We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place..”
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azur
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Serene settings, huge French windows overlong the lake surrounded by mountains, lovely bathroom with jacuzzi, fireplace, and a transparent deck ...all made it a place not to be missed. Hospitable and very helpful staff. Execellent food to our surprise nice veg canapies which we had a sit out besides the reading room was fun. Uninteruppted Internet facility with a cup of coffee was a delight. Must must check in place.

Room Tip: All the suites are perfectly located.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Azur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just So beautiful...the place, ambience, location, food, hospitality ...all par excellence. Our honeymoon's most memorable stay. The suites are placed in isolation on the hill slope overlooking a beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. The esplanade is nearby and so is the main town centre. They provide pick and drop to the ptown which really helps as you get to avoid hassle of parking in the town. The staff was fantastic and manages the property very well. We just loved the bathroom which opens up to a lake view. The all glass deck gives a special charm to the rooms.A must check in place.

Room Tip: All the suites are very well placed with enough privacy.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReetikaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our jaws dropped at the amazing scenery and views from this property. Azur is an incredible property with awe inspiring unbroken floor to ceiling views from magnificently furnished and appointed villas. The villas will take your breath away, it's architecture, design, and their amazing attention to detail combined with a bathroom which is stupendous and huge with an amazing bath tub overlooking the Remarkables mountain range.

Service from Tania and Gavin was impeccable, very warm and welcoming and we enjoyed talking to them immensely about the lodge. We were here on business and had dinner reservations but should we return with our partners we would definently take advantage of a very very extensive room service menu. Because of the location and views combined with spacious and completely private villas there is no need whatsoever to even leave your villas should you wish.

The input and creativity gone into developing such a wonderful property Is quite unbelievable. The staff are genuine and love what they do and we are most grateful to them for creating this very special place and ambience.

The beauty of lake and mountain views, the architecture of the lodge, the lovely ambience of the living areas and the villas are perfect and provided absolutely everything you could ever need.

"Amazing property and deservedly one of New Zealand's Best Luxury Lodges".

Room Tip: 1 night is never enough.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Azur is a private compound of standalone rooms, each with wonderful views of the lake. It's set off a bit from Queenstown, in a residential area, but they will gladly take you to and from town anytime you need. The room was modern and terrific quality, and the views were unbeatable. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a luxury getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Having just visited Queenstown,N.Z. and Azur, located in a nicely elevated location over looking Lake Wakatipu, we are keen to review a worthy winner..
From the gorgeous villa that we were staying in, we enjoyed full frontal views of Cecil Peak , snowcapped and looking pristine with the early morning sun.
The views are admired whether you are both relaxing in the generous spa bath, with all the bubbles, or when you are both in the super king size bed , contemplating whether its too early to sleep as you look at the southern stars at night.
With all the privacy abounding from all of the villas, one can do admire all the fabulous scenery, with NO curtains drawn at anytime.
We were impressed with the completely upgraded sound, entertainment centre installed within our villa, most impressive!
A recommended touch was ordering our dinners at night which were then served in our villa at the predetermined time..............most enjoyable most memorable.
Maria's culinary skills....truly worthy of a mention, a must in the morning for breakfast.
Although we were staying just one night, a return visit , a recomendation to others is a sure thing.
We thank you all at Azur, you do all things rather well.,cheers

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllanF369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I had planned in advance to reward ourselves with a special place to stay following a two week hiking trip in the South Island. We are not frequent patrons of ultra-luxury Inns, so when we chose Azur, we naturally arrived with extraordinary expectations. Put simply, these expectations were surpassed.
We were met in Queenstown by Tania, who welcomed us into the Azur’s SUV and brought us up the hill to the Lodge. From the moment we entered the lobby and took in the stunning panoramic views of Lake Wakatipu below us, we were captivated. The huge lake shone brightly up at the Azur’s hillside vantage point. Azur may be one of the most beautiful places to stay in the world, and its splendor is accentuated by the welcoming, friendly, and impeccable service by the staff.
The staff will drive you into Queenstown proper whenever you request it. One day we went into town and took a cable car up to a mountain spot high above Queenstown, and watched the Kiwis enjoying their daredevil activities (tandem paragliding, bungy jumping, luge sleds, …). Another day we were dropped off and explored the lovely Queenstown Gardens, and then went on a ramble along the lake to Frankton. Whenever your fun in Queenstown is done, you simply have a local merchant call Azur and request that you be picked up, wherever you are!
The dropoff/pickup system also works for dinner, but my wife and I found a more excellent option. Azur has a collection of menus from local restaurants. You choose the dinner items you’d like, and Azur will prepare your room with a lovely table setting, and retrieve your selected dinner items. You choose the time for delivery! Meantime, you can relax in the lounge with wine and hors d’oeurves. When you are ready to eat, simply return to your room, and enjoy dinner while gazing at your amazing lake views.
Breakfast is equally spectacular. Simply name your favorite items, and they magically appear, freshly made in the kitchen.
I’m running out of words to connote excellence, and haven’t yet talked about the villa rooms. Suffice to say, the villas are designed to make each guest feel absolutely all alone in paradise. The excellent WiFi is complimentary. When ensconced in your villa, there are no sounds or visual reminders that anyone else is also on the property. The views, the patio, the Jacuzzi tub, the privacy, and the quiet serenity added up to the most luxurious experience we’ve ever had!
We’re glad we “went for it”, and definitely plan to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Star_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Azur for four nights in February of this year. The complex has nine identical villas with a main lodge that serves breakfast to order in the morning and at 5pm complementary drinks and canapés each day. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. No matter what you need or want they seem genuinely happy to do everything possible to provide true worldclass five star service.

Our villa was a cozy and well appointed with breathtaking views of the lake and surrounding mountains. Only complaint with the accommodation was that when we first arrived at the villa I noticed that the bathroom smelled sort of like a portapotty. I found that if I left both of the exhaust fans running in the bathroom the smell seemed to go away, so in the broader context of our stay it was no big deal.

We absolutely loved Queenstown. We took the gondola up the mountain and did the luge and the zip line park. We also took a helicopter ride out to Millford Sound, which was an absolutely amazing experience. If you go to Queenstown, this is something that you must do. We also wanted to bungy jump and take the jet boat down the river, but two days of rainy weather spoiled those plans. For people that enjoy outdoor adventure, Queenstown has just about every kind of activity,excursion and aventure you could ever imagine.

Queenstown itself is a quaint little town that has a good mix of restaurants and bars. We ate dinner in town every night and always had a good assortment of places to choose from. The Azur staff was very helpful in recommending good places to go and making reservations.

Is this someplace I would want to revisit? Without a doubt, yes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
4.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $936 - $1,336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring the main lodge and nine identical 79sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing