We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Villa Del Lago recently for 8 nights, and what a wonderful experience it was! Beautiful accommodation that was even nicer than the photos suggested. Excellent location on the lake with spectacular views, and just far enough out of town to keep the place private and extrememly peaceful! Serviced apartments were also a nice bonus. The owners are also absolutely lovely, and gave us some of the best trip planning advice we could ask for, from dining to tours to activities. Will return here every time we are in Queenstown in future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Token23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    75
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
305
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I honestly couldn't say enough good things about this place it ticked all the boxes and I'm someone who is very hard to please when it comes to accommodation for family holidays, We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here with 4 in a 2 bedroom apartment, lake view - and what a view. Magical sitting on the balcony or living room with the Remarkables providing a perfect vista. Rooms are clean and well serviced, gas fires to keep warm, kitchen to cook your own. It about 20mins from town, but a nice walk along the lake. Can't recommend this highly enough and will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzzaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here based on reviews and are so happy we did.. It is a fantastic place. We had a 1 bed lake view room and it was just amazing!!! Queenstowns beauty is WOW!!! The apartment was so clean and well equipped, the bed was very comfy and it was lovely to sit in front of the fire with a glass of wine after a day of skiing. The hosts were so welcoming and helpful. It was about 15 - 20 minute walk along the lakeside into the town centre. We walked in and out almost every day because the walk was so beautiful.. I want to be back there now! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sin2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have stayed in Queenstown 5 times previously to staying here but nothing truly compares. Although its not in the town centre you can walk the beautiful trail 20 mins easy (no steep hills). The views are spectacular whist sitting at the dining table eating brekkie or on the lounge in front of the gas fire. There was only 2 of us but room for 4 very clean and cosy, serviced rooms is rare for apartments and the service was excellent! Great shower pressure and heated floor! I have two very very very minor comments- would have liked a tv guide and I personally don't like shower curtains but thats being very picky! Will be back next year for sure :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilschuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Queenstown. The management greeted us personally on arrival, showed us to our pre-heated apartment, which perfectly appointed for a family of 4, with 2 bathrooms and the option of another adjoining bedroom had we needed it. The fully equipped kitchen allowed us to entertain 7 people very comfortably in the evening. The views over the lake and towards the mountains are ever changing so no need for the TVs (yes 2) although the chidlren appreciated them. The lake front path was easily accessible so next time we'll take our bikes. Overall a remarkable stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing, uninterrupted views so room choice only depends on size of group travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alizee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent Location, Stayed in early June. All staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us. Would highly recommend. The apartments are very comfortable with great views across the lake. During our 6 night stay we ventured out during the day but stayed in our apartment every night as we were so comfortable. Great place to relax and unwind. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panache43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing