We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”
Review of Villa del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Lago
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spacious, clean appartment with stunning views over the lake. Only downside are the stairs. The hotel is on the side of a hill that runs down to the lake. We had to park at the top and walk up and down several long sets of stairs. This is okay if you are young and fit, which we are not! However, despite the stairs, we would definitely stay here again. The staff are helpful and friendly. The appartment had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The rooms were serviced every day. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The shower, which is over a bath, had lots of hot water with good pressure. It was so nice to stay somewhere that had a dishwasher and washing machine, it makes life easier when travelling around. The layout of the rooms and fittings in the appartment was good and we had our own balcony. We enjoyed our time here and look forward to staying again when next in Queenstown.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, check with management to see if there is an appartment with minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Travellers074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 572 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights across new year . Great location, stunning view. Just make sure you have back up transport incase your water taxi gets cancelled due to lake conditions. Staff are all very friendly

This complex has a lot of stairs from the rooms to the carparks so be prepared!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKRoss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hospitality! It's been our second stay in Villa Del Lago and the services were still outstanding. The living room is spacious with a great view of lake Wakatipu. The kitchen is great so that we could have cantonese food for dinner two out of four nights stay. The location is quite convenient, 3 mins drive to shopping area and 5 mins drive to airport. I was feeling comfortable and relax just like at home again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodschanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Out of all our stays in Nzl, Villa Del Lago definitely ranked first. We had an amazing view of the turqoise lake, snow capped mountains and blue skies all in one. The full length glass doors made it all the more magnificient. Our room was 2 stories down from the carpark, which meant lugging of our heavy luggages was needed as well as running down to escape the wind. Nevertheless, this meant: 1) better views 2) privacy + quiet and 3) just a new steps down to the walking track + lake. We loved all of this. The apartment came with a huge kitchen with all the necessary. We enjoyed that bathroom that had a heater and heated heated racks. The bedroom had ventilation (which we did not find in our last few stays). The electric fire place was also great! We drove around queenstown so I have no idea how convenient it is to walk but it sure didnt feel far. Cheers to this great place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Loved walking up every morning with a mountain view! Really clean beds. Three levels was nice but had to walk down all three levels to get to the bathroom.The balcony overlooking the lake is spectacular. Wonderful staff- more than helpful. We rented Lord of the Rings every night for free.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJess1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovely customer service even though we accidentally set off the fire alarm! Very accommodating, clean and neatly kept apartments with amazing (jaw-dropping) views. Parking available and close to city and mountain ranges (for skiing).

Would definitely book again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedPumpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A friendly and helpful greeting at reception, and then we were shown to our warm, inviting one bedroom apartment, with an explanation of the amenities. I cannot think of anything that we would have liked that hadn’t already been thought of, and done so very tastefully.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there (5 nights), it was homely, well appointed, the daily service exceptional, and we thought the rate was very reasonable too.

Our stay was during October, so the cooler weather meant that not being able to have a window open during the night was no issue . . . am not sure that it would have been as comfortable in warmer weather? but it was not a problem for us at all. We occasionally had the sliding door partially open, which was perfectly adequate during waking hours. The rare time other guests strolled in the vicinity, did not worry us at all, but could be an issue for those that desire the upmost in privacy. Also, if stairs are a problem, the lowest floor (closest to the lake) is not for you, but we loved being there and furthest away from the road.

Villa del Lago has some great reviews and comments on TripAdvisor, which is why we chose it . . . along with that we wanted to be central to the local golf courses but in a quieter part of Queenstown, but with a view. It worked perfectly for us, and will stay again when next in the area.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $224 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing