We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
Review of Shotover Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shotover Lodge
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

we stayed here for one night, everything was clean and comfortable but it was just a bit too far out of town.
there isn't a 24 hour reception so if you are going to be late you need to let them know so that they can arrange for your keys to be left in a secure place.
it was a large room and had everything that we required for the night and was clean, good value for money, but if you are wanting somewhere close to the town centre then this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath_and_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    101
    49
    12
    6
See reviews for
48
128
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

First of all, it is very handy to have a car as it's a bit out of central QT. There's a bus-stop right outside but the bus doesn't leave that often. That being said I found it to be great value compared to what you pay in the city. The room was big, well equipped and clean and held a better standard than many hotels I've been to. The staff was nice and the location is great.

The only disappointment for me was the state of the kitchen. It's modern and well equipped but the pans (and especially the woks) were in a disappointing state. In the end I bought my own wok and cutting knives. It didn't in any way ruin the experience (I'm used to these things from staying at backpackers) but considering the state of everything else I would have expected a bit more from the kitchen equipment.

Overall, I'll really recommend a stay here if you're looking for good value and don't mind being out of walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was a great and affordable stay in pricey Queenstown. Had wonderful mountain views, friendly staff, and clean and comfortable accommodation. Is a bit out of town, so it requires a car to get to amenities. A great location to the ski field. Mobile phone reception was a bit sparse with the mountains, so you have to be a bit creative about where you make your calls. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

this lodge is fantastic,quiet and on way to coronet peak,we make it a regular stay on our work trips,you have a lovely big room and an up to date kitchen,full sofa to sit on,it is great and lovely grounds being done as it is quite new,so clean,and great staff

Room Tip: no lift to upper floors so if have problems with stairs ask for ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Shotover lodge was great for the price and location. We stayed here four nights and had the best time. The staff was friendly and even invited us to a bbq that was going on downstairs. The bedding was clean but the fold out sofa could have used a vaccum. The views were amazing and its a short drive to town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

we had a really great experience there.my sons and i went late september 2011 for a few days..was really impressed as the radiators in the room were beautiful and warm,didnt even know it had snowed during the night we were cosy,comfortable and warm.the receceptionist was awesome and couldnt do enough to help us.modern ,clean rooms with flat screen tv and kitchenette.the only hiccup we had was trying to contact anyone out of hours.my youngest son and i had had to drive from chch airport at midnight and arrived at the lodge at 6.am in the morning.the emergency or night manager was unreachable.but we loved it sooo much that im going back to stay there every year in my holidays,this year im taking my daughter and staying there....and onsen hot pools is directly across the road :)and shotover jet is just down the road about 1 minutes drive and your vertually nesting under coronet peak...AWESOME!! i reccomend shotover lodge with no reservations..and the bus into queenstown city stops right out the front of the loge and busses run continuously from really early in the morning until 8 pm

Room Tip: the top rooms have balconies and veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week. I have to mention that the check in and friendly staff really made us feel welcome. We cannot fault them whatsoever. Our deluxe room was on the 3rd floor closest to the road and was well appointed and clean with a comfy bed and nice ensuite. The bottle of wine that was part of our package was very nice also. There are no lifts so this could be an issue with those that have big heavy suitcases so I suggest if you do, book a ground floor room.

Arrowtown is only 10 minutes or so drive away and is beautiful. We also stopped at the Lavender farm on the way to get some lavender treats. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from Queenstown so I guess only suitable if you have a car as not walking distance to town. Is just past the Shotover Jet buildings.

The only negative was not the hotels fault. That was the Asians who were staying in the rooms opposite ours were incredibly noisy. From 5pm until 11pm they went in and out of their room at least 40 times (not exaggerating) and they kept us awake by slamming doors and talking very loudly in the hallway outside our room. The 2nd night we were there I caught one of them in the hallway and nicely requested that they be more quiet. They were until the early hours when a huge racket (god knows what they were doing) woke us up. However like I said, not the staff's fault. We didn't hear any road noise or traffic from our room.

Would like to stay again on our next trip as this place is close to Coronet peak and will hope that we get neighbours who are a bit more considerate noise wise and who don't go in and out of their room every 10 minutes for hours on end. A big thank you to the staff for their welcome.

Room Tip: Book a ground floor if you have heavy suitcases as there's no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pachewychomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew h, Manager at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks guys for your review, great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Love the review. Would love to have you stay again but if you cant tell your friends. Thanks, the Shotover Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Willowbrook Country Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#82 of 91 in Queenstown
514 reviews
3.9 mi away
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
3.9 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 91 in Queenstown
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shotover Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Lodge

Property: Shotover Lodge
Address: 157 Arthurs Point Road | RD 1 Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shotover Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful mountain scenery just a few metres from the access to Coronet Ski Field, a short drive from five golf courses and within walking distance of hot pools, Shotover Lodge is a perfect all-year-round base for exploring the adventure playground that is the Queenstown area. Sporting types searching for adrenaline and adventure will find opportunities for skiing, snow boarding, mountain biking, kayaking, bungee jumping and much more. This quiet retreat is also ideally situated for a spot of sightseeing in historic Arrowtown. An old gold rush town, Arrowtown now caters for visitors from around the globe. Just minutes from Shotover is Queenstown, nestled on the shore of Lake Wakatipu and offering a great choice of shops to browse in and restaurants to try. New, stylishly furnished, clean, friendly and affordable, Shotover Lodge offers a choice of comfortable rooms to cater for the needs of independent travellers, families, groups, wedding parties and corporate get-togethers. Facilities also include a communal kitchen and lounge room, a guest laundry, an outdoor fireplace and barbecue, fully equipped guest kitchen and ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Shotover Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing