We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located & lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
suburban Boston, MA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Well located & lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The hotel is very well located, has beautiful rooms, and extraordinarily helpful hosts. Breakfast was wonderful, but this is cooked to order (not a buffet), so allow adequate time for it. Free wi-fi. Convenient to restaurants and waterfront. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    92
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
263
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Central Ridge, as you would expect is in central Queenstown. A great location, close to Lake Wakatipu and with a view of Bob's Peak so you can watch people go up and down in the gondola or throwing themselves off the mountain (with a parachute attached).
We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which was extremely well equipped, spacious, spotlessly clean, with a HUGE bed and free wifi - which is always a nice touch.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Stay in the Honeymoon suite, even if you are not on your Honeymoon (we did) and there are views of B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

I can't say enough great things about this boutique hotel, and about its owner, Kayleen. We stayed here before and after hiking the Routeburn Track. The location is perfect - 5 minute walk to town. The owner, Kayleen, told us ahead of time that we could leave our excess baggage with her while we tramped. But when our tramping gear didn't arrive with the rest of our luggage and it seemed we would have to miss the hike altogether, Kayleen and Peter bent over backwards to find clothes for us to hike in. We left for the hike in a hurry, things strewn all over the room, but she cheerily cleaned up after us, and had very nice rooms waiting for us upon our return. The rooms, both before and after, were quite lovely: spacious, well-appointed, and very comfortable -- quite exceeding our expectations, especially for what we paid, and especially in comparison to other lodging on our trip. I would stay here again if I were in Queenstown, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contessafan253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here before and after walking the Milford Track. This is a lovely little hotel in a good central location. The hosts are extremely welcoming and the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. It was a pleasure to return here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Centipede100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Only had the chance to stay one night but what an amazing reception we had.
Location is brilliant...within walking distance to town. Great rooms, very clean and spacious. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was a problem. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Quiet location next to Queenstown park,5 minutes walk into center of town.Great cooked breakfast is included.Spacious room with flat TV,fabulous bed and bed sheets for comfortable sleep,free WIFI,in house spa with manicure,pedicure and massage.Deep tissue massage is highly recommended,it will relax you feeling like jelly!The owner couple will help you arranging for any activity you wish,they practically bend over backward to make sure that your stay is memorable.You feel like you stay at the granma house,every wish will be catered to.If you like hotel with character and more personal service,this hotel is for you.
There is no lake view from this hotel,there is mountain view.You will see the gondola ride and paragliding from the hotel room all day long.

Room Tip: Room T 1 with good view of Gondola ride and mountain and paragliding all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSt_Louis_U_S_A_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

My partner and I arrived and felt like part of the family as soon as we walked in the door. The host was lovely also Helanna(?) and couldn't do enough for us. I got a free manicure!! The room was very clean, with a view towards the Skyline gondola. The location is just a 5 minute walk to the town centre, no taxis required here.
Bar snacks and complimentary drink served at 6pm and full breakfast menu to select from in the morning, couldn't believe they had real coffee!
Bed was comfortable and I would have had a good sleep if I closed the windows but because it was a very humid evening I didn't and heard alot of foot traffic during the night and we were on the top floor - no fault of the motel though. Our room was lovely too.
Aside from that we had an enjoyable stay, thanks.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the top floor with huge windows to optimise the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginga40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Ridge Boutique Hotel

Property: Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Mountvista Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Central Ridge Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel (“Central Ridge”) is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Queenstown, and it is a stone throw away from dozens of restaurants, outdoor cafes, and recreational activities that occupy the breezy waterfront and easy-going pedestrian malls. Central Ridge offers well-appointed, cozy and spacious rooms with a comfortable bed and continental breakfast. The team have plenty of local knowledge to guide and advice to you the best restaurants in town, fun filled outdoor activities. The attractions nearer to Central Ridge Boutique Hotel includes:- - Pedestrian mall at Queenstown centre (walking distance 2-3minutes); - Restaurants and outdoor cafe along side waterfront at Lake Wakatipu (walking distance 4-5 minutes); - Queenstown Garden (walking distance 2-3 minutes); - Steamer Whaft for the cruise “Lady of the Lake” to Walter Peak. They said no trip to Queenstown is complete without a cruise to Walter Peak High Country Farm (walking distance 4-5 minutes to Steamer Whaft); - Skyline Gondola (walking distance 10 minutes); - Coronet Peak ski area (driving 20 minutes) - Remarkable ski area (driving 40 minutes) - Vineyard tour activities (driving about 20 minutes) Our boutique hotel offers a very unique experience. We balance the privacy of a large hotel with the personal service of a boutique bed & breakfast. Queenstown accommodation doesn't get any better than Central Ridge Boutique Hotel, with its excellent value for money, and exceptionally high standards of accommodation, in-room massage, cafe and guest customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Ridge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Ridge Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Central Ridge Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing