We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Central Ridge hotel. I'm not sure I would call it a "boutique" hotel, but it was very comfortable, fine breakfast, very friendly and helpful hosts. It is a fairly small hotel, near to the downtown, but a bit removed, and quite close to the nice botanic gardens (good for running or strolling). The rooms are of good size, comfortable, modern and well equipped; they are not particularly distinctive compared to, say, a good quality modern motel. What sets the place apart, we felt, were the warm hosts.

Overall, a very comfortable place to stay in (sometimes hectic) Queenstown.

Room Tip: We had a nice room on the bottom floor, with a little outdoor sitting area. Others have, I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 456 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

Was lucky to get a double room at a very busy time of the year. The hosts were so accommodating and social. Rooms were spotless and breakfasts were fantastic. Very short walk into town. Quiet, well apportioned attractive rooms, good speed wifi incl. Free laundry service! You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Fantastic accommodation in an excellent location. We were even upgraded on arrival. Clean large rooms with plenty of facilities. Very central to town. Staff offered excellent service. Limited parking but this is no different to most of the places in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Visiting from Los Angeles and stayed for a week at Christmas. Last time we were in Queenstown in 2009 we stayed at Rydges, which looks great from the outside but inside is dated, impersonal with ordinary rooms and a rather miserable breakfast buffet. Central Ridge is delightfully different. Husband-Wife team of Peter and Kaylene make you feel welcome from arrival to departure. Kaylene cooks breakfast every morning - which is fantastic - and they together host an evening wine tasting/cocktail hour featuring local wines. I told Peter that we wanted to go fishing and he arranged for us to go out with his friend, which turned out great as we caught salmon, rainbow and brown trout! The lake is five minutes away walking so the location is incredibly convenient for most activities. My husband got sick and Kaylene was there offering to take me to the pharmacy in her car to get medicine.
Very personal service and a genuine concern for the satisfaction of guests. Rooms are great – good sized, always clean and very comfortable. We all slept great. The location is a three-minute walk into town so we never needed a taxi for anything in Queenstown. In fact, Central Ridge is across the street from Queenstown Gardens which is one of the loveliest public gardens I have ever been in. Excellent local hiking trails are about 15 minutes away walking. It is really nice to allow time after breakfast for a walk by the lake or through the gardens.
Free and fast internet service for multiple devices. Not too many TV channels in the area but that was not a negative for me. My room had a magical view of the mountains and the gondola. No exercise room but in Queenstown there is no shortage of running, hiking, walking, biking and swimming so I didn't miss that too much. 
A true boutique hotel experience and Peter and Kaylene will make you feel like a guest of the family. I cannot say enough good things about this gem. Highly recommended. We were all sad to leave…

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenntabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The hotel is very well located, has beautiful rooms, and extraordinarily helpful hosts. Breakfast was wonderful, but this is cooked to order (not a buffet), so allow adequate time for it. Free wi-fi. Convenient to restaurants and waterfront. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Central Ridge, as you would expect is in central Queenstown. A great location, close to Lake Wakatipu and with a view of Bob's Peak so you can watch people go up and down in the gondola or throwing themselves off the mountain (with a parachute attached).
We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which was extremely well equipped, spacious, spotlessly clean, with a HUGE bed and free wifi - which is always a nice touch.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Stay in the Honeymoon suite, even if you are not on your Honeymoon (we did) and there are views of B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilaT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I can't say enough great things about this boutique hotel, and about its owner, Kayleen. We stayed here before and after hiking the Routeburn Track. The location is perfect - 5 minute walk to town. The owner, Kayleen, told us ahead of time that we could leave our excess baggage with her while we tramped. But when our tramping gear didn't arrive with the rest of our luggage and it seemed we would have to miss the hike altogether, Kayleen and Peter bent over backwards to find clothes for us to hike in. We left for the hike in a hurry, things strewn all over the room, but she cheerily cleaned up after us, and had very nice rooms waiting for us upon our return. The rooms, both before and after, were quite lovely: spacious, well-appointed, and very comfortable -- quite exceeding our expectations, especially for what we paid, and especially in comparison to other lodging on our trip. I would stay here again if I were in Queenstown, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contessafan253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $186 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing