We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with balcony and I could not fault one thing. Every amenity was exactly as advertised on the website right down to the floor plan and it was nice to see everything else included such as the standard hotel toiletries, the selection of coffee and tea extending to plunger coffee for the provided coffee plunger and hot chocolate - even detergent for the clothes washer. What we used was replaced when the room was serviced.

Overall, everything was at a standard higher than I expected for the price I paid... easily the best value accomodation on my NZ trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robs-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    180
    53
    13
    7
See reviews for
126
210
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We had a 2 bdrm apartment overlooking the lake and Remarkables. Overall, the apartment decor was nice and rooms were a good size. The bedrooms are separated on 2 separate floors so be aware if you have small children. Location is good- easy walk to town and yet quiet. But we did have some issues. We arrived in our room late in the afternoon and we were blown away by how hot it was! There is no air conditioning as I am guessing you would rarely need it in Queenstown but the problem is that the master bedroom has only one small window so it was difficult to get the room to cool down. The front desk brought us an additional fan when we complained but otherwise, we just had to wait for the sun to set before it cooled off.
Next, housekeeping did not come until after 4:00pm so by that point, we told them to forget it as we were in the middle of getting ready to go out for the evening.
Overall, there are probably nicer places to stay in Queenstown for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Garden Court for 3 weeks and were blown away by the value for money we received. Not only was our 1 bedroom apartment pristine, we had a balcony and amazing view out to The Remarkables and along the lake. What impressed us most was that every comfort, down to the smallest detail, had been included. It was fantastic to have a washing machine and dryer, very well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, good sized fridge and separate freezer and well as complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. Nice to also see they have a 'green' policy.
All of the staff were the epitomy of Kiwi hospitality - friendly, efficient and very helpful without overdoing it. I can't recommend Garden Court highly enough for a short stay or long stay - we're stayed in other places around Queenstown and none compare to this place for value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLou37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights while we went to Cardrona, Coronet Peak and the Remarkable. This motel is within 5 minutes walk from Queenstown, which was handy, and it was good because it wasn't in the middle of the town which meant it was nice and quiet at night. The service was excellent, they wanted to service our studio apartment every day but we refused as it was unnecessary - so they left us ameneties outside our door every couple of days. They also allowed us to use the fridge in reception when we bought ice cream that didn't fit in our freezer.

i don't really have any complaints about this hotel - the bus for the remarkables was right outside the door, the parking was fine, and the room was fabulous. As it was a studio it only had a bar fridge, microwave and stovetop, but that was all spelt out in the description. The reception also had a lot of information, maps, internet cards etc so it was easy to get information on different activities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sall13h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

I was surprised to read recent reviews so I thought I would add my thoughts. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment after hiking the Milford Track in Jan 09 and thought it was fantastic value for money. The suite was large, had a well equipped kitchen and laundry and was very clean. As we were exhausted after the hike all we wanted was a hot shower and we were delighted to see that we also had a spa bath in our room – even if it was a bit tiny. The views from our room were spectacular and the décor was modern and in great condition. There was a relatively small uphill walk coming back from the town centre but there was no noise at night. The only thing we were not impressed with was the person on the front desk when we arrived. As this is only a minor part of the overall experience, it did not bother us greatly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russem007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed in a large double, studio room that had a large TV (some Sky channels), WiFi (extra), communal hot tub, complimentary local newspapers. Kitchen facilities in the room were good and the room itself large and comfortable. Bathroom a bit shabby and cold. Breakfast is continental but very basic by NZ standards. Although this is a good place, we are not sure how it gets 4+ Qualmark status as others in NZ with this rating were much better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in March and to be honest we were a bit disappointed upon arrival, the rooms sounded lovely on the internet and our expectations were fairly high, however the room we were allocated didn’t really meet our expectation. We were in a studio which wasn’t very peaceful as it was right next to the main road into Queenstown, lots of coaches passing by and as there is no double glazing it could be a bit noisy. If you are thinking of staying here – ask for a room away from the road, the back of the complex is much quieter. The rooms are ok, quite spacious, clean and the bed was really comfy. Kitchen facilities were a small fridge, toaster, microwave and kettle in a cupboard just off the bedroom – no separate sink for washing kitchen utensils – have to do this in the bathroom sink which we found a bit strange. The location is good situated about a 5 minute walk from town (very uphill on the way back).

Internet charges are quite steep – it’s cheaper to use an internet café in town they charge around $4 for an hour compared to $3 for 15 mins or $10 for an hour at the accommodation.

If I were to come back to Queenstown – I would choose another place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Property: Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Address: 41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Garden Court Suites & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Queenstown Apartments. Widely regarded as Queenstown's finest luxury accommodation. Choose from our one, two or three bedroom luxury apartments at Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Suites & Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Garden Court Suites And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing