We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning views from balconies”
Review of Villa del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Lago
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

we had 3 nights at the Villa Del Lago and loved it. We enjoyed the 20 minute walk to town especially after breakfast or a meal out on the town. The views were wonderful and the rooms were very well appointed. The managment were very friendly and helpull.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leelaadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 563 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

This place was a real find. Having to re-organise our plans immediately after the Christchurch earthquake, we found Villa del Lago off Tripadvisor and got a late booking.
It really is everything you could want - stunningly situated below the Frankton Road a few minutes drive from Queenstown, there is nothing between you and the lake and your view of the Remarkables. Keith and Lynn could not have made us more welcome with their spotless apartment accommodation which included a washing machine and dryer. It is an easy 20 minute walk along the lakeside into Queenstown with all its restaurants, entertainments and adrenalin activities. Be aware though that the villa's position on the cliffside will mean a lot of stairs if you get the bottom apartment. It's still worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangamgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights early March 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Hotel was clean and had everything we wanted, including a laundry in the room. This is particularly handy when travelling around the South Island in a small car.

Was a little further out of town than I'd expected hence the 4 rating for location. The owners were very helpful in advising on and booking excursions for us, nothing was a problem.

View over Lake Wakatipu was also a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Enjoyed a very nice stay in the Villa Del Lago in January 2011. As mentioned by other posts the views across the lake to the Remarkable Mountains are gorgeous (especially when views through the apartment's generously sized windows).

The walk to the town may put some people off (it's about 20 to 25 mins) but it is along the lake front and therefore pleasant in it's own right. To be honest if you are the type of person who baulks at a 20min walk then you shouldn't really come to Queenstown as it is somewhat geared towards energetic endeavours.

The apartments themselves have a kitchen area with a very useful dishwasher (a real plus - who wants to wash dishes on holiday???). The apartments also posses a gas fire (useful as Queenstown evenings even in summer can turn a bit chilly) as well as a free washing and drying machine (another real plus).

The apartments are not the cheapest in the world but not ridiculously priced for Queenstown.

All in all - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Masked_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Check-in, value, room and features were all as advertised. We really enjoyed our 25th anniversary trip to Queenstown. This place was right on the lake, breathtaking view and quiet surroundings and beauty. The walk into town on the nature path was refreshing and tranquil. Nice fire at night and slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJR78613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

My partner and I stayed in Villa del Lago for 3 nights in March 2011. After a warm welcome , we were guided to our apartment. The apartment was based at the lower part of the complex with an amazing view of the lake. The apartment itself is spacious, clean and comfortable. It has all you need like a TV in the living room, TV in the bed room, washing machine, dryer, diswasher, fridge etc..... The apartment is serviced each day. So far this has been one of the best hotels we have seen in New Zealand. Besides it being really nice it wasn't expensive at all.

We enjoyed our stay in Villa Del Lago and can strongly recommend this to everyone. We ourselves would certainly go back to Villa Del Lago

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjen_rosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

This stunning, 5-star apartment was ours for a week when we based ourselves in Queenstown to visit a relative. It was a truly wonderful experience. The accommodation is superbly appointed with a high spec and attention to detail. The kitchen is very well equipped with dishwasher, toaster, microwave, hob, grill, fridge/freezer, crockery, cutlery etc etc. The bathroom is superbly appointed. There is a laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer. The bedroom has a large storage cupboard and tv and the most comfortabliest bed!! The lounge area has a tv, dvd player and gorgeous furnishings. The balcony area has a patio table and chairs where you can sit and take in the view across Lake Wakatipu to "The Remarkables" mountain rangewhich is nothing less than breathtaking! Located about a 20-minute walk from Queenstown, it is a 5-min taxi ride. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to spend some time in Queenstown ... I just wish I could have stayed longer. Will definitely stay there again. As they say in NZ .... "awesome"!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandPaul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.2 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $224 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing