We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Queenstown base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, nice room, well furnished and maintained. Close to Queenstown centre, just a 5 minute walk down the hill. Very welcoming owner with plenty of good advice on local restaurants and things to do. Would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richardh552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 445 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

The owner runs a little beauty salon and I decided to go along for a much needed massage after hiking over the routeburn in a day. Must be the best massage I've ever had! And she, Eily(?) is a lovely lady to talk to.
Very homely, small family run hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadnomore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times as a corporate traveller booking my entire staff inand was always impressed with the cost/service/comfort ratio that it offered. I also loved the warm feel, and more boutique feel that it offered. Also, high on our favorites list was the wine and cheese evenings that created a great atmosphere.

That was then.

It would now appear to have changed hands, or at least management. My wife and extended family here from Russia stayed this this month

Whilst still the same building, it is not what it was as far as staff and feel goes.

WIne and cheese has been replaced with a Malaysian type snack. This was not told at booking - we had been charged extra for wine and cheese and my family looked forward to this, which was always held on the lower level. The place reeks of oriental type cooking and smelt like a Chinese takeaway shop. Baskets of unwashed laundry sat in public areas for hours and in general, it was felt, the place had gone backwards.

Not a bad place to stay, but we will now look elsewhere

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimontheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralRidge, Owner at Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi Simon, thank you for your feedback. Correct we took over the Management since 2012.
Since then, you have sent through 2 group of guest, one being a very nice couple who stayed with us, and left us with fantastic review of their experience with us. The couple expressed the food from our little SweetHeart restaurant as "orgasmic" as we are a bunch of foodies and enjoy serving up very nice seasonal morsels whether at breakfast, as tapas or as pre dinner canapes. We do not just serve up Malaysian morsels.
We apologise that you feel we are going backwards because we do not serve the traditional cheese on crackers as canapes, instead we are serving up canapes that are not cheese on crackers.
We are glad that your wife and her family enjoyed their stay with us. We hope you yourself will consider to stay with us at least one time in the near future and experience first hand of this new management.
We have received very good feed back constantly of our good service, attention to details and our attendance to our traveller guest needs via this site as well as in our guest book . We do also receive mails and e mails of guest appreciation who have stayed with us. We are very much encouraged by this.
As always we welcome all feed back as our philosophy is to improve and provide only our best at all times. Traveller come to us as guest, they then leave as friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel was a gem! It was within walking distance to everything! The room was super clean and quaint.

We flew in from Auckland directly after our flight from the states so this was the first part of our vacation. I became very ill and was bedridden for a couple of days. The owner of the hotel, Ailey, took me in as if I was one of her own. She made me homemade soup, checked on me several times a day, and recommended I go to the local medical center for additional care. I have never come across someone that cared so much without even knowing me. I am grateful to have found Central Ridge and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a superb room overlooking the town and gondola. Room was beautifully fitted out, bed was comfy and facilities were good. Nice and quiet place. Breakfast was superb, try the omelette but be prepared not to eat for the rest of the day. Host was very helpful, perhaps a little "in your space".

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ndags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I spent several nights in the honeymoon suite (which has an incredible view of the mountain and the Skyline Gondola) and we could not be happier. Ailey, the proprietor is just so sweet, helpful, accommodating, and all of the above. And my wife could not stop saying how cute Ailey's kids are too. Breakfast was very good and Ailey was just so helpful with what things to do around beautiful Queenstown and helped arrange it all for us in no time, including an amazing wine tour after our charter flight to Milford Sound was cancelled (note that the cancellations are very frequent so plan for the bus tour instead to be safe or, better yet, call Ailey before you book and ask her for help). Not kidding about calling Ailey--she very knowledgeable and will really help direct you on options for tours, things to do, etc. and timing. It's a no-brainer. We wish we had known and called in advance.

Again, very clean, great view, close to town center, and just a gem. We would absolutely do it again. At the end, she even took a photo with us! :-)

Thank you, Ailey!
-Bergin & Amalia

Room Tip: If it's available, spring for the honeymoon suite (even if it's not your honeymoon). Haha
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We got a great deal for a room at Central Ridge and didn't realise quite how great until we got there.

From the first minute, Ailey bent over backwards for us, recommending fantastic restaurants, attractions and sights throughout Queenstown. Ailey's breakfasts were always a treat with one of her new and fabulous cakes or creations on offer.

The rooms were clean, modern and genuinely lovely...a 5 star review in their own right...but nothing could compare to the charm, warmth and passion that The very lovely Ailey brings to everything she does.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $146 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing