We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Five mates including myself headed to Queenstown in July for a snowboarding trip. We pre-booked accommodation through the main website for a total of 10 days.

On arrival it is safe to say that our expectations of the apartment were exceeded. The view of Lake Wakitipu were uninterrupted and perfectly complemented by the numerous windows. Tip: Look at the amazing view from the apartment on their website.. then times it by ten. The interior and exterior of the building were immaculate.

However, while it is easy enough to rave on about the view, Villa Del Lago more importantly had exceptional amenities. We had a 3 level, 3 bedroom apartment which housed us very comfortably. There were no problems with warmth - a gas fire place, heaters in every bedroom and heated bathroom tiles. This was great as it's freezing outside at night. There was also no issue with hot water.

Every morning we would head to either the Remarkables or Coronet Peak, and would return to made beds and cleaned bathrooms. There was sufficient and secure storage space for our snowboards to dry for the next day's use.

The walk into town is very scenic, however a bit too far to walk every day to the snow centre in town carrying snowboard gear. As we were unable to hire a car due to age restrictions, we got around this by getting a cab in and out of time. For 4 of us in a normal taxi, the fare was between $9-10NZD, and for 5 of us in a maxi cab, the fare was around $12-15. You can call a cab for free within the house and it comes within 5 minutes. The cab drivers were all friendly, cracking jokes and all, and they dont start charging until you leave the premises.. unless you make them wait for an excessive amount of time.

The main centre in queenstown had charm, one of my friends saying it reminded him of London. You must check out Ferburger for their Big Al burger. If you're a young adult like me check out Winnies, World Bar and Sky Bar. Sky bar is so chill.

Lynn & Keith (the owners) were super friendly and did not interrupt our stay at all. They had an exceptional knowledge of the town and were able to suggest a few different places that we ended up thoroughly enjoying.

We all would recommend anyone to stay at Villa Del Lago. Thanks Lynn & Keith for having us. Hopefully see you next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSnowboarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    72
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
301
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

This place is perfect. The room was so comfy and clean. The facilities in the room were excellent. The view spectacular. The apartments are a 3min drive into town or a 20 min walk. Couldn't have stayed anywhere better

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Breathtaking view of the lake and mountain, detailed service by the owner eg booking of activities, comfortable room. Value for $. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinchin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I were blessed with unseasonally mild weather the past 4 days in Queenstown. We requested a quiet room at Villa Del Lago and were given a room down (heaps of stairs) by the lake. We were thrilled, the room was beautiful. You could see the magnificent view from your lounge or even your bed! The gas log fire was great, warmed the room well. The doona was top quality and so warm. We slept well, the room was so quiet, didnt hear a sound as the building is built into the hill and away from the road. We walked to Queenstown the scenic route along the lake. This took about 25 minutes, but that depended on how many photos I took along the way. We used the public bus to come home sometimes and were impressed with how friendly the drivers were. They shared tourist info with us everytime. We bought a day pass and went to Arrowtown which was great, then took the bus to Kelvin Heights (other side of the lake) and did a 1 hr walk around the lake and golf course. So quiet over there and magnificent. Our final day we relaxed in the afternoon and watched a dvd (there is a huge selection to borrow for free). We would stay at Villa Del Lago again as we were close enough to walk to bus or town and far enough away for peace and quiet. The Gondala buffet dinner was huge and highly recommended. We had a very relaxing time in Queenstown. Thanks to Nicola & Kerryn for their hospitality. The apricot chicken pizza at Hell pizza was a great choice too!

Room Tip: Rooms without stairs available if preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We were welcomed to our apartment and asked what sort of milk we would like so we could make some tea (this is something I've loved during my stays in NZ). The apartment was fantastic, we had a great view that I never grew tired of and an apartment I wouldn't have minded moving into full time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

This was an amazing and breathtaking place in Queenstown and seeing the lake view from our rooms and living rooms we knew that we had made the right decision. The kitchen was well stocked and furnished for a comfortable stay. After 4 days we just didnt want to go.
The hosts were also nice and accommodating. Clearly a great place to stay. In terms of location it is nice to have a vehicle as the place is away from the main city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpgshina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godzone
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed in room 15, just steps away from the water, with full height, full length windows giving unsurpassed views of the water.

The pros:
1) Friendly helpful reception (Lynn)
2) Lovely spacious rooms with breathtaking views
3) Free use of DVD library
4) Fully-equipped kitchen
5) Just outside Queenstown, so a bit quieter, but just 25 minutes' walk along the water to town

The cons:
1) I honestly can't think of any.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMZ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Property: Villa Del Lago
Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing