We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wildlife”
Review of Kiwi Birdlife Park

Kiwi Birdlife Park
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$33.46*
and up
Kiwi Birdlife Park Admission
Ranked #8 of 125 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy the sight and sounds of New Zealand's wildlife and bush in our 5 acre breeding sanctuary. See real kiwi and over twenty other native birds and reptiles, including the Tuatara. Experience conservation in action.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Perfectly placed at the base of the Gondola in walking distance of the center of Queenstown. You can also buy combo tickets with the Gondola. You get a really good look at the kiwi and there was an entertaining conservation show. It was nice that many of the people working there were younger. Had a very nice coffee at the cafe afterwards.

Thank Lan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwibird29, Manager at Kiwi Birdlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for your great review. We have only recently improved our Kiwi Kafe so it's great to get some positive feedback. Our kiwi feedings and conservation shows are a great chance for our passionate staff to meet visitors and to explain some of the conservation work we do. Glad you enjoyed our park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,700 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Really well placed, with the entrance next to the Gondola rides, this is well worth the visit. Great kiwi enclosure and really knowledgable and friendly staff. Lovely location and great shop!

Thank AliKatYat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwibird29, Manager at Kiwi Birdlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the park. One of our main strengths is our passionate and knowledgeable staff so thanks for your great feedback and for supporting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The park boasts great exhibits of birds and other wildlife native to New Zealand, but let's be real: everyone comes here for the daily Kiwi feedings.

We wanted to see a Kiwi throughout our entire visit to New Zealand, but didn't get a chance until coming to Queenstown. Lucky for us, we stayed near the Kiwi Birdlife Park, so we quickly hopped on over for the afternoon feeding and got exactly what we wanted: up close and personal with the surprisingly large Kiwi! It was magnificent and well worth the visit to the park.

Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwibird29, Manager at Kiwi Birdlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Glad you got to see our amazing kiwi and thanks for supporting our conservation efforts for all of our native species.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lots of birds in here- but you can't take pictures of the kiwi. There's some nice aviaries with endangered species, and a nice audio tour (free) that you can take. On a nice day it's a really nice walk through the paths seeing all the birds. You can get a combo ticket that lets you go up the gondola and get into the kiwi park for a slightly reduced rate.

Thank TakeMeToTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwibird29, Manager at Kiwi Birdlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. All of the conservation work we do at the park is completely funded by admission fees, donations and a portion of souvenir sales so thanks for supporting us. Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wow, what a brilliant visit. I love Kiwis & it was so very well worth seeing 2 of them as I would never ever have the chance to ever see them in their natural habitats. I will always remember the whole experience. Well worth the visit & very reasonable entry charge. There is also a good souvenir shop that you can visit for free even if you do not visit the attraction.

Thank Popsypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwibird29, Manager at Kiwi Birdlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful review - we really appreciate you taking the time to write it and are so pleased that you had a great Park experience :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi Birdlife Park also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Kiwi Birdlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing