We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Paid for stay in one bedroom apartment with mountain views and was pleasantly surprised to have reasonable glimpses of the lake as well, beautiful. Very helpful and welcoming reception throughout our stay. Apartment was of good standard, comfy with everything you would expect plus more. Well equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and room serviced daily. The lounge room has glass sliding doors opening up onto a small balcony and therefore offers great views whilst relaxing either inside or out.This place has a strict no party policy and our apartment was quiet with really comfy bed so enjoyed excellent sleep quality. Free wifi was a bonus. We made use of the cheap bicycle hire offered by the hotel and would recommend the ride on the Queenstown trail, which is located just down the hill. Didn't have a problem with the short walk into town and simply caught a taxi if we couldn't face the walk back uphill. Very enjoyable stay and good value. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view, definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 469 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a nice deal with HotelClub - a lovely 1 bed apartment with continental breakfast included. Very comfortable, mountain view, sunny courtyard and front patio, spa bath with shower over, full kitchen and washer/dryer. A short walk to town, bus stop outside, lake just down the bottom of the side street, free WiFi, private use of the hotel jacuzzi (needs to be booked),. Like the underfloor heating. The only thing missing was shower gel, though plenty of mini soaps. Staff on Reception/breakfast service were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The 1 bed courtyard apartment had a nice patio at the front with direct access to the street, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The GCS is a nice set of units just up the hill out of the tourist centre of Queenstown. It is not a luxury spa/retreat/hotel so if that is what you want, look elsewhere. The units are, however, well maintained, comfortable, and fairly roomy.

Furniture is basic but comfortable. Wifi is complementary and good. Importantly the 1 and 2 bedroom units I stayed in have a kitchen and full laundry.

Views are OK from the Queenstown facing side, but mainly from the second floor. They are not, generally, directly out at the Remarkables. But that view can be seen from just about anywhere in town, so not a fatal flaw in my view.

This is ideal for a break between walks or other adventures, or to access Queenstown if you are not planning to sit in all day. I stayed between the Milford and Routeburn walks and it was great to have somewhere to rest, clean the clothes, have some non-trail food etc.

There is some traffic noise from the units close to Frankston road, but this is only busy for Queenstown so if you can take a 15 minute rush hour in the morning and afternoon its fine.

Those google mapping the location - don't be discouraged, it is an easy literal five minute walk to the centre of town.

The staff are very helpful and prepared to store bags between visits for walkers.

This is very good value for money - saving on locations in the dead centre of town without much of a sacrifice in convenience because of the compact layout of Queenstown.

Room Tip: I would go for a second floor, Queenstown facing, room somewhat down from the main road if given a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments... it is very much appreciated.
We pretty much are a very handy place to stay while doing the amazing great walks in this area and we are always happy to store bags etc while you are away.
Take care and all the best.

Sheena Salter
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We thought this property was an excellent value for the money in Queenstown. Easy walking distance into town. The room was excellent, clean, well maintained. Professionally designed and furnished, modern ultra-chic. We had a studio kitchenette that was well equipped. The large bed was comfortable. Excellent shower with good water pressure. Everything worked well for our needs.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ziggyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Garden Court... it is very much appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Studio Suite and it's facilities.

Take Care and all the Best
Sheena Salter
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were taken aback by the house rules. They featured no spitting and warned that if the motel deemed the alcohol in the room was excessive it would be confiscated and only returned on your departure. There we no wine glasses in the room and only two of everything including cutlery and plates. There was a dishwasher which rather undermined the claim to be eco friendly as you could never load it appropriately. We used the room maintenance form to report a faulty bedside lamp, initially to no effect. When we followed up the manager implied that we had not provided any such form. It was subsequently located in the pocket of the repair man! The organisation of the car parking was chaotic -some rooms had nominated spaces others did not. That said the motel was well located with easy walking to downtown, albeit a steep climb back. The room was spacious with a good view. Would avoid until the management was revised.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hello and thank you for your review.
As you have addressed a few issues, I will respond to each point individually:

*House Rules - I apologise if you thought our house rules for noise and parties was excessive. The reason we have this policy in place is for the benefit of all our guests. We do not want the disruptive behaviour of the few to spoil things for the many.
We are a small property and most of our guests are families, couples and corporate guests who expect to have a quiet, calm environment in which to stay. Queenstown can be a bit of a party town, especially at peak times such as Christmas and New Years and this is our way of ensuring that everyone knows the rules and to be respectful of one another, so that we all have a nice time.

*Not enough amenities in the room - The room you booked was a Studio Suite which has an occupancy of 2 persons, which is why there is 2 of everything in the room. If you had needed extra things we would have been more than happy to supply you with more if asked.

*The Dishwasher - The dishwasher in your room is a 1/2 size dish drawer, which is an appropriate size for the room based on the occupancy, not a full size dishwasher which I would agree would be excessive in this room type.
We are caught in the middle of an age old debate of guests expecting modern facilities like dish drawers and by a need to respect our environment.
We would hope our guests would use good management in regards to the use of the dish drawer... we supply enough powder daily for 1 load only, which would, when you think about it be your dishes from the day and any pots that you use.
There is of course the option to not use the dish drawer at all and to simply wash the dishes by hand in the sink if any guests found the use of the dish drawer excessive or offensive to their eco leanings. But we leave that choice in the hands of the individual guest.
*The light bulb not being replaced - yes, this was a mistake on the part of our Maintenance Man. He picked up the card to replace for you and he simply forgot. When you came to the desk asking for this to be sorted, we did react immediately and the bulb was replaced. I apologise that at any time you thought that we were doubting you.
Our maintenance man also received censure and a reminder on the need to always act promptly to maintenance requests.
*Parking - I totally agree with you that the parking situation needs to be addressed. While most are numbered the Studio Suites are not. Taking your comments and others on board this will be addressed in May (our quiet season), where we will look at car park sizes and numbering across all room types.
*Location - We are a 5 minute walk from the town centre.
We are also located in an alpine area, which does mean hills.
In our case we have one hill on the way back from town.
So while this is inconvenient, it is not something I can change.
Some guests embrace the hill as a way to work off their dinner, but I can see that this is not for all.
* Avoid till Management revised - unfortunately I will not be leaving Garden Court in the foreseeable future.
Queenstown is my home and I love Garden Court and the people who work here.
My staff are amazing people who every day go out of their way to make people happy and to exceed expectations.
Sometimes we don't get it right and for that I am sorry.
But we learn from our errors and every time we get a review... good or bad, we learn from it.

So thank you for all your comments and I can only hope that your stay at Garden Court did not detract from your holiday in beautiful Queenstown.

Kind Regards
Sheena Salter
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Booked a standard studio via Hotels.com (pictures of studio suites, no mention of the noisy road, got refund about 35% of the price from hotels.com). Altogether price paid was exceptionally low, nevertheless would never come again even for the same price. Hotel's own website had all correct information about the rooms, unfortunately I have checked it only four days before, requested an upgrade via email and didn't get ANY response at all! On arrival we got what I believe the worst room in the whole property, even for standard studio. In addition there was a construction going on just in front of our windows (no notice of that even on check in from reception staff!!!).

1. Chek in fast.
2. Staff effective, but unfortunately not friendly from the start.
3. Management: apparently manager didn't find us important enough to meet us in person due to the above mentioned issues although it was requested.
4. Room: number 342 by the road noisy, spacious, furniture a little shabby, modern bathroom. Fast WiFi (no extra charge). Little space for two persons' clothes. Lack of privacy (e.g. some kind of gardener hanging out in front of our window on our arrival for 15 minutes or so).
No cleaning, just "daily maintenance", which in this case means making the bed and changing towels. We stayed for six nights, no vacuuming, cleaning of bathroom average.

Conclusion:
room all right for the price. Inflexible management and staff, unfriendly (comparing to other places we have been to in NZ).

Recommendations: avoid, I believe there are better places in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Anything else but standard suite would be a better choice. Book directly unless you get a significan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilulkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment that was clean and well maintained. The Irish lady on the desk was incredibly helpful and polite and made us feel welcome immediately. We hired 3 bikes for the day which only cost us 15 NZD each, a third of the price of some of the other options in Queenstown. Town was only a 5min walk through the park making it an easy after drinks stumble to get home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0P5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 59 in Queenstown
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Address: 41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $136 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Garden Court Suites & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Queenstown Apartments. Widely regarded as Queenstown's finest luxury accommodation. Choose from our one, two or three bedroom luxury apartments at Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Suites And Apartments
Garden Court Suites & Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing