We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at Haka in Christchurch which I enjoyed and I was assured that the one in Queenstown was even better so stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms although small give you plenty of good personal space with regards to your bunk and storage (Privacy curtain, big bunks - including sitting up space, your own light and plug sockets, big drawer storage and a super comfy bed). It was pretty cold in Queenstown whilst I visited so I was grateful for the amazing heater in the room. The walls are a bit thin but my stay was unaffected by this. The whole place is really clean and modern. There were plenty of bathrooms, two kitchens and a great lounge area. Beck, George and Monty were all wonderful and I have never felt more at home at a backpackers! Oh and not forgetting free unlimited wifi which is great compared to paying $4 per 24 hrs elsewhere. I would definitely recommend this place and only wish I'd stayed there my whole 5 nights in Queenstown.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the thin walls mentioned on other reviews then just request a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 470 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked for three nights, but after the first night we realised this style of accom was not for us. We explained our plight to manager Bec, who understood instantly, offering to refund our payment in full. We didn't expect to stay for nothing , so we all agreed on two nights refund. All Bec could repeat was that she wanted us to have a great time in QT - simple
What a great asset she is to Haka lodge, by the way nothing wrong with the lodge, just not for us

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickndebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakaLodgeQT, Manager at Haka Lodge Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello Folks
Thank you very much for your wonderful reveiw.
I hope you had a truly enjoyable time in Queenstown, and as you said in your review I'm glad we were able to resolve everything quickly so you could get on with enjoying your holiday.
Once again thank you for your time in placing your review and I hope you enjoyed Queenstown.
Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was one of my favourite hostels and I've been travelling for 3 months. Queenstown itself it amazing and this lodge was in a great location the place is incredibly clean and comfortable. I love the bedside lamps and privacy curtains. Everyone in the lodge were friendly and the staff and owner were so kind the owner was so helpful and jolly to be around. Absolutely loved it here and would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Huh. Maybe the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. It's unbelievably clean, and everything is new. The dorms have huge lockable drawers under the bunks, and the rooms are big and bright. Two kitchens, and a lounge area upstairs. And oh yeah, you're a 90-second walk from Queenstown's CBD. Pricey, but what in Queenstown isn't?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Haka Lodge have 2 Kitchens.
Very clean and nice to cook.

I enjoyed wathing a TV with a nice view out of the window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatami28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Haka is very clean, well looked after and quite modern. Well decorated and presented rooms, good living areas and kitchen spaces, and has a lovely atmosphere. We met Becky when we arrived and she was very helpful and friendly; a great personality to welcome you. We've stayed in Queenstown before and this place is definitely the best! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the lodge. Friendly staff and Beck and Oli were really nice via email. Great location being at the top of town with parking on site or near by and good value. It was clean and had free wifi :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tot_of_rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#19 of 93 in Queenstown
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haka Lodge Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haka Lodge Queenstown

Address: 6 Henry Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $21 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haka Lodge Queenstown 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haka Lodge is a top-notch backpacker's hostel in central Queenstown, New Zealand. We have accomodation to suit all budget-minded travellers, from luxury bunks to private rooms. We believe that all travellers deserve a little oasis of comfort, calm and quality whilst in Queenstown, and we'd love you to come and stay! Featuring multiple kitchens, bathrooms and lounges that are newly renovated, you will feel like you are staying in backpacker luxury. We are just a street away from the main intersection in Queenstown (Shotover/Camp Street). This means we are close to the action, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night! Our warm and friendly staff are ready to check you in today, and help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haka Lodge Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing