We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - newer and older apartments”
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great views, nice walkway along the lake to downtown or next village Frankton; well equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, quiet location; private pier. Only downside, stairs down to bedrooms and up to bedrooms. Not suited for older people with a lot of luggage; but the owners are very helpful. We stayed in a 3-bedroom for one night and later in another 3-bedroom. The first time the apartment was bigger and newer, and the second time we stayed the apartment was smaller and older; still the same rate per night. I see this throughout New Zealand. You pay the same price for rooms, no matter if bigger or smaller. We traveled with friends and I could compare.

Room Tip: The 3-bedroom room# 7 and 8 are newer and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerlinde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDelLago_11, Owner at Villa Del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Many thanks for your review and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to point out that all our apartments are furnished and maintained to the same standard and were all built at the same time. The second apartment you stayed in was just a different floor plan. Our rates are the same for all 3 bedroom apartments as they all get wonderful lake and mountain views. Apartment #7 & #8 are infact one bedroom apartments not 3 bedroom.

Thanks for staying with us, we hope you had a safe and happy trip home.

Kind regards

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 555 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

This accomodation was well worth it. The owners were very welcoming and went out of there way to make our stay with children as easy as possible. The provision of a slow cooker made our days at the ski fields easy knowing dinner would be ready when we got home. They allowed me to use the spare computer in the office each day to access the internet to keep in touch with another daughter not on our trip. There was a fantastic selection of DVDs to choose from for free to keep the children amused in our downtime. As it was a winter ski holiday we did not go looking for other activities such as a pool etc to keep the kids amused so can't comment any further on other in house activities which may or may not be provided at The Villa Del Lago. We hired a babysitter from the recommended company so we could venture out for a dinner without children and the girl was wonderful. No tears from our children at all. (1/1/2 and 5). The views of The Remarkables and the river were exceptional. The 20minute walk into town was adverturess and fun for the kids as we trapsed through snow and ice.....but would usually be a very easy walking track into town in good weather. The only down fall was parking. We were luck enough to have a topside parking but was still on a very uneven steep angle. The lower carpark has a very steep slope and bend to manouvre which due to the weather was ice for the week we were there. I'm just glad we weren't the ones trying to drive on it. We were on the 1st level below so had to walk down 2 flight of stairs to get to our room. Which was fine... until day 3 of skiing when our legs were hurting. This place is built on a hill so consider the stairs when booking, although they do have a "all abilities" villa on the first level with flat access for those who need it. There was a lovely clean gas fire place and the heating was more than adequate. Loved having our own washer/dryer room. Would definately stay again when in Queenstown again.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs and require flat access, ask for the Villa near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

A fantastic place to stay - right on the lake and the Frankston walking track into town. We cannot find fault with the Villa.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMackay_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was our third stay in Villa del Lago. We were a bit concerned that there had been a change of owner since we last stayed there 3 years ago but happily it is still first class.
The facilities in the apartments are great, oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. There is no air conditioning but we didn't miss it although if it was very warm that might be a problem but there is an air vent that brings in the air from outside and being beside the lake (with great views) we found the apartment sufficiently cool even after a few 25 degree days. There are steps involved as the apartments go down towards the lake so if you have any difficulty with steps/stairs make sure to get an apartment near the top.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emptyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Myself and my family stayed here for a week last year whilst travelling to Queenstown for a family wedding. Having been to Queenstown before we knew the scenery was stunning but our breathes were still taking away when we walked into our villa and saw the views we were going to have from the living room! We travelled with my 4 month old son hence the reason we went self catering. Villa Del Lago is not in the centre on of Queenstown but a 5 minute drive from the centre towards the airport. This suited us fine as we had a hire car for the duration of our stay and it was nice and quiet location. You can either walk along the road into Queenstown (uphill coming back so not for the faint hearted!) or walk the gravel path along the lake which took us about 20-25 mins with the buggy. Again there were a lot of steps from the villa down to the gravel path so not ideal if you have mobility problems.

We loved our stay here and family that came to visit also commented on the level of accomodation. The villa was split over 3 levels. One bedroom upstairs, open plan kitchen, living room and dining room on the ground floor and 2 bedrooms on the basement level (master en-suite). Family bathroom was also on the basement level. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowWonderingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great place to stay, clean with fantastic views over the lake and only a few steps down to the Frankton Track and lake side. Highly recommend and will be staying here next time in Queenstown, very friendly hosts. Just watch out for parking and steep drive way.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantLarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Views of the lake, quiet, spacious and friendly. Plus good value for money.

Just out of Queenstown, but close enough to walk (15 minutes).

Rooms (we had a king) are apartment style and have cooking facilities if you need it. Better then being in the noise of town, but everything you need.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $232 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing