We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have gone elsewhere”

Jervois Steak House Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 314 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, I knew this was an expensive place so I can't really complain about the cost except to say that for two people it came to $209 (enough said).
The Pan Seared Scallops (3) were quite underwhelming, and a disappointment. My wife had the market fish which was nice but very small, and I had the Wagyu Eye Fillet which was OK but nothing special. It was a pity that you then had to order as extras any side dishes to go with the main meal.
The restaurant is quite large and to be honest a bit impersonal.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andrew N,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am sorry to hear that you had such an average experience dining with us.

Our menu is located outside the restaurant and you can access it online, therefore it is easy for our guests to know what to expect concerning the price of their meal. The cuts (as mentioned on the menu) come without sides, I am sorry you thought differently on this matter.

All the products we source are of prime quality, freshly cooked daily with love by our chefs. Therefore, this reflects on the price of our menu.

Concerning your steak, we always encourage our guests to ask the waiters as they are extremely well trained to order a cut suited to their taste. For example, the steak you ordered is extremely tender but doesn't have a lot of flavor. We would have been happy to cook a different cut for you if you would've mentioned it when your waiter check on your table.

We hope to see you again to change your mind about our restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Romain
JSH Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service with amazing food, we had the the whitebait entree and the prawn, then the Robins Island sirloin steak which were cooked to perfection. We had so much to eat that can't move right now. :)

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Pckea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Pckea,

Thank you for the positive feedback.

It is a great pleasure to read that you had a good dining experience with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Romain
JSH Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic selection of entrees and mains. Great steaks to have on your own, but the best ones are so good and so big, they are best to be shared.

Plenty of good wines to wash it all down with.

Located in the heart of QUEENSTOWN.

Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank davidmJ7015QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi davidmJ7015QW,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience..

We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience here at JSH and we look forward to welcoming you back next month.


Kind regards
Romain
JSH Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Cannot recommend this place enough! The steak was cooked to perfection, and the sides paired beautifully. The green peppercorn sauce is a must-try. The service is out of this world, too - our waiter was so personable and attentive. Really made it a 10-star experience.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stmc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi stmc_12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

It is a real pleasure for us to see that your dining experience went so well.
We take pride on giving the best experience possible to you and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Romain
JSH Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

The Steak is awesome. Best steak in NZ, must try. The cafe de Paris butter sauce matches to the steak perfectly. The fries are finger licking good as well. Would like to have tons of them. The service is top notch, they are so kind to customers. U won’t regret choosing this one. If u are looking for steak, this is the place!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Renzhu_Zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervoissteakhouseqt, Manager at Jervois Steak House Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Hi Renzhu_Zhang,

Thank you for the positive feedback.

It makes us proud and happy to see that you had such a good dining experience. We do spend a lot of time with our customers and try to give the best advices to everyone that pass the door.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Romain
JSH Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jervois Steak House Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Jervois Steak House Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing