We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in New Zealand, wonderful staffs and breathtaking view”
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Comparison: We looked into five luxury hotels in Queenstown: Spire, Eichardt’s Private, Sofitel, Blanket Bay, and Azur. We narrowed down to Azur for the below reasons: Spire and Sofitel doesn’t have good unobstructed lake view and you can’t go to Queenstown and miss the lake view. Eichardt’s Private is on the waterfront, not private or relaxing as the area is full of tourists. Blanket Bay is too remote, located in Glenorchy, a sleepy town that has nothing to offer and is about an hour from Queenstown.

Azur is our favorite hotels in New Zealand (compared to Grasmere, Solitaire, and Mollies). The picturesque lake with a mountain backdrop was splendid. The staffs were the most dedicated and competent we’ve came across in the world. They would do anything to make you a pleasant stay. My family on a later flight was re-routed to Invercargill, Gavin, the manager, and the Japanese staff (whose name I don’t know how to spell), made multiple calls to keep me updated and let me make numerous international phone calls for free. Maria, the breakfast/pastry chef, cooked porridge, something she never made, for my family for breakfast. Hotel provided complementary transportation, a very nice touch that made the secluded location not so remote. On the night you don’t want to go out for dinner, they would help you order take-out food, bring it to the villa, set up beautifully in the outdoor terrace and provide you with wine, all are complementary. Azur doesn’t nickel and dime you. Mini-bar in the room and all alcohol and spirit in the public bar area are free.

Another interesting note, the staffs are very diverse and well-traveled. Gavin was from England, Maria (the chef) was from Indonesia but was trained in France or Switzerland, Jennifer just finished a 7-weeks around-the-world tour, and the staff in charge of the evening shift was from Japan.

Room: Beautiful and spacious, around 900sqf. View is awe-inspiring. Even though all villas are the same, my favorite villas are #5 and #9, on the eastern edge that have the least unobstructed view. Room has heated floor and heated towel rack.

Location: Five minutes drive to the town area. But the complementary transport eliminated the need for taxi or a car.

Conclusion: Many thanks to all the staffs to make our stay a memorable one. We will return in a heartbeat.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank MindWideOpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 325 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2008

We were lucky enough to stay at Azur for the frst week of our Honeymoon. Words cannot express the fabulous time we had at Azur. Everything from the view, the rooms to the wondeful team at Azur was perfect.

Azur is a 10 minute drive from Queestown and the team at Azur is happy
to take you whereever needed. The Rooms are amazing. The Villa we were
in had an unobstructed view of the lake and complete privacy. The beds
were just want we needed and the baths, shower and tubs was like being
at the spa. More importantly the experience Azur provides is priceless. They go out of their way to make sure you have everything need to have a great trip. Gavin went out of his to help us plan our daily excursions and Maria welcomed us every morning and was always there to answer any questions.

We would recommend Azur to anyone visiting Queenstown...it is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ScottsdaleMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

We spent three nights with the amazingly discreet and very attentive staff of the Azur. In every possible way they exceeded our expectations. Everything about the Azur was special. The amazing views, dedicated staff, beautifully appointed rooms and the remarkable bathtubs! Let me again mention the extraordinarily amazing view because the privacy of each villa is situated for optimum oggling of the breathtaking scenery. We have been to Queenstown and New Zealand many times and this is our favorite place that we have ever stayed! We will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank clevergirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

We were at Azur for three nights, and we wished we could have stayed for much longer. It was unbelievable!!!! The villas are amazing! The views are incredible. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we were happy at all times. You will remember your stay at Azur for the rest of your life!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank THarpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Wow – we can't say enough about this hotel. We went in May – the beginning of Fall. We had gorgeous weather – not too hot during the day and a nice chill at night. The hotel is located on top of a small mountain overlooking Lake Wakatipu. Joanne, the owner, and all of her staff were incredible, making us feel at home and catering to our every need. We stayed in room #1 and absolutely loved it. The whole place is fairly new. The room decor is beautiful - all modern and clean. The bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a large shower and nice tile. The sinks and faucets were all new and trendy. The floors were heated which made it so nice to walk on. The view from all rooms was awesome. The whole front of the room is windows, with a large deck and chairs overlooking the lake and its beautiful mountains. One night it snowed on the mountains and the view was even more breathtaking. Every morning we awoke to a custom made breakfast – whatever we wanted. The fruit was so fresh. They don’t serve lunch or dinner, but it was not a problem whatsoever as Queenstown is just down the road with a slew of restaurants. The hotel dropped us off and picked us up wherever we needed to go. We ordered take in dinner one night and just relaxed by the fireplace looking at the lake. They arranged for us to take a helicoptor ride over the mountains, down to Milford Sound and then landing on a glacier. It was beautiful. They also arranged a winery tour of the Otago wine region. We would say without hestitation that we would definitely go back to Azur. The scenery, the staff and the room accomodations are certainly worth it!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maverickinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Azur represents all things wonderful with the world. A slice of heaven here on earth that is difficult to imagine unless you have experienced it. The location is out of this world, not that convenient to the centre of town, but who cares when you have the best views from every aspect of your villa (including the sumptuos spa bath) and a free ride to and from town whenever you want it. The whole place has an understated chic elegance about it that hits the perfect balance between luxurious and casual. The level of attention from staff is the same, not too much, not too little, just right for allowing you your own space when you need it but their ever helpful advice and assistance when you want it.

The treats out of the integrated kitchen are some of the most delectable you'll ever taste, the lodge a wonderful place to socialise and meet other guests or check up on email (or reviews on skis as we did) and, if you fancy dinner from the best restaurant in Queenstown, VKNOW provides the room service The food was so good that we just had to visit the restaurant itself and ended up doing so twice during our 5 night stay. So, if you go to Azur or anywhere in Queenstown do yourself a favour and discover VKNOW, it's 5 minutes up the road from the centre of town. We dined at a few of the other better known restaurants but found nothing that hit the spot as well as VKNOW. If you like good food, good wine and good company, without any pretence there really isn't anywhere else I would recommend more highly. And, if you go, you must try a Yukkie for desert. The best chocolate I have ever tasted and the perfect end to a perfect meal.

So, in case it isn't obvious, we had a wonderful time. It was very hard to leave but we've got the memories and the photos to keep. It's a real treat and one you should give yourselves if you possibly can. You won't be disappointed.

Thank you to Joanne and her team. This break was just what we needed. Now all I need to do is work out how to extend our house to recreate the Azur villa and I can live the memory everyday. Excuse me while I start designing the plans :-)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Azur markets itself as a "resort" but it is really more like a very high-end bed and breakfast. With that said it is like no other B&B you will ever experience. The rates there were well above what most of the other hotels in Queenstown were charging. But after a four day stay at Azur I can say confidently that it was a good value for the extra money spent.

Azur is located just outside of Queenstown on a hillside with breathtaking views of Lake Wakapitu and the mountains. You enter the resort through a nondescript residential neighborhood but it is somewhat private given that it is tucked into a hillside beyond the neighborhood. The main "lodge" is at the top of the property. It contains the office and main reception area, an open kitchen, a dining room, a smaller den with a fireplace, library and internet access, and an outdoor deck area with another fireplace and a small landscaped yard. All windows on the property are well-oriented to take advantage of the stunning views.

We were placed in the lowest villa on the hillside that was at the very bottom of the property. There are only nine villas in all so it was usually very quiet and private, often feeling like you are the only guests there. We most saw other guests during canapes before dinner and at breakfast but it never felt crowded and we never had to wait for anything. The layout of the lodge permits privacy when others are around. But the other guests were all so friendly that we found we got to know the two or three other couples. We also came to know the staff so well that whenever we encountered them it was like seeing friends.

The villas were spacious and comfortable. The attention to detail by the architects and designers really shows. The beds and furniture were comfortable. The glass railings on the decks permitted unobstructed views whilst outside. Radiant heating in the floor tiles (in the entry and bathroom) was comfortable under bare feet. There was a huge shower with high-end German fixtures and a rainfall shower-head (excellent pressure), a separate toilet area, and a spacious bathroom with double sinks and a whirlpool tub. Bathroom lighting was excellent and there was a hairdryer, heated anti-fog mirrors, heated towel racks and plush robes. The bath products were by New Zealand's "Living Nature" company. The bathroom windows folded out and slid open completely. There are not even screens in the windows to obstruct the views. Surprisingly we never had a problem with insects flying in. In addition to ample lighted closet space and luggage racks, there was a wet bar with an electric kettle and french press and a mini fridge stocked with water, soda and juices. They also left us spiced almonds, biscotti and bars of chocolate. Everything was included (and replenished as used) except large bottles of liquor offered for sale. There was a stereo, CD player, DVD player and flat panel television in our villa but we didn't turn them on once. A vaulted wooden ceiling (with planks richly textured with grain and wormholes) and other touches of wood provided warm colors and a pleasing texture. As the nights could be chilly at the end of their summer we frequently used the gas fireplace in the villa.

Azur is a few miles out of Queenstown proper but they were very efficient at ferrying us to and from town in the Land Cruisers. There never seemed to be huge crowds of staff standing around. But remarkably someone was always available when we called. We never had to wait very long for anything. All of the staff was excellent: Gavin, Toni, Melissa (our favorite staff-member), Lucy, Helen, Sam, Rob and the owner Joanne. Everyone was always extremely friendly, efficient, professional and yet honest, open and not plastic. It is difficult to successfully pull off this level of service without ever being obsequious or obtrusive. But the absolutely top-class staff at Azur never disappointed us.

Their concierge skills were excellent too. Though we made our reservations at Azur at the very last minute, they we were still able to arrange for an airport pickup with ease. They were able to make reservations for us at all of the best restaurants in town. They also arranged many of our activities while we were there, including an Otago Valley wine tasting, a day tour to Glenarchy which included lunch, a rain-forest hike, and a jet boat tour of the Dart River, and (our favorite by far) a two hour helicopter tour out to Milford Sound, with landings at the Sound, on a beach along the Tasman Sea and on a glacier at 9,000 feet.

As we are major foodies, we were not disappointed with what was served at Azur. Though they do not have a full restaurant on the property, they manage much with their well-equipped open kitchen. At breakfast they would have a spread of muesli, yogurt, fruit juices, fresh fruit salad, freshly baked croissant and bagels, and smoked salmon with cream cheese and capers. They made coffee and espresso to order and it was surprisingly good (this coming from someone who lives in Seattle). They would make cooked breakfast to order. They did a good job with eggs and sausage. The last morning I ordered pancakes and it arrived at the table artfully plated with a delicious compote of local berries. Though the cakes themselves were more rubbery than tender, I could tell they mixed them up from scratch on the fly. Prior to going out to dinner each evening we'd pop in to the lodge for cocktails and canapés. Every night they brought out our own plate of delicious, inventive things. The simple, fresh breakfast far was always good but food-wise, this is where they really excelled. The little snacks were often served in ceramic wonton soup spoons. Some of the canapés we had included: pistachio pesto on a toasted crostini, seared venison, mini greek salads, grilled prawns in garlic aioli, double cream brie with figs, etc. Consistently impressive. They were also game to share the recipes. One of the other great things about Azur was that the staff was free to use their few extra minutes of downtime cooking up their favorite recipes. So there was always a plate of something freshly baked sitting on the counter in the open kitchen, whether it was Lucy's tea cakes or Helen's Brazilian cheese breads. On the last night at Azur we ordered in from the restaurant close to the resort. The staff brought the food to our villa and set the table for us as if we were in the restaurant, even keeping out meals hot in a warming box on the back of one of their golf carts.

We didn't many special requests though they did generously take care of our laundry for us. We had been on a long trip and inquired if there was a laundry facility beyond the usual hotel laundry per-item send-out service that was offered ($12 per shirt at $20 per pair of jeans adds up). Melissa and Gavin told us to bring up our big bag of laundry and that they would throw it in their large industrial washer. They took care of the whole thing for us, even folding everything, and didn't charge us a dime. That was way above and beyond the call of duty and was just another incidence of the staff at Azur exceeding our expectations.

I would love to say that Azur was absolutely A+ perfect and it almost was. In fact, I can say confidently as an experienced luxe traveler that our stay at Azur was among the very best in the world. But there were a few very minor issues that kept the experience from being perfect. NOISE: The proximity of our villa to the local neighborhood meant that a loud party (with pounding music until the wee hours) kept us up until 2 am the first night we were there. After a few hours of trying to ignore it we called the lodge and the owner dispatched the police. She said it was the first noise complaint she had in five years of operation and, other than some intermittent barking dogs, the rest of our stay was very quiet. Also, the mini fridge in our room was loud and could have used some kind of enclosure. CLEANING: The toilet had not been cleaned properly upon our arrival as there was evidence of the prior guests. There were also lots of cobwebs around many of the windows and around the deck area outside. Though it was great to fully open the bathroom windows over the tub, the window tracks were full of cobwebs, dirt and debris. I took a wet washcloth and took care of these things myself just after check-in. Otherwise, the place was meticulously kept. INTERNET: A Windows PC with broadband Internet service was available free of charge in the lodge. The resort had free wireless broadband but I was barely able to get a connection with my Apple laptop due to very weak signals. Apparently the metal roofs of the villas thwart the signals. Additional wireless coverage on the property needs improvement. An iPod connector or even a mini-input cable to the in-room stereo system would have been a nice touch. TOURS: The tour companies that Azur recommended for us were all top-drawer, though at $100NZ per person we found the four stop wine tour to be a little lacking in value. If we had been brave enough to drive on the left side of the road, as some other guests were, we probably would have enjoyed ourselves more. SWITCHES: The villa had enough lights to suit every mood but there were switches absolutely everywhere and we could never figure out which switch controlled what light. A NASA scientist would have trouble figuring out how to turn on one of the two exhaust fans in the bathroom. GOLF CARTS: The hillside upon which Azur is built is steep. The staff will gladly ferry you up and down the hill in their golf carts though, after a golf cart conked out on us halfway up the hill because of a problem with batteries, we decided to walk up and down ourselves during the remainder of our stay. I was told they remedied the problem and in light of how well we were eating our decision to walk was a good one. RECYCLING: We were disappointed that there seemed to be no recycling bins on the property. I'm not sure if Queenstown does not recycle or if Azur is just not transparent about it.

Azur has been singled out as one of Travel and Leisure's (or is it Condé Nast Traveler?) top 130 hotels and is one of only two hotels in the entire country of New Zealand to appear on the list. After four days there we can understand why. If you have the means to stay at Azur and you are going to Queenstown, you will be doing yourself a disservice to stay elsewhere. The larger problem will be that you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank cjboffoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 59 in Queenstown
262 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $935 - $1,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring the main lodge and nine identical 79sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing