We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms, very good service”
Review of Blue Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Peaks Lodge
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our group of 12 worked with Janelle at Blue Peaks for months in advance of our stay and she was very helpful. Our rooms were clean, quiet and modern; guest laundry; great location to walk to town or catch buses for tours. Wi Fi was a bit expensive and clunky but not bad compared with other locations in NZ. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForesterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 355 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We are a family of four, all of whom use wifi enabled devices. The Blue Peaks has a terrible policy: if you want wifi, you go through a long sign-in, which allows you to have 30 continuous minutes of wifi for free. After that you have to go in person and pay (lots) for more. Ugh. The apartment was spacious and clean if not luxurious. The kitchen was well-stocked, though it had a funny old-peach smell when we arrived. The beds were comfortable and so was the bathroom. It was nice and quiet, which is a nice bonus in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Lodge was a great place to stay during our time in Queenstown. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us great recommendations of places to see and eat. The room itself was spotless, very comfortable and in a great area. It was near enough to town but very quiet and peaceful. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have stayed here quite a few times. Very clean tidy rooms, great service and spacious rooms. great value for the distance to town. Has good amount of space to car park close to parks and bus shelters. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Booked this last minute and the staff were very helpful over email. We arrived very early hoping just to drop off our bags and the lady on reception was really friendly and organised for us to have a room available a good few hours before check in, so we were really impressed. However, when we got to our room it was a big disappointment. Having stayed in a number of motels during our trip, the decor is never overly stylish, but the room we had was very, very dated, and quite ugly. The most off-putting element however was the musty smell that permeated the whole apartment. Even though it seemed clean, the smell left us with a unclean feeling during our stay. Had it not been for the service, this score would be a 2.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling_M_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you received a warm welcome to Blue Peaks Lodge and we pride ourselves on our Southern Hospitality. However we are sorry to read your concerns regarding the smell in your unit.

February is one of our busiest months and sometimes there may only be a small window of time between guests vacating their unit and new guests arriving. Our Housekeeping team always clean thoroughly each day and air each room but it appears that on the occasion the room needed more extensive airing.

We do wish you made our reception team aware for the issue as we could have offered you’re an alternative unit that you were completely happy with. On this occasion we can only apologise and hope to welcome you back in Blue Peaks Lodge again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in a smaller unit which had variously..

1. A hole in the wall...
2. No net curtains, leaving us forced to keep the drapes closed in the mornings and evenings..
3. No rubbish bin in the bathroom leaving us forced to walk through to the kitchenette to deposit bathroom rubbish like dental floss..
4. An almost impossible means of making a drink due to the size of the sink in the bathroom (where we were expected to wash the dishes in the same sink we cleaned our teeth in.)
5.No tea towel replaced on one of our days.. A minor inconvenience I agree but symptomatic of a wider systems failure.
6. No light in the tea making area (at all).
7 Towels smelling of sweat.
8. No actual soap...just a tiny bottle of detergent/soap (we bought our own in the end)
9. No extractor fan in bathroom, and a shower door that clashed with the sink...(I wonder who would have been expected to pay if it was cracked or damaged?).
10. Being told by staff there were only three motels in TeAnau...when there were many to chose from.

A totally depressing unit from top to bottom...location being its only saving grace.

Our advice is...don't stay there. The worst motel in out trip (by far).

This report from New Zealanders...

Room Tip: Don't stay there is our advice. We have photos of what we have listed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We have read your review very thoroughly and all our staff are saddened to read some of your comments. We wish you had come to see our Reception staff at the time of your stay. We could have then resolved a number of issues for you on the spot.

We are very sorry that in the instance there was a maintenance issue with your unit and that we had not been able to deal with in the small window of time between check out and arrival time. You stayed in one of our small units that does not have a separate kitchen sink and while this is reflected in the price, we apologise that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion.

We are proud to hold a Qualmark Silver award which represents a lot of hard work by our staff team and we moved away from providing individual soaps due to wastage. However we also listen carefully to guest comments and now providing these again. Our housekeeping team have very high standards and this is shown by the large number of positive comments on this site about the cleanliness of our units. Towels are laundered daily and dried immediately.

Finally as part of the Golden Chain network of motels we do recommend our affiliated motels in Te Anau and there are three of these. We can always provide a free booking service to any accommodation provider in New Zealand.

We trust you enjoyed your time in Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very nice room, friendly and competent staff. The reception open till 10pm was a bonus as we were running late. This was one of the lodges that stuck in the memory for good reasons. A 2 night stay was very comfortable. Facilities very good in a clean and tidy environment.
An unfortunate reopening of an earlier wound caused me to spill blood on the sheets on our first night. Reception were totally understanding and the sheets were changed without fuss or charge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay, we are extremely happy that you had an amazing stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Whistler Holiday Apartments
#28 of 59 in Queenstown
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#33 of 59 in Queenstown
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 59 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#36 of 59 in Queenstown
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Peaks Lodge

Address: 11 Sydney Street | Cnr Stanley & Sydney Streets, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $111 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, modern motel accommodation in 1 & 2 bedroom or studio units, most with kitchen facilities. All of our clean and comfortable guest rooms have ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, Sky Digital TV and complimentary 500mb WiFi internet. Ideal family accommodation and one child under 5 years stays free. Two bedroom wheelchair accessible unit (sleeps up to 4). Blue Peaks has an on-site guest laundry and a friendly reception team available from 07:30 - 22:00 hours. We also offer free off-street parking, free DVD hire, luggage and cycle storage and daily room servicing. We can serve a continental breakfast to your room. Blue Peaks Lodge is conveniently located an easy 5 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Peaks Hotel Queenstown
Blue Peaks Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing