We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a 'hands on' hotel where the owner will do almost anything to ensure the comfort of his guests. Well located to the town centre and great restaurant/cafes one has little distance to wander to experience the typical but fantastic views found in New Zealand and on a perfect breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    96
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
270
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our travel agent recommend this place when we were dissatisfied with the original place we were scheduled to stay. The room was beautiful and what a view of the gondola and mountain. The owner and front desk staff were very welcoming and friendly. It is a perfect location as it is a 5 minute walk from town but away from the noise and provides more privacy than many of the downtown places. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our booking had been made by our agent for a standard room many months ago. On checking in we were given room G6. It is a good size room but extremely disappointing as it leads onto a very narrow patio which then abuts a high building. There is no outlook except onto a hedge abutting the wall of the next building, making the room very dark and gloomy.There is a slight drain smell in the bathroom. The first morning we were awoken around 6.15 by a clattering of feet from above. It transpired that our room was under the kitchen/restaurant area and the noises were from staff and breakfast preparations. The owner tried to help the following morning by removing her shoes but it was the general noise that still awoke us.We requested to change rooms as we were staying for 3 nights. As there are only 2 standard rooms the manageress couldn't help.Bearing in mind the cost of this 'boutique' hotel with other nearby hotels with a much better outlook- we felt mugged.The property has several basic tiled floors and feels more like an ordinary motel.
On the first morning we had a long wait for breakfast with a very uninterested waitress ( the next day there was a lovely girl on duty).
We felt thoroughly let down particularly bearing in mind the price and website description.

Room Tip: Check out the room very carefully. Don't go for a downstairs room unless G2 which looked ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and found it very pleasant. My view of a boutique hotel is one with few rooms and this "does what it says on the tin"
The room is spacious and spotlessly clean, the shower functional and there is a bath, if you like that sort of thing. The omelette at breakfast was served promptly and was so light I remarked it was more like a souffle!
It is a very short walk from the town centre and we found it very quiet and the off street parking was a major benefit.
The manageress was attentive and the staff cheerful and helpful. The free wifi did have some connection problems, but it was free and worked well when you had put your password in again. I did this so many times I knew it by heart!
I agree the glass of wine could have been larger, but the canapés were delicious on the two nights we were able to get to the social hour and, after all, the main reason for going is to meet the other guests.
We would certainly return if we visited Queenstown again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here in February, and found the rooms spacious and well appointed. The hotel is managed by Ailey Ong, who goes out of her way to provide guests with a warm welcome and offered us help and advice on eating and activities locally.

For those reviewers who did not feel this was a "boutique hotel" perhaps they should have paid more attention the website to avoid apparent disappointment. We found this a comfortable, welcoming and entirely satisfactory establishment.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JRB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
690 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a nice little hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, and the early-evening complimentary drink (and get-together with other guests) was very pleasant. The drink provided is not huge, but it is free (so there is no need to complain about it) and it is accompanied by some delicious canapes. The manager (Ailey) couldn't have been more helpful with tourist advice and suggestions for restaurants. The breakfast was very good - and the home-made Anzac Biscuits were absolutely delicious (and it was so kind of Ailey to give us quite a few to take on our journey).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

They have just started serving lunches - we went with a GrabOne voucher and had a lovely meal. It was a tasting menu of 4 courses, which was the perfect amount for a complete meal. Fresh flavours, great variety of tastes, and beautiful presentation. The service was quick and efficient (although the server needs to remember that not all customers like to be touched on the arm so much!) and she explained the ingredients clearly and with relevant information. There was a choice of meats, which was lovely. The only disappointing dish was the last one, as the meat and the noodles were in the same sauce so it was a bit one-dimensional. But the Salmon Gravadlax was beautiful on the rye bread, the Chinese salad on pancake was my favourite, and the satay with rice was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Property: Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing