We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A view to change your life!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turner Heights Townhouses

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Turner Heights Townhouses
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A view to change your life!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Queenstown is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen! Our apartment showcased the views from every window possible. We had a great stay: quiet, cozy, very clean and everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Even got fitter from the walk up Turner Street each evening after skiing all day! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_K_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    47
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I, along with some of her family (4 of us in total) stayed at Turner Heights for 3 nights from the 1st to the 3rd of September, in one of their 2 bedroom townhouses and we were all unanimous in saying that it was the best place we stayed at on our 20 night New Zealand holiday. From the moment you walk into the master bedroom or the lounge room, the views of the snow capped mountains and Lake Wakatipu and also the gondolas climbing up the hillside were spectacular. That view only got better as more snow fell over the days we were in Queenstown.

The configuration of the townhouse starts with the ground floor, which has the front door and a small area to dump your skiing gear. The 1st floor consists of the bathroom and toilet, the main bedroom with a queen bed and a balcony with a view of all of Queenstown and surrounds. A second bedroom with two single beds also occupies the 1st floor. The 2nd floor has the dining table and the lounge area, which has an even better (higher) view of Queenstown, and also a separate fully equipped kitchen, a dish washer, washing machine and clothes dryer. Out the 2nd floor back door is a small landing and a BBQ for the guests to use. There is also a supermarket a few minute's walk in either direction. Each town house also has it's own undercover carport which easily fit the large 4WD we hired.

The location of the townhouses are fantastic - less than a 5 minute walk to town (although it will take twice as long walking back because of the very steep street the townhouses are on), and the gondolas are only a 10-15 minute casual walk away. There were times when we found it easier to leave the car in the carport and just walk into town. But that return walk up 'that' hill sometimes made us regret not taking the car.

The beds and lounges were all comfy and the shower pressure was great. With 4 adults, we didn't have any problems with the hot water. The heater managed to keep all of the 2nd floor very warm with doors everywhere to keep the heat in/out. The staircases and landings were quite squeaky and would wake everyone up when you stepped on them. And if you are not a fan of stairs, then this may not be the place for you - especially with 'that' hill.

Like most places around NZ you can book your tours and organise tickets from the front office, but we found the information sometimes a little confusing and inconsistent. But there are dozens of tourist centres in town to help you out with that.

Turner Heights is a great self contained place to relax and enjoy everything in and around Queenstown. We hadn't planned on staying there; but with everything else booked up, we ended up paying a little extra and staying. The views itself was well worth it, throw in a great location, and a very comfortable place, the 2 bedroom townhouse is perfect for families (but not very young families) and small groups who are planning on staying for several days or more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed here for three weeks whilst visiting family. Great location with fab views over queens town and lake wakatipu. Down side was the seriously steep hill to get back up but the taxi fare was ok. I just had to budget for it. There is a bus service but that still involves a walk although that is fairly flat. Walking down to the village each day was easy though! The other down side was no aircon but as the manager correctly explained the very hot weather was unusual. It averaged 29 degrees each day for three weeks. There is a large supermarket out of town. Take the bus to it and don't use the local fresh choice unless you have to. Do take a wine tour. Also the hop on hop off bus leaves every morning and is worth doing. Do visit arrow town and if you are a filmgoer book tickets at the tiny dorothy brown cinema. Overall I would stay here again but next time bring my husband/chauffeur and hire a car!! The managers were excellent and very helpful. This is timeshare so maybe you could get a swap. I had a one bedroom apt with kitchen and deck.. Do use their vouchers for wifi which was excellent and very cheap. There is a hot tub area with BBQ for by guests and also a guest laundry.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brasspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

The apartment was great had everything we needed, really warm, comfortable and had the best view that we couldn't get enough of. The people were really friendly and helpful and would recommend these townhouses for anyone to stay in. The walk into town was short and although it's on a hill it's so short it doesn't matter.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse which had great views of the Remarkables, Lake Wakatipu and even the gondola. Good kitchen and there was a washing machine and dryer in the kitchen too. If you have really young kids or toddlers, be aware there are lots of internal stairs. Only 5 mins walk to town centre, restaurants and nearest supermarket. It is a steep hill to walk back but our 4 yr old managed it. Staff were fine and there was an allocated car space for our townhouse.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

Arrived to warm welcome from staff. Fantastic views over QTown. Quite a steep hill and not suitable for unfit people however there is a more sedate although longer route to townhouses. Excellent spacious accommodation and 10 mins walk into town. Well equipped apartment with own laundry facilities, balcony and bbq. Weekly bed change. Fresh towels when required. I have stayed here for 3 weeks and very pleased with all aspects. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

We found this to be a good place to stay being so close to central Queenstown. The apartment was above average in all aspects. BBQ outside the back door, full laundry, good spa, car under cover, and plenty of room in the 2 bedroom apartment. Only a 2 minute walk to central Queenstown. The steep walk up the hill to return was good exercise and could be managed by most people. Reception and staff were all good. No traffic noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Caples Court
Caples Court
#5 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coronation Lodge
Coronation Lodge
#4 of 47 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Lodge
Amber Lodge
#32 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.1 mi away
Cranbury Court Apartments
Cranbury Court Apartments
#26 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Peaks Lodge
Blue Peaks Lodge
#33 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turner Heights Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turner Heights Townhouses

Property: Turner Heights Townhouses
Address: 14 Turner Street, PO Box 435,, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turner Heights Townhouses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turner Heights Townhouses is located a short 2 block walk into the vibrant heart of Queenstown. The view from most of our apartments is spectacular. We offer good quality affordable accommodation and are extremely popular with families, groups and independent travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Turner Heights Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turner Heights Townhouses Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing