We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, rip-off”
Review of Skyline Queenstown

Skyline Queenstown
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.42*
and up
Queenstown Skyline Gondola and Restaurant
More Info
$42.58*
and up
Queenstown Skyline Gondola and Luge
More Info
$120.89*
and up
Rotorua Full Day Tour Including Maori Culture Geysers Mudpools and Mt Maunganui
Ranked #1 of 18 Fun & Games in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a scenic Gondola ride to enjoy Queenstown's most spectacular views. At the top of Bob's Peak there's more to enjoy! For an adrenalin rush catch the chairlift to ride our unique Luge, a non-motorised cart for a 800m blast of downhill fun. Then relax and dine in our taste of New Zealand buffet restaurant open for lunch or dinner, or sample lighter fare in the market kitchen. In the evening our Stargazing astronomy tours and the Kiwi Haka performances entertain and inspire. Come up for a visit to Skyline Queenstown today!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice views, rip-off”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Basically got manipulated into buying two tickets for the luge. It was fun, but would have rather just done it once. Didn't really have a choice. Service was grumpy and curt, borderline rude.
Gift shop above is awesome with awesome prices though (better pricing than many other parts of New Zealand).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bekah_stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineQueenstown, Guest Relations Manager at Skyline Queenstown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We always try to give our guests the best possible combination products to give you the best value for money. We have two Luge tracks, and for safety reasons the first ride of the day must be on the scenic track.

To enhance your Luge experience our operators would promote a combination of two Luge rides so you could ride the advance track at a discounted rate. We apologise that you found the service to be curt and we will be addressing our approach.

Delighted to hear that you had a great experience in the Souvenir Shop.

Regards,
The Skyline team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,150
    3,144
    570
    89
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tairua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scary but great views and Resteraunt!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Gondola was scary it felt very unsafe and unstable like It could fall off the rail at any minute! but then again I am a bit of a scaredy cat at the best of times. The views at the top are amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank della h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We decided to opt for the Haka/Dinner and Gondola option and glad we did. There are lots of places to eat in Queenstown but not many with their view! We watched the Haka performance first then had dinner and had a really enjoyable evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
513 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Must do! Awesome”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

You can't go to Queenstown without taking the skyline gondola. Well worth it. Good value for money and the experience. Spectacular views and scenery

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Clean and well priced compared with other tourist shops.
Nice coffee and food in dining room.
Photo reasonably priced too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Skyline Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing