We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had such a lovely week at Azur. The location, comfort of the villas, helpfulness of the staff and the beautiful views meant we were very tempted to stay inside the whole time! Great that you could have breakfast or dinner from a local restaurant set up for you in the villa. Loved relaxing in the bath with the windows open, just make sure you find out bus times to the Remarkables as we missed the last one due to our extreme laziness!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

When I was randomly searching around for places to stay on our honeymoon, I came across a photo of what was later discovered to be the interior of one of Azur's 9 villas (showing the incredible panoramic view of the lake and mountains) on a website and knew right away that I absolutely HAD to be there, no matter where "there" turned out to be! Azur is by far the most stunning and memorable places we have ever stayed at, and I'm saying this after just having returned from one of the nicest resorts in Bora Bora! Of course there are places all over the world that are amazingly beautiful and breathtaking, but there was something about Azur that really left an impression on me, and I will never forget it.

After a 13-hour plane flight from LAX to Auckland and another 2-hour flight from Auckland to Queenstown, it was very refreshing to see Tania--Azur's concierge and all-around superwoman--holding up a sign with our names on it, waiting at the airport exit for us. She was immediately very warm and welcoming and drove us from the airport to the lodge, which was only about 15 minutes away. The drive included a quick tour of the charming little town of Queenstown with some great recommendations for places to eat and visit. When we arrived at the lodge, we were given a tour of our villa (#4, which was awesome and not too far down the steep hill that the villas are perched on). The interior of the villa was incredible--I could never get bored of that amazing view of the mountains and lake that you can see from the floor-to-ceiling windows, as well as the hot tub in the bathroom with its own huge window that opens straight out into gorgeous mother nature... my jaw just dropped to the ground.

The little details at Azur make all the difference--heated floor tiles, heated towel bars, homemade breakfast made to order and afternoon tea made from scratch.... unfortunately we were never around at the time of the pre-dinner drinks and canapé hour, but I'm sure that would've been delicious as well. Two days of our stay involved very early morning excursions that would take us away from the villa before they officially started cooking breakfast, but the staff arranged everything for us the night before. They would take our breakfast order in the evening and then deliver it in a cute little picnic basket the same night, ready for eating the following morning since there was a toaster oven in the villa. This was a really nice touch that was greatly appreciated since it alleviated the worry of scrounging for something to eat before taking off on the long journey to Milford Sound. There was also a coffee press, tea kettle, and mini fridge stocked with plenty of liquids to keep anyone happy.

I was also amazed by the cleaning staff... I swear they were like room servicing ninjas--they always knew when we were out and anticipated when we would be back so that we would always come back to an immaculately clean room with the fireplace turned on and the thermostat adjusted to a nice cozy temperature. They would even turn the heated towel bars back on after I turned them off to try to save a bit of energy :) They also took time to notice that my husband and I really liked brewing coffee in the room so they made the effort to replenish more coffee than we originally started with. The in villa dining option that all the other reviews mentioned was also great--they will take your order (from a book of menus in your room for you to peruse through) and deliver it to your room whenever you want, and they'll set up the meal on china plates and placemats, complete with candles too! It really is all these little details that make Azur a truly magical place--they really do know how to go above and beyond for their guests.

Included wi-fi in the rooms is also a huge bonus ($30 per day in Bora Bora, really?). Some luxury resorts try to price gouge you by charging extra for everything under the sun but not this place.... at Azur you really feel like you are getting great value for your money, and the higher price tag here is well worth it. Amazing villas, great secluded location that's only a few minutes away from town, unforgettable views, scrumptious homemade food, unbelievably attentive (but not pushy or fussy) service, and a casual, friendly, home-away-from-home (yet luxurious) atmosphere.... Azur could not be more perfectly balanced. They have mastered their craft and I'm sure they will only keep getting better. There really is something special about this place that sets it apart from other accommodations in its class. Even after beautiful Bora Bora, we found ourselves still missing Azur. I will keep looking forward to the day we can go back.

Thank you so much to Tania, Gavin, Keiko, Lana, Maria, Danielle, and the rest of the Azur staff we didn't get to meet.... you are all amazing! Top-notch property. We loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CC0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We made a trip from summer in the northern hemisphere to winter in New Zealand and spent a week at Azur. A long stay in one place by some standards, but we enjoyed every minute of our time at this understated and elegant hotel. Situated close but comfortably away from town, "rooms" are individual villas, elegantly appointed, with views of seemingly daily SPECTACULAR sunrises. Breakfast, served in the main house and made to order, was delicious, as was tea time and canape hour later in the day. We always made it back in time to sample the daily tea treat and/or the canapes of the day We felt completely at home and pampered by the wonderful staff who were always on hand to order in dinner (a very nice option), recommend a winery to visit, make reservations and suggest destinations. There were no negatives, except having to go home!

Room Tip: Every villa seems to have the same, private, spectacular view and is appointed in the same way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wonderful location, great suite, wonderful breakfasts and afternoon tea and pastries. Queenstown downtown is just down the road and the hosts will go and pick up dinner for you at any one of several carefully selected restaurants, bring it back to your room, serve it up on fine china and then leave you in peace to enjoy the spectacular views from your deck across the lake. After overdosing on eating out at restaurants, this was greatly appreciated and very much enjoyed. Loved this place and would definitely go back and stay longer. Very luxurious but without being fussy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roobarb_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Serene settings, huge French windows overlong the lake surrounded by mountains, lovely bathroom with jacuzzi, fireplace, and a transparent deck ...all made it a place not to be missed. Hospitable and very helpful staff. Execellent food to our surprise nice veg canapies which we had a sit out besides the reading room was fun. Uninteruppted Internet facility with a cup of coffee was a delight. Must must check in place.

Room Tip: All the suites are perfectly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just So beautiful...the place, ambience, location, food, hospitality ...all par excellence. Our honeymoon's most memorable stay. The suites are placed in isolation on the hill slope overlooking a beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. The esplanade is nearby and so is the main town centre. They provide pick and drop to the ptown which really helps as you get to avoid hassle of parking in the town. The staff was fantastic and manages the property very well. We just loved the bathroom which opens up to a lake view. The all glass deck gives a special charm to the rooms.A must check in place.

Room Tip: All the suites are very well placed with enough privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReetikaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our jaws dropped at the amazing scenery and views from this property. Azur is an incredible property with awe inspiring unbroken floor to ceiling views from magnificently furnished and appointed villas. The villas will take your breath away, it's architecture, design, and their amazing attention to detail combined with a bathroom which is stupendous and huge with an amazing bath tub overlooking the Remarkables mountain range.

Service from Tania and Gavin was impeccable, very warm and welcoming and we enjoyed talking to them immensely about the lodge. We were here on business and had dinner reservations but should we return with our partners we would definently take advantage of a very very extensive room service menu. Because of the location and views combined with spacious and completely private villas there is no need whatsoever to even leave your villas should you wish.

The input and creativity gone into developing such a wonderful property Is quite unbelievable. The staff are genuine and love what they do and we are most grateful to them for creating this very special place and ambience.

The beauty of lake and mountain views, the architecture of the lodge, the lovely ambience of the living areas and the villas are perfect and provided absolutely everything you could ever need.

"Amazing property and deservedly one of New Zealand's Best Luxury Lodges".

Room Tip: 1 night is never enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
278 reviews
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#3 of 59 in Queenstown
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $895 - $1,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring the main lodge and nine identical 79sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing