We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don' want to stay in Queenstown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shotover Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shotover Lodge
London UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you don' want to stay in Queenstown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The iSite found us this accommodation. It's between Arrowtown and Queenstown (on North road from Arrowtown otherwise you drive thru Q'town to get here) in ski area. Scenic spot and less than 10 mins to get into town. Good deal at NZD 98. Had everything you need in the room, with kitchen and lounge also available. However bit of a soulless place - large newly built block of rooms so you may have to take luggage up stairs and along corridors to get to your room. Room was good size, nice bathroom, sitting area but no surfaces to put stuff other than tiny bedside table. Good for a one night stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EalingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    98
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
47
120
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived in Queenstown at a very busy time w/o reservations. The iSITE booked us into this lodge about 10 minutes out of town, on a quiet spot. The only noise was from neighbors - the walls thin. It's not posh and the facilities are very basic. But the room was quite large, clean, with all the basic things you need such as a fridge, hot water kettle, and toaster. There was even a small private balcony with a table and chairs. There was a large communal kitchen well stocked with pots and pans, dishes and utensils. There was also a large fridge and freezer available for use. And there was also a machine with ice free to guests. The adjoining lounge set with tables and chairs where you could eat your meals was spacious and pleasant. This was a good value and would recommend to others who are driving.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The Lodge is a new motel, so everything is clean and fresh. We arrived late, unfortunately we did not have a code for the keybox, so had to ring the emergency number. It took quite a while for someone to answsr, but the manager was friendly. It was partly our fault for not saying that we would be late. The room was very comfortable, aimed at the self catering traveller. The only criticism being that there were no net curtains on the large windows, so we had to keep the main curtains closed at all times, being on the ground floor. But, the bed was comfortable and the shower had good pressure and hot water.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thabelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Best accommodation Only $98 per night - good rooms and had big public kitchen for all
to use.

Very obliging staff - helped us with our flat battery that morning - would recommend to
all to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi Sheryn, thanks for your great review and we were very happy to help you with your tyre. Hope to see you again. Regards, Matt and the Shotover Lodge crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We got a room through an internet agency for 81$ US. I advise to pay up a little and get something not 4km away from the city center. Before checking in we had to wait for 20 minutes because the hostess who was nice had another customer checking in via phone. The front desk is understaffed. Thinking we were so clever getting a cheaper room we got disappointed realizing it was the first floor unit. Then we found out that WIFI is 14$ extra a day, continental breakfast-8$. In the room the TV was in a wierd spot but they had a movie channel. Over all it was OK If I stayed in Queenstown again I would've picked something in advance for $100 but in the central location with a view of the lake+ free WIFI and parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew h, General Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Rose, Ba ha ha ha! First time we have ever been called over priced and I challenge you to find anything in the centre of town for even close to $100 that is not a backpackers, especially with free parking and free wifi...there is nothing. We charge a maximum of $98 for an awesome room with all the basics provided. Parking is free and rather than add wifi and breakfast to the rate we let the guest decide as not everyone wants these. We have amazing gardens, ample free parking (none in town), mountain views from everywhere and as with most of our reviews the guests love it! If you want lake views in a hotel in town prices start at $149. Regards, Matt and Shotover lodge crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with the help of the local groundsman who helped us book & got us a good deal. Great rooms, great grounds, absolutely brilliant house keeping staff who all went out of there way & did small things that I bet they didn't get paid to do & everyone had a smile on there face. Extremely well priced. Only thing that a lot of people found to be a problem was parking which is minimal but other than that, GREAT PLACE! Thanks again to Jamie for helping us out.. :) I will defo recommend to other people coming to Qtown. Thanks, Rose & Troy

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosepetalweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent five nights here. It has been one of the best places we stayed during our entire trip.

The hotel is less than a 10 minute drive away from Queenstown. It's really nice and quiet, and we were lucky to have a room with a magnificent view on the mountains. The communal kitchen is fantastic. It's a full-fledged professional restaurant kitchen with all the gear you could ever dream of. The dining room has a nice feel to it and it has a fireplace.They also have a stone oven, a BBQ's and picnic tables outside. This place feels more like a home than a hotel.

The rooms were spacious and very clean and everything was new in there. The staff was friendly and laid-back. They were more than happy to take care of bookings of activities (at no additional cost), and they gave us several good tips of where to go and what to do. They really made us feel at home.

I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Be sure to go with the "deluxe" version when booking a room. The premium is worth it, as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhoebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.4 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#46 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.9 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
0.5 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#78 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shotover Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Lodge

Property: Shotover Lodge
Address: 157 Arthurs Point Road | RD 1 Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shotover Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful mountain scenery just a few metres from the access to Coronet Ski Field, a short drive from five golf courses and within walking distance of hot pools, Shotover Lodge is a perfect all-year-round base for exploring the adventure playground that is the Queenstown area. Sporting types searching for adrenaline and adventure will find opportunities for skiing, snow boarding, mountain biking, kayaking, bungee jumping and much more. This quiet retreat is also ideally situated for a spot of sightseeing in historic Arrowtown. An old gold rush town, Arrowtown now caters for visitors from around the globe. Just minutes from Shotover is Queenstown, nestled on the shore of Lake Wakatipu and offering a great choice of shops to browse in and restaurants to try. New, stylishly furnished, clean, friendly and affordable, Shotover Lodge offers a choice of comfortable rooms to cater for the needs of independent travellers, families, groups, wedding parties and corporate get-togethers. Facilities also include a communal kitchen and lounge room, a guest laundry, an outdoor fireplace and barbecue, fully equipped guest kitchen and ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Shotover Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing