We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Friendly Hotel - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
stewart island
1 review
“Warm and Friendly Hotel - great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

A great find in Queenstown. So close to city centre, a crazy amount of bars and restaurant welking distance. Our room was beautifully luxurious. The heated floors in bathrooms are a treat. Annabel and Brent are two of the nicest, most helpful people I've met.
Thanks to Annabel, Brent & Team. Had the most wicked stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    92
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
263
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here last July. We originally booked 7 days for the price of 5. When we arrived they had given us a free upgrade to the best suite and the room was fantastic. We also had free internet access when we needed it on the hotel guest lap top. After a day there we booked to stay a further 2 days, as we loved the hotel and the town. The staff are very friendly and because it only has a small number of rooms the service is brill. A part from the gorgeous rooms a highlight is the free wine tasting and canapes every night by the log fire, where you can meet people from all over the world. We had some brill nights here and ended up skiing with some guys from OZ....we also ordered in Ferg Burgers and the hotel was happy for us to drink our own booze and socialise. Perfect location for town and the ski buses.
Don't go for the big impersonal hotels....boutique and Central Ridge are fantastic. Would always stay here....if we are lucky enough to go back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

When we checked in, we were sent to the wrong room. When they realized I was in the wrong room they asked me to change rooms...the room I chaned to, had a better view so I was fine with that! We had a beautiful view on Bob's Peak and the gondolas going up to the peak. The hotel is very small but the rooms are spacious. They don't have AC but they do have heat...even in the floor in the bathroom. They have complementary wine tasting (at certain times), Internet (only one computer), and breakfast. Everything for breakfast was complementary. You could order from a menu or enjoy their continental breakfast that had breads, pancakes, fruit, jams,homemade yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, etc. It was delicious!! The hotel also had a great location. Walking distance to everywhere you would want to be: all adventure meeting/booking places, restaurants, shopping, gondola, and the water. I would stay again without a doubt! Try Ferg Burger, the were voted best burger in the world ...SO GOOD and big...you can share! We also enjoyed a nice dinner at Tatler...excellent venison, grilled veggies, and wine. A must do!!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms.NatalieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Queenstown is stunning and the Central Ridge was beautiful. The rooms a very well kept and the staff are friendly and helpful. The owners Annabel & Brent and great. Annabel was able to help me out with local day trips and activities, as well as the best restaurant and shopping.
A huge thank you to Annabel, Brent & the staff as Central Ridge, I have already recommended Cetral Ridge to my fellow Aussies and will continue to do so.

I will be back in March to stay again.

Once again, a great hotel. Thank you.

Nigel - Your new Aussie friend.

  • Liked — The list is to long, but I would have to say the service was outstanding.
  • Disliked — I could not stay longer.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NigelStallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

this is most fantastic small boutique hotel very well located.the staff are unbelievable.they looked after all of our requests and made our stay so wonderful

  • Liked — room and friendly staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrywinnipegcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in u.s.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

I wish we could have stayed at the Central Ridge during our whole trip in Queenstown. When we arrived (before check in), we were greeted by a friendly staff who offered us orange juice and water while we waited for our room to be cleaner. We were in our room in no time. It was a spacious room with a super comfortable bed. The amenities in the room were great and they provided marshmallows with the hot chocolate. Though there were no views, we were only a 5 minute walk away from the main area of queenstown. Our room was very quiet, which is a plus because I am a very light sleeper.

Breakfast was yummy. There were plenty of choices for everyone's taste on the menu.

The evening wine and cheese tasting was great and a wonderful opportunity to meet others and swap stories. This was all in a comfy living area so you really felt like you were in someones home and could feel quite relaxed.

If we are in Queenstown again, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again. The staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help you out.

  • Liked — The spacious room, marshmallows, yummy breakfast
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

My husband and I decided to stay in Queenstown an extra day. We had reservations at the Central Ridge for Thursday night but this was Wednesday afternoon. We were able to get a room and since it was late in the day we also got a late check-in discount. Now that was an extra bonus.

The room that my husband and I had had the best view of the town. At night the mountain with gondola going up the front was breath taking with all the lights. The bathtub was an added suprise for very tired body.

The breakfast was a great day to start our day.
I recommend the Cental Ridge hotel to any traveler that want a comfortable room, lovely views, and walking distance to the heart of the city. I'd love to stay here again.

  • Liked — the view, bathtub, the easy walk to the boardwalk and town center, breakfast. I guess you could say everything.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mlevesque07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Property: Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing