We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oops!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Oban
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oops!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I made a bit of cock up and booked haka lodge a week later than intended. Totally my fault!Unfortunately they didn't have rooms for the nights we actually wanted... No problem there... Until I then received an email telling me they were charging me for a night as they hadn't seen or heard from us. I phoned and explained what had happened and said we had actually been there and said we wanted to cancel but no... Not good enough. Now I'm out of pocket. Not happy!!! Probably a great place to stay, but don't try and cancel your reservation as they'll charge you anyway!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ljnicholsonOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakaLodgeQT, Manager at Haka Lodge Queenstown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I have spoken to both staff members that you dealt with in regards to your reservation and subsequent charge as a no show. I understand that you came in on a Friday afternoon and spoke to Jana in regards to cancelling your reservation. You were informed that as you had booked via Hostel Bookers you would need to cancel via Hostel Bookers, not directly with us. This is as per our terms of trading with Hostel Bookers. I understand you mentioned to Jana that we were going to a friends place and would cancel it once you got there.
We never received the cancellation notice from Hostel Bookers, hence why your reservation was left in our system, and we were expecting you to arrive on November 22.
As you didn't arrive you were charged the first night of your reservation as a 'No Show'.
This was clearly explained to you when you spoke to George over the phone as well.
I am sorry that we were not able to come to an understanding in regards to this incident, however please do understand that as a business, not only do we need to operate within the bounds of our own terms and conditions, also the terms and conditions of our affiliate 3rd party booking sites.
I hope you have an enjoyable journey through the rest of New Zealand.
Beck Michelle
Haka Lodge Queenstown, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    116
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
130
143
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! Totally recommend and wounds stay again! Easy walking distance to city centers, grocery stores, and hiking. Staff was really friendly and wonderfully helpful also!

Fantastic place all the way around and would stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jillian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 9am and left our luggage in storage whilst we went and explored Queenstown. Hostel is in a Great location, free wifi, CLEAN bathrooms and kitchen. Friendly staff, and good value. We prefer to have ensuite bathrooms but these shared facilities were really good including completely private bathrooms which were well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Location is perfect. Near to the city centre (very short stroll), and you can park you car here as well. The lodge consist of three different townhouses all made into one building. We had a double room, which is small but has everything you need: comfy bed, tv, heater, enough light through the windows but with nice dark curtains and free and fast wifi.
We stayed next to the shower/toilet area which is easy. The only downside is there were some people having a shower late at night (11/12 o’clock) which woke us up.

The lounge is a great area to chill out, and we loved the outside deck! Had a great time there basking in the sunshine after a busy week of travelling. There are 2 kitchens, both well equipped. We were checked in by Beck, who gave us good advice about where to eat out in Queenstown and is a very pleasant person up for a nice chat. Unfortunately we only had time to stay one night, but we would go back if we were to stay in Queenstown again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I would like first of all to say thank you to the staff at Haka Lodge, in particular to the lovely lady who is the owner of Monty - I'm so sorry that I can't remember your name, but I think you're great.
It's rare to find people who work in customer service that seem to genuinely love their jobs the way you guys do, and who have the ability to make guests feel welcome and comfortable from check-in to check-out. Well done, guys. You're all over it.
On top of that our room was immaculate - clean, fresh, well presented, with fresh towels folded into the shape of elephants! eee!
The location is wonderful - it's right next to the main drag but JUST far enough away that we didn't have to hear any of the partygoers in town as the night got on.
The only downside of Haka Lodge for us was having to hear the American couple in the room next to us have what sounded like some of the most boring sex of all time. This was due to thin walls, but thin walls are just part and parcel of old buildings and it didn't deter us, just made us giggle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChildrenOverboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was really impressed with the up-keep of this hostel - rooms were pristine when we arrived and the bed was very comfortable! The two communal kitchens and lounge were very homely and kept in a clean manner while the bathrooms were cleaned every morning. Most of all, the staff were fantastic! They were very helpful and showed us some great spots around Queenstown and were happy to work around us when we had to come back early from a tramp and book there on the night. They even locked and stored some of our bags when we went tramping.
I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: If you go for a private room - ask which ones are available as they do vary in location around the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleKidd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a couple room.
The cute towels made into elephants were a nice touch!!

The staff are more than friendly and helpful to any questions or queries. They even organised special bike storage as theirs have not been built yet.

The bathrooms, showers, kitchen and Lounges were always clean and tidy.

Great location. Really close to town and the gondola.
We would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lil_fitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haka Lodge Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haka Lodge Queenstown

Property: Haka Lodge Queenstown
Address: 6 Henry Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haka Lodge Queenstown 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haka Lodge is a top-notch backpacker's hostel in central Queenstown, New Zealand. We have accomodation to suit all budget-minded travellers, from luxury bunks to private rooms. We believe that all travellers deserve a little oasis of comfort, calm and quality whilst in Queenstown, and we'd love you to come and stay! Featuring multiple kitchens, bathrooms and lounges that are newly renovated, you will feel like you are staying in backpacker luxury. We are just a street away from the main intersection in Queenstown (Shotover/Camp Street). This means we are close to the action, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night! Our warm and friendly staff are ready to check you in today, and help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haka Lodge Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing