We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of Skyline Queenstown

Skyline Queenstown
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.92*
and up
Queenstown Skyline Gondola and Restaurant
More Info
$42.15*
and up
Queenstown Skyline Gondola and Luge
More Info
$119.67*
and up
Rotorua Full Day Tour Including Maori Culture Geysers Mudpools and Mt Maunganui
Ranked #1 of 18 Fun & Games in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a scenic Gondola ride to enjoy Queenstown's most spectacular views. At the top of Bob's Peak there's more to enjoy! For an adrenalin rush catch the chairlift to ride our unique Luge, a non-motorised cart for a 800m blast of downhill fun. Then relax and dine in our taste of New Zealand buffet restaurant open for lunch or dinner, or sample lighter fare in the market kitchen. In the evening our Stargazing astronomy tours and the Kiwi Haka performances entertain and inspire. Come up for a visit to Skyline Queenstown today!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We bought tickets for the gondola and the luge and the gondola was fab, you could see so far obviously because you were so far up. The luge was great fun and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The kids even my four year old absolutely loved it. It definitely is a must if you visit New Zealand South Island

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,143
    3,144
    570
    89
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High over Queenstown”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We bought tickets for the gondola and dinner, and then bought the luge once up the mountain. We had planned to go bungy jumping but it was closed that day as they had no bookings. We went on the Luge and there is a sky ride to take you to the top (fairly high and open if you are scared of heights) it was lots of fun riding down the hill. It was a great view from the top and a cafe where you can get a drink and enjoy the views.

The ride up on the gondola was fun - it takes about 5 mins and the views are great - it is a little scary but once up the top it is totally worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank haylz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We took the Gondola ride because we wanted to see Queenstown in it's geographical context - and we were not disappointed. The views are amazing - the ascent (and descent) are fast and efficient but without being frighteningly so.

The cafe at the top of the Gondola ride provides a variety of drinks and snacks at prices comparable to those down at ground level - so there is no need to fear being 'ripped off' by being a 'captive audience'.

It's breezy and cool at the top - so be sure to take a fleece or jacket. As well as admiring the view there's the luge to ride or the bungy jumping to try. Enjoy watching if you don't wish to join them. Whilst we were there a helicopter twice landed on the helipad beside the top Gondola station and there was a constant stream of downhill cyclists to watch.

Well worth the $26 return trip on the Gondola.

Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireSue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luge”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent long luge with fast track for the experts, great family racing. Gondala views superb. It was cold and quite a bit of snow even in October - be prepared!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing much to do in between”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We bought the combo tickets (gondola+haka show + buffet dinner). Additionally bought luge tickets. The children loved the luge! Unfortunately, the rides closed relatively early (5.30pm, if I recall correctly). After that, we had to wait for the haka show at 7pm followed by dinner at 8.15pm. In between, there was absolutely NOTHING to do ... we just sat around, ordered snacks and waited .... It was rather hot and stuffy there (and mind you, that was November) - I can't imagine the heat during summer!

Tip : If you intend to go for the later buffet sitting (to enjoy the night view, since it only gets dark after 8pm in Nov) AND you have children, do go up earlier so that they can ride the luge many times. Our children were so disappointed that they could only manage 2 rides because we only went up late afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AZLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Skyline Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing