We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and understanding hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked for three nights, but after the first night we realised this style of accom was not for us. We explained our plight to manager Bec, who understood instantly, offering to refund our payment in full. We didn't expect to stay for nothing , so we all agreed on two nights refund. All Bec could repeat was that she wanted us to have a great time in QT - simple
What a great asset she is to Haka lodge, by the way nothing wrong with the lodge, just not for us

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickndebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakaLodgeQT, Manager at Haka Lodge Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello Folks
Thank you very much for your wonderful reveiw.
I hope you had a truly enjoyable time in Queenstown, and as you said in your review I'm glad we were able to resolve everything quickly so you could get on with enjoying your holiday.
Once again thank you for your time in placing your review and I hope you enjoyed Queenstown.
Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Haka Lodge Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 454 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was one of my favourite hostels and I've been travelling for 3 months. Queenstown itself it amazing and this lodge was in a great location the place is incredibly clean and comfortable. I love the bedside lamps and privacy curtains. Everyone in the lodge were friendly and the staff and owner were so kind the owner was so helpful and jolly to be around. Absolutely loved it here and would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Huh. Maybe the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in. It's unbelievably clean, and everything is new. The dorms have huge lockable drawers under the bunks, and the rooms are big and bright. Two kitchens, and a lounge area upstairs. And oh yeah, you're a 90-second walk from Queenstown's CBD. Pricey, but what in Queenstown isn't?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Haka Lodge have 2 Kitchens.
Very clean and nice to cook.

I enjoyed wathing a TV with a nice view out of the window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatami28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Haka is very clean, well looked after and quite modern. Well decorated and presented rooms, good living areas and kitchen spaces, and has a lovely atmosphere. We met Becky when we arrived and she was very helpful and friendly; a great personality to welcome you. We've stayed in Queenstown before and this place is definitely the best! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the lodge. Friendly staff and Beck and Oli were really nice via email. Great location being at the top of town with parking on site or near by and good value. It was clean and had free wifi :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tot_of_rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed, for the first time, at Haka Lodge for 3 nights at the end of July. Did my homework and studied reviews from different sources :) My opinion ? A number of very good things in this Backpackers favour. 1. VERY close to town, 5 minutes walk max, very handy but without the noise of this pumping town. 2. For a backpackers there were good towels, pillows, bedding in the double bedroom I had. Excellent communal showers and linen therein. Kitchen, lounge was good. The carpet in my room could have been vacuumed much better. There is a sense that walls are thin (see other reviews) BUT my room (number 10) that I requested to be away from kitchen etc was no problem with external walls/windows on two sides.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 10. A double. Worked for me :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 92 in Queenstown
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haka Lodge Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haka Lodge Queenstown

Address: 6 Henry Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $22 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haka Lodge Queenstown 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haka Lodge is a top-notch backpacker's hostel in central Queenstown, New Zealand. We have accomodation to suit all budget-minded travellers, from luxury bunks to private rooms. We believe that all travellers deserve a little oasis of comfort, calm and quality whilst in Queenstown, and we'd love you to come and stay! Featuring multiple kitchens, bathrooms and lounges that are newly renovated, you will feel like you are staying in backpacker luxury. We are just a street away from the main intersection in Queenstown (Shotover/Camp Street). This means we are close to the action, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night! Our warm and friendly staff are ready to check you in today, and help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haka Lodge Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing