We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but let down by service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place but let down by service.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a room door handle break which was removed and promised to be repaired the following day. This wasn't done so we could not close this door for 2 nights. Room service was minimal and did not include a vaccum of the downstairs which was really needed. The 2nd story window in our room could open wide and our 1 year old could have climbed out, we told reception and they said they would fix immediately but didn't. Generally nice and good location but let down by a couple of minor things

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello and thank you for the feedback. We are sorry that you were not totally satisfied by your stay and I feel I need to offer an explanation to the points you have raised...
* The bedroom door handle was removed as it had been broken and you were unable to enter the room. We decided it was better to remove it entirely as opposed to the door being accidentally locked... especially as this was a room being used by children... we did not want a situation where they could lock themselves in.
A replacement door handle was ordered the next day, but as this had to come from Christchurch, we were unable to get this replaced for you.
* Window Catches... this particular window in the main bedroom while it meets the building code and a catch was not required, we did take your comments on board and install catches in all the rooms of this type... this process was started during your stay and is now completed in all our 2 bedroom courtyard apartments. Thank you for bringing your concerns to us, and I hope that you are pleased we took your comments on board.
* Our daily service of our apartments, does not include a vacume of the room and I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations.

I hope this response is useful to you, and I thank you for all your comments.

Take Care

Sheena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    184
    55
    15
    7
See reviews for
133
216
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at The Garden Court several times and am always impressed by the cleanliness of thru place.

It may not be a 5 star hotel but it is always clean, well maintained and good great amenities provided.

A lot of the rooms have a couple of steps up or down so if you face any accessibility challenges it might may to mention this when you book.

They have modern heating in the rooms and warmth is never an issue.

The rooms are well appointed with plenty of room for ski gear & luggage.

I stayed in a standard studio suite aka a normal hotel room with a great newly refurbished bathroom and shower that rocked.

A favourite with me a choice of trim or regular fresh milk for in room beverage making facilities is offered.

Towels & linen are clean and plump and I always leave this place thinking I have received exceptional value for money.

It is a five minute stroll to bars and restaurants and on the right side of town for hitting the slopes.

Above all the consistency & quality of service is impressive in a town where hospitality is characterised by those travelling themselves.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contentnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really appreciate the feedback!!
Our Standard Studios are great value for money... while they have no view and are road facing... they have everything you need for a comfy stay.
We are loving the brand new bathrooms and we have had hush glass installed now, so they are a great low cost way to enjoy Queenstown.
Take Care and we look forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Garden Court on a ski trip to Queenstown for a week at the beginning of July. All of the staff at reception were very helpful upon arrival and the helpfulness carried on throughout the trip as they were very knowledgeable about the area.
The room itself (Standard Studio) was so clean and modern with all the amenities needed. We had Queen Bed, TV, Ironing board, fold up clothes line (which was very handy to air things out at night), kitchen including microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, two hot plate - stove top and all cooking utensils you could possibly think! The cleaning staff that came in each day were exceptional and coming home to a clean room after hitting the mountain was wonderful!
Overall Garden Court was amazing, the only negative thing would have to be the walk back up the hill from the town but being situated only 20metres from Lake Wakatipu, it's worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello Josh... we love your feedback!!
Like you we think the fold up clothes line in the room is a very handy idea :)
As for the walk up the hill... if you think about it positively, it's a fantastic way to work off all the "Ferg Burgers" and "good times" that are compulsory when you come to Queenstown!! :)

Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Rooms Clean and tidy. However wifi very pricey at $20 for 24 hours. Staff not the friendliest in Queenstown. Agreement made to have late checkout at 10:30am, however dead on 10am, someone knocked on the door asking if we were leaving, followed by a phone call at 10:15am asking the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I am so sorry to hear that you found our staff less than friendly when you stayed with us... I can assure you that this is not the norm, that your comments have been taken on board, and that we promise we will try to be better!!
I can give you happy news in regards to the Wifi here at Garden Court... we have taken your comments (and others) on board and we now offer the first 24hour access card for FREE!!! and any subsequent cards at $1 each... a massive improvement I'm sure you will agree!!!

Take Care and Thanks so much again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the 2 x 2 bedroom apartments with our 3 adult kids and their partners for two nights over Queen's birthday weekend. We had read on trip advisor that the rooms were a little tired but were pleasantly surprised at the apartments. These apartments were very clean, very well equipped and quite smart. They are a short walk to the town centre. These apartments were excellent value. We had found it difficult to find enough room for a group of 8. The staff were very friendly and helpful, cleaning staff efficient and unobtrusive. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Can only recommend two bedroom apartments - very quiet, clean and s,art
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Is always nice to read that guests are "pleasantly surprised" with our rooms :)

Since the "tired" reviews, we have had the apartments re carpeted, all the wooden furnishings have been stripped back and re finished, a fresh coat of paint on the walls and lovely new flat screen TV's... the only thing tired in the rooms now are our guests after a busy day enjoying Queenstown :)

Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a 1 bedroom balcony apartment. It was spacious, clean, modern & had amazing views! The staff checked us in quickly & were friendly. We had everything we needed to explore this amazing town. We would definately stay here again.
About a 5 min walk into town- my mum (in her 50's) found the steep hill a bit hard.
The only small negative was the stairs leading up to your room- it was a little difficult to get our heavy bags to our room :)
Can not wait to return to Queenstown! So much to see & do.
Would highly recommend- Onsen hot pools, Dart Stables Horse Ride Glenorchy, Millbrook Day Spa, Sky Gondala/Luge & Southern Discovery Cruises.

Room Tip: Balcony apartments have more privacy & better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanfan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 8 days. The apartment was a little 'tired' in places with chips on the cupboards and furniture and the kitchen cupboard was in need of repair. However, I think the price we paid reflected this and it was very reasonable. The proximity to town and lake was fabulous. Hiring bikes from them was cheaper than in town and the staff were so helpful, especially the Irish lady who was very friendly and knowledgable. The apartments were clean and very functional and I would recommend them to anyone wishing to stay there. I was disappointed in the first apartment given to us as it did not have the great lake views I had hoped for, but we asked to be moved and were allocated the end apartment (217) nearest the lake which was better and offered more privacy. Thanks to the staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Property: Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Address: 41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Garden Court Suites & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Queenstown Apartments. Widely regarded as Queenstown's finest luxury accommodation. Choose from our one, two or three bedroom luxury apartments at Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Suites And Apartments
Garden Court Suites & Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing