We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor start for a very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

No one was around when we arrived in the early evening. After much hello-ing a young man appeared and showed us into an office furnished with a shabby, sheet draped sofa. Not a good start. Everything got better after that, our host was very helpful, the room was fine and breakfast was excellent. It's location is perfect , a short walk through a lovely park put it far enough from the center of town to be quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 445 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great hospitality by the owner, Ailey and her family, Yelia and Molly. Owner owned and operated businesses never fail to amazed me as they take extra care and passion in their business as compared to an over commercialized/franchise businesses. Although moonlight room doesn't come with a glass ceiling to view the moon, my room has a great view of the gondolas and mountains (Stayed @ T2 room). Cozy room. Their signature omelet is a must try for egg lovers. Approximately 10 minutes walk to town center. Limited supply of car parks inside hotel compound. Needs improvement with the shower screen whereby it doesn't really block the water from flooding the bathroom floor. Overall a hotel that I will recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The owner was wonderfully warm and friendly upon arrival, helping us with dinner reservations and suggestions for activities. The room was large and sunny (room T3) with a view of the edge of the gardens. Great location for a walk to the city centre. Breakfast was lovely. Room was a bit pricey but overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMO1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a family-run hotel where you will often see the older kids on the front desk, cleaning, etc. The name boutique really just means that this is a small hotel. The lady who checked us in (I assume owner) was very nice and friendly. The room itself was a little dated, but had a nice fur throw on the bed to add a bit of charm.

The bathroom was nice, however the glass partition of the shower is hinged, and therefore water went thru this where it joined to the bath and caused a large pool of water in the bathroom everyday after we showered (it flowed into the centre drain in the bathroom), had to be careful with clothes on floor and wearing socks!

There was a nice private courtyard out the back where we sat and enjoyed the sunshine each day.

The thing that puzzled us, was the room didn't get serviced once on our four night stay, despite us leaving the 'please make up my room' sign on the door. There were two instances where we left the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but there were definitely other opportunities to make up the room. Although we are not fussy and in need of fresh linen, we ran out of toilet paper and had to ask at the front desk.

Also, could not find a single menu for the little restaurant, so not sure if it was open to patrons or not?

Our room was from memory about $180 per night. It was about a 4 minute walk to the city. For the location and the price and free wi fi, we were happy with this hotel. Despite the minor complaints, we would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Katherine125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

In New Zealand we stayed in 4 star accommodation throughout the wonderful trip . All were good with the exception of this one - avoid room T6, which was stuffy (windows would hardly open), and the view was a blank wall which was totally unacceptable ! We were surprised that they can call themselves a 4 star hotel with such poor accommodation. When we asked for a different room we were told that nothing was available for our 2 night stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northmoretonhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I cannot believe a review only a week before our stay who complained it was in need of renovation. Do NOT let that review sway you! Our room was beautiful, nicely decorated, VERY spacious with a comfy sitting area for 2 with ottoman for watching TV. A beautiful sheepskin throw adorned the bed. But my favorite was the new, spotless large bathroom with a big, deep bath tub which I used twice on achey muscles after big hikes. We had a small outdoor sitting area too! The staff was very friendly & helpful with dining tips or coming by to help us when we had questions about the satellite TV. This place is a gem and just a 3 min walk above the congestion in town. We loved it!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hartski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were attracted by the reviews here and the fact that we generally prefer small, boutiquey character hotels. Honestly I cant understand how these reviews have been posted- and apparently thisplace won a Trip Advisor award last year!! Have to say there are a few of these 'so called' awards that we have seen posted or advertised that suggests all is not well with the policing of the posters we have seen.
The staff are all family of the owners I think, and very friendly and welcoming- They assisted us in selecting a room ( they have regular rooms which is better than a deluxe which is what we had booked- go figure!). Thats the best that can be said of the hotel
It was tired, needed renovating and some TLC- the room space was large and town centre minutes away - but it was a throwback from the 80/90's really in need of updating- In places it was grimy (reception was dusty and had dead flowers in a vase) and the dining room was not inviting for breakfast - which is Queenstown can be bought at lots of great places inexpensively.
We got a rate of $197 - I think this is expensive for what we got- We moved to the excellent and brilliantly located, Crowne Plaza which was $50 more and worth every penny- We did see that rates for the rest of the week in this dump were over $400 , Caveat Emptor

Room Tip: Dont book this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevebrenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $154 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing