We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the apt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2007

had 2 bedroom luxury unit-- fantastic layout and really fully equipped. We really appreciated the full laundry facilities and the dish washer:) It was a 5 min walk to Lake Wakatipu and we saw a very beautiful sunset against the the Remarkables.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CueSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 467 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2007

We stayed at the Garden Court Suites and Apartments in December for 4 nights in total - 2 nights either side of walking the beautiful Milford Track in Fiordland National Park.

We used a 'Go Kiwi' voucher to stay at this hotel (hotel voucher system accepted at various hotels throughout New Zealand). I think this was part of our problem as we were allocated a studio suite which was obviously one of the worst in the hotel. The room itself did not have a kitchen (as advertised) - just a small microwave and fridge. The room was also very dark with tired decor, had no view at all, and was situated right beside the main road which was a little noisey at times... we were told we couldn't change rooms and as we had already prepaid for the accommodation we had to stay put.

We did not see inside any other apartments/suites in the complex, and reading other reviews the 1/2 bedroom apartments do sound much nicer.....

... our advice would be to be very wary if booking a studio suite - our room was the worst of our entire holiday, and beared no resemblance to the lovely pictures on the hotel's website. We would definately not stay here again - there is a vast array of accommodation in Queenstown and we would strongly advise to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank holiday1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This place was great for everything we needed. We had a two bedroomed apartment which had a washing machine and drier which was really convenient. Washing powder is available from reception at $1 a small bag.
Everything was provided in the kitchen/living room including large fridge with freezer compartment. There was also a stereo system , tv and dvd player which was great for watching the video of our tandem paraglide.
One bedroom was downstairs which had a bathroom just off it with a bath and shower. The double bedroom upstairs had a vedry small ensuite bathroom with just a shower.
I really liked the view from the balcony, although it wasn't directly overlooking the lake we had a side on view as our apartment overlooked the side road. I wouldn't think the other apartments over the other side would have as good a view. We also had a good view of the gondola in the distance and the paragliders coming down from the top.
The walk into town was not too difficult and was about 10-15 minutes with the incline on the way back. There are places nearer the centre if this is a major issue but I personally enjoyed the walk.
The main downside for me was the heat of the place even with the windows open. It was swealtering and there was no way of altering the temperature in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IOMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

My husband and i visited Queenstown on our honeymoon and were very happy with our experience at Garden Court Suites.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the lake, gorgeous views and a quiet location. We found the room facilities to be excellent, modern decor with a well-equipped kitchen, washer & dryer and spa bathroom. It felt as though the bathroom had underfloor heating, it was lovely!
We didn't need the room serviced, so we hung a 'Do Not Disturb' sign - housekeeping were still kind enough to leave us fresh towels and top-ups of tea, coffee, sugar etc in a bag on the doorstep which is certainly more than we expected.
We would definitely stay here again, we couldn't fault the service from either Reception or the housekeeping staff. We did notice they were undertaking some minor renovations in some parts of the complex, so it may be worth your while requesting a room away from these renovations if you're concerned about noise at all. We didn't find it to be a problem for us at all though.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank michelle_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here for 7 nights in a two bedroom luxuray apartment and were really happy with our accommodations.
On our arrival the desk guy was a little curt but okay. We were a little concerned with being on the corner right next to the main road but we found that once we were inside the noise was minimal. Yes there were lots of coaches and passing traffic in the morning but we found that we were up anyway because we wanted to be on one of those coaches/buses to go skiing.
The apartment had ample room in the bedrooms for me, my husband and two teenage children (18 and 16). There was two bathrooms so no arguing in the morning. The kitchen was well equipped with its cooker, dishwasher and fridge that came in handy for saving some money with food and drinks. The only squeezy part really was the lounge/dining room in the evenings when we were just relaxing.
Facilities were good - a lockable ski locker, warming room, we had a washing machine and dryer in our apartment.
Cleaning was great - they serviced our room everyday and gave us lots of clean towels even though we didn't ask for them. It was nice that they topped up our coffee, tea and sugar everyday too. Because we were there for the week they have a mid-stay clean where they cleaned up our breakfast stuff, changed sheets, towels and vaccummed.
The heating was great - we were there when they were having -15oC nights and we were really toasty inside.
The view from our balcony was nice - while we couldn't see much of the lake we still had a pretty decent view.
The walk into town took us about 5-10 minutes and was pleasant. The walk back was a little more strenuous as there is a rather long incline - the kids did it easily and I saw it as an opportunity to burn off a few of the calories I consumed at dinner. I'm really quite unfit and it was seriously not that bad.
We made inquiries about activities and the desk clerk was really helpful (not the one on check in)
On check out yet another desk clerk was really nice and friendly and we were welcomed to leave our bags in the foyer. They didn't even have a problem with us hanging around when we came back to wait for our transfer.
Overall a great stay (may have got it cheaper if we booked ourselves on the internet but hey...I'm into stress free).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank macca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

I booked this hotel through wotif (which is part of the problem). We had booked a room with a bathroom, and instead received a handicapped studio. The desk clerk (Chris, I think) was rude, refused to move us to another room, and refused to refund our money.

The place had an outrageous wireless internet connection fee and staff was amazingly unhelpful.

I would definitely never stay at this hotel again because of the customer service. If you're staying here, be sure to at least book a 1 Bedroom. The walk to town isn't too bad, but on a cold winter night, it seems a lot longer.

Next time, we'll find a friendlier location.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank samoamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We looked at this accommodation online and thought how nice it looked so emailed them direct as we were staying 8 nights and thought they would do us a deal. I was wrong and told the only room they had left was a 1 bed for $230 a night. so on looking on wotif.com i was surprised to see they had a studio at the special rate of $115 a night. so booked it after reading the reviews and looked forward to some luxury. on arrival i was pretty much sneered at for booking what she described was the "cheap" room.
so we went to our room and i can't describe the disappointment, the room seemed dirty we had no real cooking facilities only a microwave and toaster and this was all hid away in a small cupboard.
and the traffic noise was unbelievable. so i went to ask if we could move to one away from the road and was told by the rude receptionist that thats basically what i get for booking on wotif, but i could upgrade for another $115 a night.
so we put up with what we had and stayed the rest of the week, but during that time our room was not serviced 1 day and the next day the bed was not made. so of i went again to ask why it had not been done and the rude lady shouted through to the head of house keeping to ask why it had not been done, and still no apology. the only good thing about that place was the head of house keeping Pamela who was very friendly, helpful and considerate.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank princess247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Address: 41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $128 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Garden Court Suites & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Queenstown Apartments. Widely regarded as Queenstown's finest luxury accommodation. Choose from our one, two or three bedroom luxury apartments at Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Suites And Apartments
Garden Court Suites & Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing