We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful and tranquil”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel, we stayed there in April 2013 and had a very relaxing time. Great service from Ailey and her team. Very comfortable hotel room, wonderful relaxing massage and so close to the city centre.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    102
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
279
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great little Boutique hotel complete with Spa services and right next to downtown Queenstown. We stayed here on our honeymoon and the accommodations were very clean and modern elegant. Spacious room. The best part of our stay was the great service by Ailey and her son. They really made sure we had a great time and you must try Ailey's special omelette!! To die for!!!

Overall, amazing experience. We will be back soon!!!!

Fin and Jennifer Bonset

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at Central Ridge, jet-lagged after a long flight and minus a suitcase, on the only wet day we experienced during a great month in New Zealand. We were made to feel welcome and the excellent location made exploring Queenstown very easy. We had a big room with comfortable bed and plenty of space. Large bathroom with good shower and luxury soaps and tolietries. Breakfast was individually prepared. Kiwi breakfast and eggs benedict are to be recommended. Ailey's warm welcome provided us with a good introduction to South Island. She helped us to locate the suitcase which arrived, after an unscheduled stay in Los Angeles, 48 hours later and gave us all sorts of useful recommendations. It's a comfortable and restful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crow48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, and provided information and assistance about the Hotel and the local area. The room was clean, well presented, spacious and was 5 min walk from Central Queenstown, so you had peace and quiet just outside the main town area. The package included a full breakfast, made to order and we were pampered by our hostess. After a full day out and about the Swedish sauna was very relaxing which was prepared for us on our return.
Luxury at an affordable price - highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on a recommendation from a friend and were very impressed. Very good value (NZ$105 a night) - large room with a view of the Skyline, comfy beds, tasteful decor. Situated at the top of the gardens and handy for the town. The price didn't include breakfast but you can pay extra or pop down through the gardens to get a coffee and a croissant.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the town so you can watch the cable car and the paragliders and see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizH227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very comfortable, clean and spacious room. Reception is very friendly and breakfast is good. Location is pretty good, just walking distance to the town centre. Not a big extravagant city hotel but its a lovely comfy boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

While the "luxury" room was comfortable, we weren't impressed that they only had the basic TV channels, and the wifi didn't work unless we stood in the hall by our door. Our so-called "direct view" of Bob's Peak could only be seen if we were at the far right of our window and looking up to the left. Also, the breakfast was not included in our reservation as we'd originally thought - we were told it would cost us $25 each!!!! Outrageous! Luckily, there were plenty of great, more reasonably priced cafes in town.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TawnaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralRidge, Front Office Manager at Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi Tawna, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us. I Hope you are aware that when you booked with us, you booked our one off special deal which includes accommodation only. On your arrival, we did provide you with the option to include breakfast if you wanted. This special offer is very good value given the quality of accommodation, furnishing and hospitality, and I am sorry that you felt the $25 charge for breakfast was outrageous. We feel this is very reasonably priced, given we serve fresh quality breakfast daily.
As for the TV, we have checked the room you stayed in, and we do have SKY TV channel along side other local TV channels. Although the wifi may not have been available in the particular room you stayed in, it is accessable from both the reception area and the guest lounge.
I hope this had cleared up some of the things you found dissapointing, and I thank you again for your feedback, which is always appreciated. Kind regards, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Property: Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing