one of the top ones overall that we would be more than happy to recommend any travellers visiting Queenstown. There are only handful of rooms at Azur Lodge so you can ensure that your needs can always be taken care and cared for. Each room has a full range of the views of the lake and each day we were greeted by the amazing sun rise and the romantic sunset. We stayed total 3 days in Azur Lodge and each day we did various activities in and around Queenstown. We rent car so taken care of our own mid-longer term distance travel in Queenstown, but if we want to just take a short stroll in the city center, Azur Lodge staffs would always be happy to drive us to the city center (about 8 mins) or to pick us up. We visited during the busy X'mas season but never felt the lodge was overly occupied, and we always felt a lot of privacy during our stays. Highly recommend this lodge for the services, location, views, and the food (daily canapese provided before the dinner!)

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk up and down the hills everyday to reach to your room, you could request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say, this place is simply perfect! We stayed here for one night before we left NZ and we had an amazing time. The villas are all self contained and you have lots of privacy, we arrived to complimentary wine and roses and a stash of complimentary goodies in the fridge.

The staff were friendly and informal but ready to help and grab anything you wanted/needed. Breakfast was included and there was no menu, you basically just asked and they fixed whatever you wanted up for you there and then. Plus a continental buffet breakfast.

The guys here went out of their way to help and respected your privacy, they were there when you needed, and not when you didn't!

The villas themselves are very well furnished with a bunch of gadgets for lighting, heated flooring, heated mirrors etc, and had probably the best shower I've been in!

Would highly recommend this place if your looking for a treat :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berrydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Do not hesitate to make a reservation at Azur it is best described as heaven.

The accommodation is "8" Star and located in personal chalets with uninterrupted views over the lake.

All the accommodation is peacful and private - you can even have a bath while admiring the view.

There are no "do not disturb notices" to hang on your door but there is a novel "do not disturb toy dog! to place outside your door if you really want to be left alone.

Breakfast is a feast. Dinner can be provided in your Chalet from local resturants for that intimate dinner" at home"

If dining in your room complimentart pre dinner drinks are available at the main social areas.

Azur is situated out of town but the staff willingly provide a complimentary taxi service to and from local restaurants. No worries about drunk driving!

Room Tip: They are all awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The azur is a beautiful small resort, with stunning views. It feels like you are staying with close family. The clubhouse views are simply breathtaking. We had villa number 1 which offered I suspect the best view and was really amazing. The villas were extremely comfortable, lovely sitting area, and really fantastic bathroom. The beds were OK.

Breakfast was great, served in the small dining area in the clubhouse, although you can opt for in room breakfast if you want privacy, as you do end up sharing your table with strangers otherwise. We found this a bit intrusive and so definitely opt for in room breakfast if you like privacy.

They serve fantastic canapes and drinks every evening and cake baked by Maria which was beyond sublime. The team there treated us like Royalty and genuine in their willingness to offer you the perfect break.

It is of course very expensive, and we stayed again in Queenstown elsewhere later on in our trip when we returned unplanned, which was excellent vfm. Clearly the two hotels cannot be compared, as the Azur offers a near bespoke, luxury retreat experience and that is what you are paying for.

We would recommend strongly for a few days to taste this luxury, or as long as you can stay, if budget is not an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelDoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Property: Azur
Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a more perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring a main lodge and nine identical 90sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing