We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan”
Review of Starbucks

Starbucks
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
391 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice and warm inside. Coffee very fair, service fair. Our mugs were plonked down on the table no communication. Wifi sometimes a pain with loud users skyping, we had to shift by the door. Would not recommend Starbucks, withPost Office cafe just over the road offering better service and coffee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulineTAntrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    34
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The girl who took my order was really rude and unhelpful. The guy who made my drink was really nice and chatty and friendly. Hot chocolate was the best I have ever had and it was nice to sit inside for a bit an relax on such a cold day :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

you see I don't drink at coffee chains, but these guys were among the first to open in the morning, and I am an early-bird. so I went in one morning and noticed they had single-source (Guatemala) brewed coffee. I have to admit it was a very good coffee, although I like stronger Colombian single-source coffee. but nevertheless, they were way better than I expected

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Long long wait”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I felt this shop was too tiny to cater for the locals and all the tourists. I waited in a queue for a good ten mins and although the guy at the counter was pleasant, the coffee was so hot I had to get another cup just to hold it, let alone drink it. Maybe I picked it on an extremely busy day, but I wont rush back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
220 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Warmed us up”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had coffee and heavenly carrot cake here and thoroughly enjoyed the warmth, atmosphere and general feeling of well being. Would go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starbucks also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Starbucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing